Author Archive | BestThrillers Staff

Black Frog, a Small-Town Crime Thriller that Fires on All Cylinders

The Bottom Line: Get in on the ground floor of this engrossing small-town crime thriller. Highly recommended for fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson. In B.D. Smith’s second Detective Douglas Bateman series novel, Bateman is called to investigate multiple axe murders in northern Maine. Bateman, who serves with Maine’s Major Crimes Unit, soon discovers […]

Continue Reading

Fishermen’s Court, a Smart Crime Thriller by Andy Wolfendon

The Bottom Line: An exciting, fresh new voice delivers a thoughtful crime thriller. Perfect for fans of Jessica Knoll and Liane Moriarty. By his own admission, 38-year-old Finnian Carroll doesn’t have much to live for. He still lives at home, though his parents are long dead. He survived suicide and is depressed enough to give […]

Continue Reading

White Oaks, an Ingeniously Dark Comic Thriller by Jill Hand

The Bottom Line: A thriller about greed, gluttony and murder that is destined for the big screen. The promise of inheritance has divided families since the beginning of time, and from time to time has ended in murder. But novelist Jill Hand’s White Oaks has introduced an ingenious new twist on the time-old tale, as […]

Continue Reading

The New Holy Warriors, a Compelling Christian Thriller by Alice Sandoval

The Bottom Line: A blend of non-fiction and fiction that works on many levels. Alice Sandoval’s The New Holy Warriors adds a potent new layer to the canon of post-9/11 political thriller literature. The primary story begins on September 13, 2001, as Dr. Rodrigo Bravo and his wife Sally, both Doctors Without Borders volunteers vanish […]

Continue Reading

Don’t Fear, My Darling is Impossible to Put Down

The Bottom Line: A wonderfully claustrophobic murder mystery with a razor-sharp amateur sleuth. As long as there have been artists, there have been long-suffering personal assistants. But author Laura Stewart Schmidt, author of the deftly-written Until Proven Innocent, manages to deliver plenty of surprises in Don’t Fear, My Darling. In 1987, twenty-two-year-old Louisa Berry is […]

Continue Reading

The Persian Gamble, a Timely Military Thriller by Joel C. Rosenberg

The Bottom Line: Exceptional pacing and a ripped-from-the-headlines thriller make this a top pick for military thriller fans. Brad Thor fans awaiting the next Scott Harvath thriller should check out The Persian Gamble, a believable novel about a fictional nuclear alliance formed by Russia, Iran, and North Korea. Shot out of the air in enemy territory […]

Continue Reading

Run Away, One of Harlan Coben’s Best Crime Thrillers

The Bottom Line: A believable thriller about the lengths to which parents will go to protect their children. You’d never know by looking at her, but drug addict Paige Green is the daughter of a Wall Street financial adviser and a pediatrician. When her father, Simon, spots her playing guitar and panhandling in Central Park, […]

Continue Reading

Damned (A Magnus Blackwell Novel #1), an Engrossing Gothic Paranormal Thriller by Alexandrea Weis with Lucas Astor

The Bottom Line: Atmospheric and engrossing, Damned is a perfect read for fans of gothic paranormal fiction. The first entry in the Magnus Blackwell series takes place on an island off the coast of Maine, more than a century after the series prequel. Architect Will Bennett has purchased Altmover Manor as a surprise for his […]

Continue Reading

The Other Woman, an Espionage Thriller by Daniel Silva

The Bottom Line: Addictive and irresistible. Already one of the best espionage thriller novelists of all time, The Other Woman is proof that Daniel Silva keeps getting better with age. In an isolated village in the mountains of Andalusia, a mysterious Frenchwoman begins work on a dangerous memoir. It is the story of a man […]

Continue Reading

Best Books Like The Woman in the Window

Readers across the planet devoured The Woman in the Window, which we called “Rear Window meets Gone Girl.” But just because a book is derivative of a masterwork doesn’t mean it isn’t good. In this case, A.J. Finn’s breakthrough psychological thriller is in rarefied air, and will now take its turn as a literary reference point for future books. […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes