Paranormal Thriller Books

The best paranormal thriller book reviews. Paranormal thrillers, a subgenre or horror, typically involves the presence of evil, hauntings, sinister spirits or dark magic.

Verity Easton, a Magical & Absorbing Murder Mystery by M. Rebecca Wildsmith

The Bottom Line: Lucy Foley fans will fall hard for ’s magical and absorbing new murder mystery, Verity Easton.   Set in the 1930s, opens aboard a steamer ship sailing turbulent seas near the coast of Malta. Thirteen-year-old Verity is accompanying her father, a professor at the British Museum, who is tasked with finding the ancient resting place of ancient Egyptian queen Nefertiti. Making the trip …

Verity Easton, a Magical & Absorbing Murder Mystery by M. Rebecca Wildsmith READ MORE >

Lost Girls of Kato, a Clever Psychic Thriller by Quinn Avery

THE BOTTOM LINE: A clever psychic thriller steeped in 80s nostalgia that will delight Stranger Things fans and anyone looking for a great read. The story begins in a humid Minnesota summer in 1986. Twelve-year-old Jackie Tanner is a latch-key kid doing her best to get by with a mom who works at the local strip club and often disappears for days and an older …

Lost Girls of Kato, a Clever Psychic Thriller by Quinn Avery READ MORE >

The Midnight Cafe, an Immersive Paranormal Thriller by J.R. Peter

The Bottom Line: For fans of Susanna Clark’s Piranesi, The Midnight Cafe reads like an immersive fever dream that fans of magical realism will love.  Set in the dark underbelly of Trinidad and Tobago, The Midnight Cafe is a place “where the night creatures gather” according to Bishop, a self-appointed champion of marginalized people. Bishop seems to exist somewhere between the land of the living …

The Midnight Cafe, an Immersive Paranormal Thriller by J.R. Peter READ MORE >

River of Wrath, an Epic Coming of Age Thriller by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor

The Bottom Line: The dynamic duo of Weis and Astor make magic together. A rising body count, a dark pact among unlikely friends and a wholly evocative world propel this small town mystery to epic heights. Highly recommended. Until three unsolved murders rocked tiny St. Benedict, Louisiana, the town hadn’t had a single murder since 1942. As River of Wrath opens, local sheriff Kent Davis …

River of Wrath, an Epic Coming of Age Thriller by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor READ MORE >

Dean Koontz books ranked

The Best Dean Koontz Books (Updated for 2023)

With more than 100 novels published and a reported 450 million novels sold, is it any wonder that Dean Koontz is one of the most popular writers of all time? Koontz is listed at #2 overall in Amazon’s Author Rank, behind only the inimitable J.K. Rowling. But if you’re new to Koontz’s work, where do you start? Koontz’s books are primarily thrillers, but commonly incorporate …

The Best Dean Koontz Books (Updated for 2023) READ MORE >

Tilted Scales, an Unforgettable Fantasy Legal Thriller by Julian Kindred

The Bottom Line: Perfect for fans of Honor Raconteur and Jason Rose, Tilted Scales: Inhuman Trafficking deftly blends courtroom drama and legal maneuvering with supernatural gangsters, warlocks and spell casters. The Southern Serpent is a heroine that readers won’t easily forget.  Lawyers are often referred to as snakes, but Jayne Hart, known as the Southern Serpent, actually does have scales. Human from the waist up …

Tilted Scales, an Unforgettable Fantasy Legal Thriller by Julian Kindred READ MORE >

Daemon Blood, The Year’s Best Fantasy Thriller

The Bottom Line: The year’s best fantasy thriller (Winner, The BestThrillers.com Book Awards). Fantasy thriller fans will be quickly possessed by the high-stakes, psychic battle unleashed in this otherworldly third series installment.   The third installment in Mary Maddox’s Daemon World series finds a war on the horizon. Daemon seer Lu Darlington is desperate to save herself, her son and her dearest friend, Lisa. Bound to the daemon …

Daemon Blood, The Year’s Best Fantasy Thriller READ MORE >

Fairy-Tale

Fairy Tale, a Magical New Adventure by Stephen King

The Bottom Line: Decades into his illustrious career, Stephen King continues to reinvent himself. Fairy Tale is one of King’s best. One of the best things about being Stephen King is no doubt the freedom to do as he pleases. Decades after being crowned the Master of Horror, Stephen King has spent much of the 21st century stretching the limits of the genre, working well …

Fairy Tale, a Magical New Adventure by Stephen King READ MORE >

List of the best Stephen King Books

The Best Stephen King Audiobooks Ranked In Order (Updated for 2023!)

Newly updated to include King’s newest novels, Fairy Tale and Gwendy’s Final Task! The reigning master of suspense is the author of more than 60 books and audiobooks, all of which have been international bestsellers, and many have been translated to the screen. The names are instantly recognizable:  It. Pet Cemetery. Misery. Thinner. All instant classics, and yet King’s craft seems to sweeten with age, with …

The Best Stephen King Audiobooks Ranked In Order (Updated for 2023!) READ MORE >

The Desecrated, a Must-Read Paranormal Thriller by John Gray

The Bottom Line: A must-read paranormal thriller filled with exhilarating action, ancient magic and historical fantasy. Fans of James Rollins and Dan Brown may find a favorite new voice in John Gray. From the prologue, set in a turn-of-the-century New York graveyard, author John Gray’s cinematic prose is impossible to put down (“His face was a pincushion of whiskers and his breath fouled the air as …

The Desecrated, a Must-Read Paranormal Thriller by John Gray READ MORE >

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top