Humorous Mystery Books

Our writers recommend the best humorous mystery books by both new and established writers.

Cooking for Cannibals, One of the Year’s Best Thrillers

The Bottom Line: Devastatingly funny, dark and unputdownable. One of the Year’s Best Thrillers. As Cooking for Cannibals opens, 35-year-old gerontologist Carrie Cromer is committing her first crime. Carrie works in a lab that seems to have created nothing less than the fountain of youth. The miraculous drug has reversed aging in her lab rats, […]

Continue Reading

Saving Grace, a Witty Whodunnit by D.M. Barr

The Bottom Line: A witty whodunnit that fans of Janet Evanovich will love. Saving Grace opens with a bang as hacker Joe “Hack” Hackford is on the phone with his sister, novelist Lynn Andrews. Both are mixed up in a wacky extortion scheme with paranoid heiress Grace Pierrepoint Rendell, who has recently gone off a […]

Continue Reading

Blues of Autumn, a Hilarious Small Town Mystery by Richard Adamson

The Bottom Line: Janet Evanovich fans should flock to this hilarious small town mystery. Set in the mountains of upstate New York, Blues of Autumn is the story of Police Chief Norris Tanager, who moved to tiny Glen Echo to avoid the headaches of big city crime fighting. When not moonlighting as a bar band […]

Continue Reading

Payback, a Highly Entertaining Murder Mystery by Ronald S. Barak

The Bottom Line: A deftly-plotted, highly entertaining island murder mystery that is sure to broaden author Ronald S. Barak’s burgeoning fan base. Eloise Brooks, the wife of retired Superior Court Judge Cyrus Brooks, surprises her husband with an island adventure to celebrate their 55th anniversary. Her intentions, however, are far from romantic. In Cyrus Brooks’ […]

Continue Reading

Writers Like Janet Evanovich

Since the 1996 novel One For the Money, Janet Evanovich has been the gold standard among humorous mystery novelists. The book featured Stephanie Plum, a former lingerie buyer who becomes a bounty hunter to make ends meet after losing her job. Plum often finds herself in hilarious conundrums as she goes about her business. There […]

Continue Reading

White Oaks, an Ingeniously Dark Comic Thriller by Jill Hand

The Bottom Line: A thriller about greed, gluttony and murder that is destined for the big screen. The promise of inheritance has divided families since the beginning of time, and from time to time has ended in murder. But novelist Jill Hand’s White Oaks has introduced an ingenious new twist on the time-old tale, as […]

Continue Reading

A Fox in the Fold, a Fun-Loving Crime Thriller by T.K. Ambers

The Bottom Line: T.K. Ambers is a fresh, fun voice in the mystery genre, and her sophomore effort is a must-read for fans of the Runway Dreams series. Count us among fans hoping that T.K. Ambers would return the cast of her addictive mystery Runway Dreams for a sequel, and we’re delighted to find that our wish has been granted. […]

Continue Reading

The Culinary Art of Murder, a Humorous Mystery by Heather Haven

The Bottom Line: This cozy mystery has it all – romance, suspense, comedy and a detective you’ll fall hard for. The latest installment in Heather Haven’s Silicon Valley murder series begins as Liana Alverez – better known as Lee, a private investigator for Discretionary Inquiries – takes a call from her distraught uncle. Like every […]

Continue Reading

Runway Dreams, a Humorous and Addictive Murder Mystery

The Bottom Line: We’re smitten by this exceptionally fresh, high-watt glam murder mystery. Curvaceous model Bernadette has an amazing house, a close-knit family, a trust fund, and a law degree to fall back upon if she ever grows tired of modeling. What could be missing in her life? Love, of course. Soon after dipping her […]

Continue Reading

Grave Misunderstanding, a Hilarious Whodunit by Len Boswell

The Bottom Line: A truly hilarious mystery in the tradition of Janet Evanovich, Thomas Davidson and Rich Leder. In Len Boswell’s Grave Misunderstanding, small town Crab Cove is the focal point of a clever satire on the murder mystery genre. For a small town, Crab Cove has seen far more than its fair share of […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes