Author Archive | BestThrillers Staff

Wish to Die, a Superb Historical Thriller by Robert Walton

The Bottom Line: An ebullient historical thriller that solves one of World War II’s most perplexing mysteries in highly entertaining fashion. Perfect for readers waiting for the next Indiana Jones novel. In Robert Walton’s third Harry Thursday series novel, the intrepid archeologist attempts to right a wrong perpetrated by the Nazis during World War II: […]

Continue Reading

Spiral Into Darkness, a Throughly Compulsive FBI Thriller by Joseph Lewis

The Bottom Line: A thoroughly compulsive police procedural by one of America’s most promising new writers. Joseph Lewis, author of our Best of 2018 pick Caught in a Web, is back with another crime thriller featuring world-weary Milwaukee detective Jamie Graff. This time, Jamie’s expertise is requested by Summer Storm, the leader of the FBI serial […]

Continue Reading

Verses for the Dead, a New Classic by Preston & Child

The Bottom Line: Preston and Child shake up their Agent Pendergast series, and in doing so, elevate it to a new level. What could be worse than an extended government shutdown? For the eccentric Aloysius Xingu Leng Pendergast, the answer is a leadership overhaul at the FBI New York field office. Pendergast likes to work alone, […]

Continue Reading

The Memori Project, a Stunning Spy Thriller by Martin Ashwell

The Bottom Line: A stunning spy thriller about the explosive combination of technology, ambition and fear.  Purportedly bored with his life as a playboy billionaire, Simon Scott has put in motion a plan that will position him as the world’s foremost scientific philanthropist. Citing a lack of progress in the field of neuroscience in comparison […]

Continue Reading

Earth Quarantined, a Dazzling Sci-Fi Thriller by D.L. Richardson

The Bottom Line: A sci-fi thriller that manages to turn conventional ideas about space exploration, global conflict and even freedom itself on their head. Fans of Nick Webb may find a new favorite in D.L. Richardson. More than 300 years in the future, the freedom of the human race is in jeopardy. Humanity has been […]

Continue Reading

Death by the River, an Addictive Teen Thriller by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor

The Bottom Line: A deliciously dark and timely teen crime thriller deserving of a TV series. While tackling heavy-duty subject matter with grace and sophistication, Death by the River is tailor-made for fans of Riverdale, Twin Peaks and Twilight. A monster lurks in the halls of Louisiana small town St. Benedict High School, and his […]

Continue Reading

Butterfly Hill, a Captivating Heist Novel by Brendan le Grange

The Bottom Line: An exotic, utterly captivating heist novel featuring one of the genre’s most entertaining detectives. Butterfly Hill opens as fugitive stowaway Hiko Shimizu escapes the lower deck of a rusting fireboat, only to swim through toxic Hong Kong waters to find his father, a legendary bank robber. To say Hiko’s family is dysfunctional […]

Continue Reading

Deep Background, a Home Run Political Thriller by Rick Treon

The Bottom Line: An intelligent, textured and taut thriller about political corruption through the lens of a disgraced journalist. Levi Cole had enjoyed a remarkable career as a journalist, rising from a small-town sportswriter to regular cable news contributor and charming political pundit. But he owed much of his success to an anonymous source that […]

Continue Reading

Lethal White, a new Cormoran Strike Novel by Robert Galbraith

The Bottom Line: The best of J.K. Rowling’s Cormoran Strike series to date. For those not familiar with the series, Strike is a private investigator, ex–Royal Military Police Special Investigation Branch investigator and the illegitimate son of famous rock star Johnny Rokeby. Strike lost part of a leg in an attack in Afghanistan. He had […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes