Horror Books

The best horror book reviews. The horror genre intends to shock, frighten and/or disgust its audience through specific story devices, such as psychotic characters, the presence of evil and the paranormal, and acts of extreme violence.

The Best C.J. Tudor Novels Ranked

C.J. Tudor is an award-winning novelist who is fast-becoming one of the world’s most popular contemporary British writers. The Chalk Man won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel, the Barry Award, and the Strand Critics Award for Best Debut Novel. She’s also the author of The Burning Girls, The Other People and The Hiding Place. As her Amazon author page states, her love of […]

The Best C.J. Tudor Novels Ranked READ MORE >

Shadowed Horizons, the Year’s Best Paranormal Thriller

The Bottom Line: Winner, Best Paranormal Thriller, The BestThrillers.com Book Awards. Highly recommended..  A young psychic hunted by a psychopath. A tech genius determined to protect. A fate they can’t deny. Kiera Channon’s unique abilities make her a prime target for shadowy figures intent on dominating the supernatural world. Raised by a group of like-minded psychics, she has the unique ability to link with the two wolves

Shadowed Horizons, the Year’s Best Paranormal Thriller READ MORE >

Black Wing Sky

Black Wing Sky, an Epic Fantasy Thriller by Kaylin McFarren

The Bottom Line: War between heaven and hell has never been this sexy. Sara J. Mass fans may find a new favorite author in Kaylin McFerren. The pacey fourth entry in Kaylin McFarren’s award-winning Gehenna series begins as Lucifer and his Council of Seven are about to enjoy a meal featuring a deliciously wicked ingredient: virgin’s blood. But before they can dig into this forbidden

Black Wing Sky, an Epic Fantasy Thriller by Kaylin McFarren READ MORE >

Rise of Ancients, a Winning Zombie Thriller by Allen Rebot

The Bottom Line: A winning blend of zombie horror and archeological thriller. Fans of James Rollins and Steve Berry should move Rise of Ancients to the top of their reading list.  Rise of Ancients opens as American archeologists examine a newly received sarcophagus found near Cairo. It’s a curious specimen. Within the stone enclosure is a metal box that looks as if it might be

Rise of Ancients, a Winning Zombie Thriller by Allen Rebot READ MORE >

Verity Easton, a Magical & Absorbing Murder Mystery by M. Rebecca Wildsmith

The Bottom Line: Lucy Foley fans will fall hard for ’s magical and absorbing new murder mystery, Verity Easton.   Set in the 1930s, opens aboard a steamer ship sailing turbulent seas near the coast of Malta. Thirteen-year-old Verity is accompanying her father, a professor at the British Museum, who is tasked with finding the ancient resting place of ancient Egyptian queen Nefertiti. Making the trip

Verity Easton, a Magical & Absorbing Murder Mystery by M. Rebecca Wildsmith READ MORE >

The Midnight Cafe, an Immersive Paranormal Thriller by J.R. Peter

The Bottom Line: For fans of Susanna Clark’s Piranesi, The Midnight Cafe reads like an immersive fever dream that fans of magical realism will love.  Set in the dark underbelly of Trinidad and Tobago, The Midnight Cafe is a place “where the night creatures gather” according to Bishop, a self-appointed champion of marginalized people. Bishop seems to exist somewhere between the land of the living

The Midnight Cafe, an Immersive Paranormal Thriller by J.R. Peter READ MORE >

River of Wrath, an Epic Coming of Age Thriller by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor

The Bottom Line: The dynamic duo of Weis and Astor make magic together. A rising body count, a dark pact among unlikely friends and a wholly evocative world propel this small town mystery to epic heights. Highly recommended. Until three unsolved murders rocked tiny St. Benedict, Louisiana, the town hadn’t had a single murder since 1942. As River of Wrath opens, local sheriff Kent Davis

River of Wrath, an Epic Coming of Age Thriller by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor READ MORE >

Daemon Blood, The Year’s Best Fantasy Thriller

The Bottom Line: The year’s best fantasy thriller (Winner, The BestThrillers.com Book Awards). Fantasy thriller fans will be quickly possessed by the high-stakes, psychic battle unleashed in this otherworldly third series installment.   The third installment in Mary Maddox’s Daemon World series finds a war on the horizon. Daemon seer Lu Darlington is desperate to save herself, her son and her dearest friend, Lisa. Bound to the daemon

Daemon Blood, The Year’s Best Fantasy Thriller READ MORE >

Fairy-Tale

Fairy Tale, a Magical New Adventure by Stephen King

The Bottom Line: Decades into his illustrious career, Stephen King continues to reinvent himself. Fairy Tale is one of King’s best. One of the best things about being Stephen King is no doubt the freedom to do as he pleases. Decades after being crowned the Master of Horror, Stephen King has spent much of the 21st century stretching the limits of the genre, working well

Fairy Tale, a Magical New Adventure by Stephen King READ MORE >

Pool Man, a Darkly Funny Horror Novel by Dan McDowell

The Bottom Line: McDowell’s newest nightmare is fresh, darkly funny and deserving of every horror fan’s attention. The beating heart of Dan McDowell’s award-winning Nightmare in Riverton series is the infamous Oak Hollow Hotel. Far more than just a setting, the Oak Hollow has also served as the book’s primary center of gravity, suspense and suffering. In the tradition of the Amityville Horror, McDowell has

Pool Man, a Darkly Funny Horror Novel by Dan McDowell READ MORE >

Scroll to Top