Author Archive | BestThrillers Staff

Run Away, One of Harlan Coben’s Best Crime Thrillers

The Bottom Line: A believable thriller about the lengths to which parents will go to protect their children. You’d never know by looking at her, but drug addict Paige Green is the daughter of a Wall Street financial adviser and a pediatrician. When her father, Simon, spots her playing guitar and panhandling in Central Park, […]

Continue Reading

What You Did, an Engaging Psychological Thriller by Claire McGowan

The Bottom Line: Big Little Lies meets The Big Chill. A thoroughly engaging whodunnit. Ah, reunions. They are always filled with both anticipation and dread. But in Claire McGowan’s new novel, the 20th anniversary get together of six college friends is also a deadly one. Host Ali finally has the life she always wanted: a career […]

Continue Reading

A Divided Mind, a Terrifying Psychological Thriller by M. Billiter

The Bottom Line: A haunting psychological thriller that will stick with you long past the final chapter. Wyoming high school senior Branson Kovac hears voices. Sometimes, he sees entities that he calls “the shadow people” carry out violent acts. And sometimes, they kill people. Including his mother. Told in alternating points of view, A Divided […]

Continue Reading

Backlash, a Full-Throttle Revenge Thriller by Brad Thor

The Bottom Line: The Russians are back in this full-throttle revenge thriller. Brad Thor proves that even after 19 entries, his Scot Harvath series still has plenty of fuel left in the tank. The cliffhanger ending in Brad Thor’s previous Scot Horvath entry, Spymaster, made Backlash one of the year’s most hotly anticipated books. The […]

Continue Reading

Black Frog, a Small-Town Crime Thriller that Fires on All Cylinders

The Bottom Line: Get in on the ground floor of this engrossing small-town crime thriller. Highly recommended for fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson. In B.D. Smith’s second Detective Douglas Bateman series novel, Bateman is called to investigate multiple axe murders in northern Maine. Bateman, who serves with Maine’s Major Crimes Unit, soon discovers […]

Continue Reading

Fishermen’s Court, a Smart Crime Thriller by Andy Wolfendon

The Bottom Line: An exciting, fresh new voice delivers a thoughtful crime thriller. Perfect for fans of Jessica Knoll and Liane Moriarty. By his own admission, 38-year-old Finnian Carroll doesn’t have much to live for. He still lives at home, though his parents are long dead. He survived suicide and is depressed enough to give […]

Continue Reading

White Oaks, an Ingeniously Dark Comic Thriller by Jill Hand

The Bottom Line: A thriller about greed, gluttony and murder that is destined for the big screen. The promise of inheritance has divided families since the beginning of time, and from time to time has ended in murder. But novelist Jill Hand’s White Oaks has introduced an ingenious new twist on the time-old tale, as […]

Continue Reading

The New Holy Warriors, a Compelling Christian Thriller by Alice Sandoval

The Bottom Line: A blend of non-fiction and fiction that works on many levels. Alice Sandoval’s The New Holy Warriors adds a potent new layer to the canon of post-9/11 political thriller literature. The primary story begins on September 13, 2001, as Dr. Rodrigo Bravo and his wife Sally, both Doctors Without Borders volunteers vanish […]

Continue Reading

Don’t Fear, My Darling is Impossible to Put Down

The Bottom Line: A wonderfully claustrophobic murder mystery with a razor-sharp amateur sleuth. As long as there have been artists, there have been long-suffering personal assistants. But author Laura Stewart Schmidt, author of the deftly-written Until Proven Innocent, manages to deliver plenty of surprises in Don’t Fear, My Darling. In 1987, twenty-two-year-old Louisa Berry is […]

Continue Reading

The Persian Gamble, a Timely Military Thriller by Joel C. Rosenberg

The Bottom Line: Exceptional pacing and a ripped-from-the-headlines thriller make this a top pick for military thriller fans. Brad Thor fans awaiting the next Scott Harvath thriller should check out The Persian Gamble, a believable novel about a fictional nuclear alliance formed by Russia, Iran, and North Korea. Shot out of the air in enemy territory […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes