Political Thriller Books

The best political thriller book reviews. Political thriller is a broad term that may include espionage, political conspiracies, the assassination of political leaders and other sinister tactics that have high-stakes consequences for governments and civilizations.

Short Mission, an Edge-of-Your Seat Spy Thriller by D.J. Scott

The Bottom Line: A rousing blend of fast-paced spycraft, believable military action and geopolitical intrigue. Two separate terrorist attacks rock small town America, killing sixteen and wounding thirty. No one claims responsibility, and there are no demands. In analyzing shrapnel from the second attack, forensic experts at the FBI lab in Quantico discover a terrifying detail: the payload was chemical, and linked to a bomblet …

Short Mission, an Edge-of-Your Seat Spy Thriller by D.J. Scott READ MORE >

The Master Mind, a High-Octane Thriller by Mark Schorr

The Bottom Line: A high-octane thriller that seems destined for a major streaming platform. Fans of The X-Files and Stranger Things will fall hard for The Master Mind.  Author Mark Schorr has created a compelling heroine in fitness and mixed martial arts expert Diana Wynne, who has no problem deploying her formidable strength both at the gym and on the streets. But the muscles she …

The Master Mind, a High-Octane Thriller by Mark Schorr READ MORE >

KGB Banker, a Must-Read Thriller by William Burton McCormick and John Christmas

The Bottom Line: A bewitching cocktail of financial fraud, international corruption and globetrotting action that – thanks to ample doses of Eastern bloc geopolitics – is also timely. This must-read thriller is guaranteed to raise your blood pressure in all the best ways.   Chicago-based financial executive Robert Vanags might be too principled for his own good. At least that’s the sentiment from the top brass at his …

KGB Banker, a Must-Read Thriller by William Burton McCormick and John Christmas READ MORE >

Missions, a Highly Recommended Terrorism Thriller by Marc McGuire

The Bottom Line: While delivering nonstop suspense and intrigue, Missions is a thinking person’s terrorism thriller that fans of Terry Hayes and Alex Berenson will adore. Set in the early 2000s, orchestrated car bomb attacks in Paris prompt a joint French/U.S. hunt for the perpetrators. Enter Directorate of Territorial Surveillance (DST) investigator Christine Dupont, who spent her formative professional years as a corporate lawyer before …

Missions, a Highly Recommended Terrorism Thriller by Marc McGuire READ MORE >

The Doomsday Medallion, a Bewitching Political Thriller by Avanti Centrae

The Bottom Line: An epic and bewitching mashup of historical suspense and political thriller. Perfect for fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins. Sixteenth-century French prophet Nostradamus is said to have predicted the Great Fire of London, the French Revolution, the rises of Napoleon and Adolf Hitler and both world wars. In Avanti Centrae’s The Doomsday Medallion, we learn that Nostradamus may have used a …

The Doomsday Medallion, a Bewitching Political Thriller by Avanti Centrae READ MORE >

Ashes in Venice, a Brilliant Revenge Thriller by Gojan Nikolich

The Bottom Line: Unpredictable, brilliantly crafted and deliriously unhinged, we can’t get enough of Ashes in Venice, and you won’t either. Gojan Nikolich’s Ashes in Venice is many things, among them revenge thriller, police procedural and darkly comic commentary on the state of criminal justice. The novel begins with a murder scene strongly reminiscent of Dexter. Based on the precision with which he dispenses his …

Ashes in Venice, a Brilliant Revenge Thriller by Gojan Nikolich READ MORE >

Brad Thor

10 Authors Like Brad Thor

Since the debut of his first novel in 2002, Brad Thor has become the gold standard for fans of military fiction, terrorism thrillers and political thrillers. But what happens when ravenous fans polish off Thor’s terrific back catalogue? I’m often asked by our readers: what are the best writers like Brad Thor? If you love Brad Thor, here are some writers you should check out, …

10 Authors Like Brad Thor READ MORE >

Alejandro’s Lie, the Year’s Best Political Thriller

The Bottom Line: Honored in the Best Thriller Book Awards as the Best Political Thriller of 2021. Terreno, 1983, Latin America. After a dictatorship of ten years, the brutal junta, lead by general Pelarón, seems to waver. Alejandro Juron, guitarist of the famous poet and folk singer Victor Pérez who’s been executed by the junta, is released from the infamous prison “The Last Supper.” The …

Alejandro’s Lie, the Year’s Best Political Thriller READ MORE >

JK’s Code, The Year’s Best Conspiracy Thriller

The Bottom Line: A timely, compulsively readable political and legal thriller that wryly connects the terrors of the dark web with the fragile state of democracy. Honored in the Best Thriller Book Awards as the Best Conspiracy Thriller of 2021. In a world where activists like Julian Assange have become famous for extravagant government exposes, Ron Barak’s new political thriller imagines what is at stake …

JK’s Code, The Year’s Best Conspiracy Thriller READ MORE >

The Auction, a Next-Level Dystopian Thriller by Tom Galvin

The Bottom Line: A next-level dystopian thriller that is among the year’s most exciting debut novels. What if your financial earning potential was determined solely by an auction — and your future went to the highest bidder? It’s 2050, and 22-year-old Sasha Cross is about to enter The Auction, where America’s Big 7 companies will bid on Series A candidates — considered to be the best and brightest …

The Auction, a Next-Level Dystopian Thriller by Tom Galvin READ MORE >

Scroll to Top