Horror Books

The best horror book reviews. The horror genre intends to shock, frighten and/or disgust its audience through specific story devices, such as psychotic characters, the presence of evil and the paranormal, and acts of extreme violence.

Pool Man, a Darkly Funny Horror Novel by Dan McDowell

The Bottom Line: McDowell’s newest nightmare is fresh, darkly funny and deserving of every horror fan’s attention. The beating heart of Dan McDowell’s award-winning Nightmare in Riverton series is the infamous Oak Hollow Hotel. Far more than just a setting, the Oak Hollow has also served as the book’s primary center of gravity, suspense and suffering. In the tradition of the Amityville Horror, McDowell has …

Pool Man, a Darkly Funny Horror Novel by Dan McDowell READ MORE >

The Desecrated, a Must-Read Paranormal Thriller by John Gray

The Bottom Line: A must-read paranormal thriller filled with exhilarating action, ancient magic and historical fantasy. Fans of James Rollins and Dan Brown may find a favorite new voice in John Gray. From the prologue, set in a turn-of-the-century New York graveyard, author John Gray’s cinematic prose is impossible to put down (“His face was a pincushion of whiskers and his breath fouled the air as …

The Desecrated, a Must-Read Paranormal Thriller by John Gray READ MORE >

Gwendy’s Final Task, a New Psychological Thriller by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

The Bottom Line: A satisfying conclusion to the Button Box trilogy that takes heroine to new heights, both literally and metaphorically Book one, Gwendy’s Button Box – which we ranked as one of Stephen King’s best audiobooks – kicked things off in familiar ground for King fans. In Castle Rock, Maine, a device with terrifying and glorious powers reveals itself to Gwendy Peterson, who is …

Gwendy’s Final Task, a New Psychological Thriller by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar READ MORE >

Boondocks, an Epic Apocalyptic Thriller by Jaydeep Shah

The Bottom Line: An epic apocalyptic thriller steeped in Indian folklore and black magic. Recommended for fantasy fans seeking a truly original, high-concept tale of good versus evil.  Vacationers Rahul and Elisa travel to the western Indian state of Rajasthan, hoping to sample local cuisine and explore local cities. But things go from bad to worse as Elisa accidentally ruins their only map (cell coverage …

Boondocks, an Epic Apocalyptic Thriller by Jaydeep Shah READ MORE >

Just Underneath, an Enthralling Collection of Sci-Fi and Horror by Jason Palmer

The Bottom Line: Jason Palmer’s potent, enthralling shots of sci-fi and horror prove the short story format is what the world needs right now.  In the tradition of versatile literary icons Dean Koontz and Stephen King, novelist Jason Palmer has proven equally successful when tackling sci-fi and horror – such as in Thrash, his superb superhero thriller – or in an urban crime setting, such …

Just Underneath, an Enthralling Collection of Sci-Fi and Horror by Jason Palmer READ MORE >

Killing the Butterfly, a Pulse-Pounding Psychological Thriller by Dale Ward

The Bottom Line: A pulse-pounding dark psychological thriller that will awaken your inner survivalist. In sessions with her school counselor, Patty, a teenager, describes a monster who comes to her at night. He seems so real that she can smell his sweat. “These are real to you,” the naive counselor explains, “But even you call them dreams or visions or nightmares.” Author Dale Ward needn’t …

Killing the Butterfly, a Pulse-Pounding Psychological Thriller by Dale Ward READ MORE >

The Tooth Fairy, a Highly Recommended Horror Novel by Davide Tarsitano

The Bottom Line: Horror with heart. Treat yourself to this gloriously balanced, memorable and terrifying head trip.  Tech executive Johnny Hawk is rebooting his life. He’s decided to divorce his cheating wife, cash out of the company he co-founded, and embark on a cross-country journey to see his best friend in Los Angeles.  Not long after leaving Indiana in “Madeline,” a 1963 Jaguar that has …

The Tooth Fairy, a Highly Recommended Horror Novel by Davide Tarsitano READ MORE >

Daemon Blood, a High-Stakes Fantasy Thriller by Mary Maddox

The Bottom Line: Fantasy thriller fans will be quickly possessed by the high-stakes, psychic battle unleashed in this otherworldly third series installment.   The third installment in Mary Maddox’s Daemon World series finds a war on the horizon. Daemon seer Lu Darlington is desperate to save herself, her son and her dearest friend, Lisa. Bound to the daemon Talion through ritual, blood and a son, Lu finds …

Daemon Blood, a High-Stakes Fantasy Thriller by Mary Maddox READ MORE >

Annihilation, an Exhilerating Supernatural Thriller by Kaylin McFarren

The Bottom Line: McFarren injects humanity into the art of supernatural storytelling, and the result is an exhilarating and thoroughly Shakespearean thriller. High school drama rules Samara Daemonium’s life. Rumor has it that her ex-boyfriend, Legend, broke up with her because she wouldn’t sleep with him. Stunning Samara has plenty of other options, but the sight of Legend with his new girl is eating her …

Annihilation, an Exhilerating Supernatural Thriller by Kaylin McFarren READ MORE >

Have You Seen Me?, The Year’s Best Horror Novel

The Bottom Line: One of the Best Thrillers of 2021. A deliciously disturbing whodunnit filled with twists and turns that will appeal to young adults and seasoned mystery fans alike. Aubrey LeRoux has returned to Waverly Prep, her old Southern college-prep school, but this time as the new history teacher. Aubrey was prepared for an icy reception from the hardened headmistress, who has not thawed …

Have You Seen Me?, The Year’s Best Horror Novel READ MORE >

Scroll to Top