Police Procedural Books

The best police procedural eBooks and eBook reviews for kindle, nook, iBooks and more, including both new and established writers.

The Crossing by Michael Connelly

The Crossing, a new Crime Thriller by Michael Connelly

Detective Harry Bosch has retired from the LAPD, but his half-brother, defense attorney Mickey Haller, needs his help. A woman has been brutally murdered in her bed and all evidence points to Haller’s client, a former gang member turned family man. Though the murder rap seems ironclad, Mickey is sure it’s a setup. Bosch doesn’t […]

Continue Reading

Book Review: When the Tiger Kills, a Police Procedural by Vanessa Prelatte

The Bottom Line: A serial killer with a twisted fantasy about a Norse ice goddess leads law enforcement on an unforgettable manhunt that quickly becomes personal for intrepid detective Dawn Cimarron. Recommended for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Deborah Crombie. When a young girl is abducted in an isolated campsite near Montpelier, Colorado, investigators are […]

Continue Reading
Death by Romance book

Book Review: Death by Romance, a Mystery by Anne Kennison

The Bottom Line: Death by Romance has it all: a deliciously devious criminal enterprise, a loathsome antagonist and a detective that will have you quickly wrapped around his finger. Janet Evanovich fans will find their new obsession in Anne Kennison. Richmond Homicide Detective Ryan Hamlin may be just a few months from the mandatory retirement […]

Continue Reading

Book Review: Cornered, a Crime Thriller by Alan Brenham

The Bottom Line: A high-stakes police procedural that thrills while packing a hefty emotional punch. When the typically quiet town of Temple, Texas is terrorized by the disappearance of seven beautiful young women, local Detective Matt Brady is tasked with tracking down the abductors. Is Brady up against a psychopath, or a sophisticated criminal organization? […]

Continue Reading
Radius by Gustavo Florentin

Book Review: The Schwarzschild Radius, a new Crime Thriller by Gustavo Florentin

The Bottom Line: Suspense fans looking for the next Gone Girl have found their new up-all-night page turner in The Schwarzschild Radius. A rope, an axe, a propane torch, leather masks, and video equipment. What do all those things have in common? You’ll have to read Gustavo Florentin’s brilliant new crime thriller, The Schwarzschild Radius, […]

Continue Reading

The Best Thriller Books of 2014 – The Definitive List

Looking for a list of 2014’s best thriller books? First published back in early summer as “The Best of 2014 So Far,” we’ve updated this post as our reviewers have finalized their year-end lists. Whether you learn toward sci-fi thrillers, conspiracy fiction, medical thrillers, hard-boiled mysteries, vatican thrillers or are somewhere on the political end of the spectrum, there’s […]

Continue Reading 0
Random Targets by James Raven

Book Review: Random Targets, a New Crime Thriller by James Raven

The Bottom Line: James Raven plunges us into a believable, terrifying catastrophe for which there are no easy answers. Random Targets is a fiery thrill ride featuring a hero that you can’t help but root for. In 2002, the so-called Beltway Snipers – Lee Boyd Malvo and John Allen Muhammad – used a military rifle […]

Continue Reading
Whiskey You're the Devil by Liliana Hart

Whiskey, You’re The Devil – a new Addison Holmes Mystery by Liliana Hart

Things are looking up for Addison Holmes. She’s about to take her P.I. exams, she’s living in sin with the man of her dreams, and she hasn’t had a phone call from her mother in three whole days. But she should have known things were too good to last. When Rosemarie Valentine’s fingerprints are found […]

Continue Reading
Cold and broken hallelujah

A Cold and Broken Hallelujah, a Crime Thriller by Tyler Dilts

This one is generating some serious heat on Amazon, with pre-orders putting it at #1 the last time we checked. Check it out. On a sweltering September night, Long Beach Homicide Detective Danny Beckett is called to a grisly crime scene at the mouth of the Los Angeles River. A defenseless homeless man has been […]

Continue Reading

Murder In The First (O’Malley Mysteries #1), a new Mystery from Karl Jones

A young girl, murdered in the grounds of a private sanatorium catering to those with emotional and addiction problems. For newly promoted Detective Inspector Patrick Augustine O’Malley it is the worst possible case to be placed in charge of. The director of the hospital is well connected and wants a quick result that won’t embarrass […]

Continue Reading