New Book Releases

The latest mystery and thriller book reviews, including crime fiction, legal thrillers, historical fiction, horror, fantasy, medical, romantic suspense, sci-fi and much more.

Psychopathic, a Highly Recommended Psychological Thriller

The Bottom Line: Melby reinvigorates the psychological thriller with a peerless heroine, masterclass pacing and a judicious sense of foreboding throughout.  Psychiatrist Faith Galloway is the epitome of resilience. The blind physician, accompanied by a German Shepherd named Zeus, seems to have a heightened sense of awareness, moving easily through city streets and train stations. She enjoys a strong professional reputation for treating especially troubled patients, […]

Psychopathic, a Highly Recommended Psychological Thriller READ MORE >

The Forever Game, a Series-Worthy Thriller by Jeffrey James Higgins

The Bottom Line: DEA Special Agent Adam Locke is a series-worthy action hero whose debut is filled with breathtaking action and a surprisingly exquisite exploration of AI-assisted immortality.  The Forever Game opens as DEA Special Agent Adam Locke is in Haiti, closing in on John Laguerre, the leader of a massive transnational criminal organization. He figures they’ve got just one chance to “cut the head off

The Forever Game, a Series-Worthy Thriller by Jeffrey James Higgins READ MORE >

Stranger in the Valley, an Action-Packed Paranormal Thriller by Gregory Haley

The Bottom Line: A magical, action-packed paranormal thriller about loyalty and destiny. Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Joe Hill will fall hard for Stranger in the Valley.  Iraq War veteran A.J. keeps his promises, no matter how long it takes to fulfill them. As Stranger in the Valley opens, A.J. is hiking his way through Oregon to fulfill a promise he made ten years earlier – to scatter

Stranger in the Valley, an Action-Packed Paranormal Thriller by Gregory Haley READ MORE >

The Spill, a Must-Read Eco-Thriller by Keith Abbott

The Bottom Line: The Spill is a must-read, high-stakes Eco-thriller with fascinating technology at its core. Abbott’s debut novel is a five-star winner. As The Spill opens, it is the middle of the night at the oil terminal in Lagos, Nigeria. A Nigerian worker named Kuno and his supervisor are manipulated into triggering a catastrophic oil spill, unleashing thirty thousand barrels of oil per hour into the Lagos harbor. Two people die in a sudden burst of chaos and

The Spill, a Must-Read Eco-Thriller by Keith Abbott READ MORE >

The Greater Good, a Hard-Hitting Medical Thriller by Dr. Frank J. Sapienza

The Bottom Line: A fast-moving, hard-hitting medical thriller about the sacrifices a doctor is willing to make for his family – as well as the ethical and privacy dangers that come with modern medical research. Highly recommended.  Moments after Dr. Jonathan Morrison discovers that his nine-year-old son Mike isn’t breathing, the ER veteran uses a steak knife and a plastic straw to perform an emergency

The Greater Good, a Hard-Hitting Medical Thriller by Dr. Frank J. Sapienza READ MORE >

Deception Bay, an Extraordinary Historical Thriller by N.N. Parker

The Bottom Line: Parker delivers an extraordinary debut historical thriller that will stay with readers long after the final page.  Set in the rural village of Lower Lynch in the early 1700s, eighteen-year-old Lacey Emerson lives with older sister, Bella, and her father, a baker who suffers from crippling arthritis. The three have been on their own in the years since Lacey’s mother was executed

Deception Bay, an Extraordinary Historical Thriller by N.N. Parker READ MORE >

Missing Values, a Highly Original Crime Thriller by Michael Grigsby

The Bottom Line: A grisly, highly original crime thriller in which an unlikely hero wields data science to solve his son’s disappearance.  Missing Values follows a cross-country crime spree by sibling serial killers Mabel and Kane. While murder is clearly their passion, human trafficking and drugs are their path to earning freedom from a despot named King Carlos. As the siblings are about to leave Texas

Missing Values, a Highly Original Crime Thriller by Michael Grigsby READ MORE >

The Manic Mission, a Heartfelt Mafia Thriller by C.J. Simone

The Bottom Line: A smart, heartfelt mafia thriller that deftly explores the danger and fragility facing a contemporary crime family. We can’t wait for Book Two.  The first entry in C.J. Simone’s Children of the Mob series introduces us to the Giordano family. The Manic Mission is told from alternating points of view, opening with the perspective of Gabe Giordano, an Italian American heartthrob who is determined

The Manic Mission, a Heartfelt Mafia Thriller by C.J. Simone READ MORE >

The Well, an Exhilarating Spy Thriller by R. Chapman Wesley

The Bottom Line: An exhilarating spy thriller that successfully blends myth, science, espionage and magic.  Russian scientist Professor Anatoly Popov, described as a bit of a swashbuckler, has been on a quest for perfect health his entire life. He first encountered the legend of The Well while studying Kung Fu in a Taoist temple. What if a scientific breakthrough, based on a Chinese legend, could

The Well, an Exhilarating Spy Thriller by R. Chapman Wesley READ MORE >

Scroll to Top