JK’s Code, a Timely Political Thriller that is One of the Year’s Best

The Bottom Line: A timely, compulsively readable political and legal thriller that wryly connects the terrors of the dark web with the fragile state of democracy. One of the year’s best thrillers. In a world where activists like Julian Assange have become famous for extravagant government exposes, Ron Barak’s new political thriller imagines what is at stake for […]

Continue Reading

Last Call, a Groundbreaking Thriller by Julie Clark

The Bottom Line: A daring, high-flying thriller about escape and reinvention that will surely inspire scores of copycats. Last Call opens as Claire Cook plots her intricate plan to disappear and start a new life. The driving force is abusive husband Rory, who hails from a famous political family and is himself about to launch […]

Continue Reading

Charles Bridge, an Edge-Of-Your-Seat Spy Novel by Jefferson Flanders

The Bottom Line: An edge-of-your-seat spy origin story set within a clever Cold War thriller. Jefferson Flanders’ gripping new novel begins in 1980s New York City as antique dealer Claire Markham is hired to go to London to bid on an 18th century clock. But after returning, her client Benjamin Singer asks her to take […]

Continue Reading

The Roach, One of the Year’s Best Thrillers

The Bottom Line: A remarkable superhero origin story that manages to inject plenty of new life into the genre. Reese Roberts, a vigilante crime fighter known as the Roach, has been on a half-decade bender in the years since a rookie cop put a bullet in his spine. Now confined to a wheelchair and deeply […]

Continue Reading

Duped, a Fast-Paced Financial Thriller by Stephen Maitland-Lewis

The Bottom Line: Duped delivers the excitement of a heist film with the exotic adventure of a globetrotting spy tale.  Hotelier Sam Marsh drives a Maserati and has a boat he sails off the Southern California coast when the mood strikes. But underneath the dreamy exterior, his life is in a downward spiral. Sam’s Palm […]

Continue Reading

Secrets of the Chimes, a Standout Holiday Murder Mystery by John Vance

The Bottom Line:  A standout holiday murder mystery that is a must-read for fans of A Christmas Carol. Highly recommended. Pour yourself a brandy, slide into a pair of velvet loafers and cozy up by the fire to savor this perfectly timed murder mystery that centers around one of Charles Dickens’ little-known Christmas novellas (fact: The Chimes is […]

Continue Reading

The 21 Best Legal Thrillers of the 21st Century, Ranked

Conflicted, flawed lawyers. Trials about twisted crimes. Ninth-hour evidence discoveries. Few things in American culture create as much tension as our legal system, which is why courtrooms, law offices, and even the Supreme Court can make perfect backdrops for thrillers. The masters of the legal thriller—a genre that routinely tops the bestsellers lists—have been doing […]

Continue Reading

Killing Mercury, a Hard-Hitting Military Thriller by Anderson Harp

The Bottom Line:  A hard-hitting, immersive military thriller filled with satisfying character arcs and vivid tableaus of exotic destinations. Highly recommended. Decorated Marine William Parker is catapulted back into action when a high-value al-Qaeda ringleader purportedly killed by the U.S. decides to enact revenge for the drone strike that targeted him and killed his wife […]

Continue Reading

Bloodlaw, a Clever and Compelling Vampire Romance Thriller

The Bottom Line: Blaise Ramsay breathes new life into the vampire romance genre with this clever, atmospheric paranormal crime thriller set in 1920s Chicago. Fans of both Annie Rice and Stephanie Meyer may love Bloodlaw. Bloodlaw opens as assistant district attorney Alastair Maddox awakens in the woods near Lake Michigan. It’s the 1920s, and prohibition […]

Continue Reading

Fatal Decision, a Seductive Thriller by T.K. Wolf

The Bottom Line: A seductive, action-packed thriller that has a stiletto-clad foot on the gas for the entire ride. In T.K. Wolf’s debut novel, a career assassin gets recruited for one last job with the shadow organization she had escaped. After finally slipping free from Delphi, the multinational shadow organization that molded Harker into a highly […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes