Author Archive | BestThrillers Staff

Fateful Decisions, a Historical Thriller by Trevor C. D’Silva

The Bottom Line: A historical novel that documents notable early 20th century events through the eyes of a hotel heiress, including world war, celebrity kidnapping, women’s suffrage and prohibition. Trevor C. D’Silva’s Fateful Decisions is the story of Rachel Johnson, the survivor of a submarine attack who proves to be instrumental in some of the […]

Continue Reading

Black Ops, a new Expeditionary Force Book by Craig Alanson

The Bottom Line: An intergalactic gem guaranteed to please both science fiction and military fiction fans. Allison’s bestselling sci-fi series began with Columbus Day, a story about a soldier on leave who gets trapped in the crossfire during an attempted alien invasion. The book checks all the classic genre boxes: earth is in danger, a […]

Continue Reading

Code for Murder, a Crime Thriller by Eliot Parker

Bottom Line: A police procedural tailor-made for NFL fans. Eliot Parker’s Code for Murder manages to weave the Cleveland Browns into a story of murder, self-reliance, and family strife. As the book begins, Lieutenant Stacy Tavitt is back on the job after being left for dead in the Cuyahoga River. Her next case, the death […]

Continue Reading

The Cuban Affair, a Riveting New Crime Thriller by Nelson DeMille

The Bottom Line: A terrific crime thriller, brilliantly read by Scott Brick, and the closest most of us will get to going to Cuba these days. Daniel Graham MacCormick—Mac for short—seems to have a pretty good life. At age thirty-five he’s living in Key West, owner of a forty-two-foot charter fishing boat, The Maine. Mac […]

Continue Reading

Sleeping Beauties, a Novel By Stephen King

The Bottom Line: Almost every egg King lays is made of pure gold, but not this one (see where this book ranks in our list of Stephen King’s Best Audiobooks). Still, that shouldn’t deter King fans from devouring every page. Sleeping Beauties, a collaboration between King and his son, Owen, is unlike any other Stephen […]

Continue Reading

The Amendment Killer, One of the Year’s Best Legal Thrillers

The Bottom Line: Fresh, fast and furious. The Amendment Killer is one of the year’s best legal thrillers. Fans of Scott Pratt and Lisa Scottoline may find a new favorite author in Ron Barak. Set among the hallowed chambers of the Supreme Court of the United States, Ron Barak’s new thriller begins as Thomas T. […]

Continue Reading

I am Watching You, an Engrossing Crime Thriller by Elizabeth Knowelden

The Bottom Line: A swelling crescendo of a novel that starts with a spark and gets more engrossing with each succeeding chapter. Perfectly read by Elizabeth Knowelden, Teresa Driscoll’s potboiler I am Watching You begins as train commuter Ella Longfield overhears two attractive young men flirting with teenage girls. She thinks nothing of it—until she […]

Continue Reading

Close to Home, an Addictive New Crime Thriller by Robert Dugoni

The Bottom Line: The latest Tracy Crosswhite novel proves the series can still deliver fireworks. Seattle, Washington. While investigating the hit-and-run death of a young boy, Robert Dugoni’s intrepid homicide detective Tracy Crosswhite makes a startling discovery: the suspect is an active-duty serviceman at a local naval base. After a key piece of case evidence […]

Continue Reading

Enemy of the State, One of the Best Mitch Rapp Books in Years (Vince Flynn, Kyle Mills)

The Bottom Line: Five stars for the writing. Zero stars for the marketing. Kyle Mills does his best Vince Flynn impersonation, and once again, comes up golden (see where this book ranks in our list of all-time best Vince Flynn books). Vince Flynn, Tom Clancy and Robert Ludlum have more than a genre in common; […]

Continue Reading

Grave Misunderstanding, a Hilarious Whodunit by Len Boswell

The Bottom Line: A truly hilarious mystery in the tradition of Janet Evanovich, Thomas Davidson and Rich Leder. In Len Boswell’s Grave Misunderstanding, small town Crab Cove is the focal point of a clever satire on the murder mystery genre. For a small town, Crab Cove has seen far more than its fair share of […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes