Political Thriller Books

The best political thriller book reviews. Political thriller is a broad term that may include espionage, political conspiracies, the assassination of political leaders and other sinister tactics that have high-stakes consequences for governments and civilizations.

Muir’s Gambit, a Must-Read Spy Game Prequel by Michael Frost Beckner

The Bottom Line: Spy Game screenwriter Michael Frost Beckner resurrects timeless Cold War tradecraft in a new must-read series. Muir’s Gambit, a prequel to the classic espionage film Spy Games starring Robert Redford and Brad Pitt, is set 48 hours prior to the original. The book returns familiar characters Nathan Muir and Tom Bishop, and introduces a new protagonist, CIA attorney Russell Aiken. Once Muir’s protégé, Aiken is still stinging from being cast aside …

Muir’s Gambit, a Must-Read Spy Game Prequel by Michael Frost Beckner READ MORE >

The Billionaire’s Conspiracy, a Compelling Thriller by MJ Javani

The Bottom Line: A compelling conspiracy thriller propelled by explosive action, intriguing alternate history and provocative conversations about capitalism and society. As The Billionaire’s Conspiracy opens, a trio of anarchists break into a weapons vault at Virginia’s Fort Belvoir, killing a soldier and one of their own in the process. They get away with a truckload of automatic weapons, grenades, shoulder-fired rocket launchers and more. …

The Billionaire’s Conspiracy, a Compelling Thriller by MJ Javani READ MORE >

KGB Banker, a Must-Read Thriller by William Burton McCormick and John Christmas

The Bottom Line: A bewitching cocktail of financial fraud, international corruption and globetrotting action that – thanks to ample doses of Eastern bloc geopolitics – is also timely. This must-read thriller is guaranteed to raise your blood pressure in all the best ways.   Chicago-based financial executive Robert Vanags might be too principled for his own good. At least that’s the sentiment from the top brass at his …

KGB Banker, a Must-Read Thriller by William Burton McCormick and John Christmas READ MORE >

The Handler, a Believable Terrorism Thriller by Jeffrey S. Stephens

The Bottom Line: A taut terrorism thriller that mesmerizes with a dizzying global conspiracy and believable stakes. Fans of Kyle Mills and Brad Thor will love The Handler. The Handler opens in New York City as two radicalized Muslims, Mustafa Karahan and Roshan Al Ghamdi, conduct recon for a terror attack. It’s a familiar setup with one terrifying twist: neither knows about the other’s existence, …

The Handler, a Believable Terrorism Thriller by Jeffrey S. Stephens READ MORE >

The Child Riddler, a Slick Spy Thriller by Angela Greenman

The Bottom Line: A slick spy thriller that balances a futuristic counter-terrorism mission with the battle for its heroine’s soul.  Zoe Lorel is an elite operative in an international spy agency called Global Threat Assessment (GTA). The GTA faces an increasingly sprawling network of malevolent organizations that includes ISIS, Al-Qaeda, Hamas, the Real IRA, the KKK and others. Zoe’s boss and uncle, Easton Hughes, calls …

The Child Riddler, a Slick Spy Thriller by Angela Greenman READ MORE >

Short Mission, an Edge-of-Your Seat Spy Thriller by D.J. Scott

The Bottom Line: A rousing blend of fast-paced spycraft, believable military action and geopolitical intrigue. Two separate terrorist attacks rock small town America, killing sixteen and wounding thirty. No one claims responsibility, and there are no demands. In analyzing shrapnel from the second attack, forensic experts at the FBI lab in Quantico discover a terrifying detail: the payload was chemical, and linked to a bomblet …

Short Mission, an Edge-of-Your Seat Spy Thriller by D.J. Scott READ MORE >

The Master Mind, a High-Octane Thriller by Mark Schorr

The Bottom Line: A high-octane thriller that seems destined for a major streaming platform. Fans of The X-Files and Stranger Things will fall hard for The Master Mind.  Author Mark Schorr has created a compelling heroine in fitness and mixed martial arts expert Diana Wynne, who has no problem deploying her formidable strength both at the gym and on the streets. But the muscles she …

The Master Mind, a High-Octane Thriller by Mark Schorr READ MORE >

Missions, a Highly Recommended Terrorism Thriller by Marc McGuire

The Bottom Line: While delivering nonstop suspense and intrigue, Missions is a thinking person’s terrorism thriller that fans of Terry Hayes and Alex Berenson will adore. Set in the early 2000s, orchestrated car bomb attacks in Paris prompt a joint French/U.S. hunt for the perpetrators. Enter Directorate of Territorial Surveillance (DST) investigator Christine Dupont, who spent her formative professional years as a corporate lawyer before …

Missions, a Highly Recommended Terrorism Thriller by Marc McGuire READ MORE >

The Doomsday Medallion, a Bewitching Political Thriller by Avanti Centrae

The Bottom Line: An epic and bewitching mashup of historical suspense and political thriller. Perfect for fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins. Sixteenth-century French prophet Nostradamus is said to have predicted the Great Fire of London, the French Revolution, the rises of Napoleon and Adolf Hitler and both world wars. In Avanti Centrae’s The Doomsday Medallion, we learn that Nostradamus may have used a …

The Doomsday Medallion, a Bewitching Political Thriller by Avanti Centrae READ MORE >

Ashes in Venice, a Brilliant Revenge Thriller by Gojan Nikolich

The Bottom Line: Unpredictable, brilliantly crafted and deliriously unhinged, we can’t get enough of Ashes in Venice, and you won’t either. Gojan Nikolich’s Ashes in Venice is many things, among them revenge thriller, police procedural and darkly comic commentary on the state of criminal justice. The novel begins with a murder scene strongly reminiscent of Dexter. Based on the precision with which he dispenses his …

Ashes in Venice, a Brilliant Revenge Thriller by Gojan Nikolich READ MORE >

Scroll to Top