New Book Releases

The latest mystery and thriller book reviews, including crime fiction, legal thrillers, historical fiction, horror, fantasy, medical, romantic suspense, sci-fi and much more.

Bloody Pages, a Fast-Paced Crime Thriller by Bruce Lewis

The Bottom Line: A fast-paced and relentlessly ominous crime thriller that readers can devour on a long flight.  Bruce Lewis, author of the terrific thriller Bloody Paws, returns with his second Kim Jansen novel. Like its predecessor, Bloody Pages is largely set in Oregon and is centered around one of society’s most troubling social ills. Here Lewis explores the theme of intergenerational violence, and he …

Bloody Pages, a Fast-Paced Crime Thriller by Bruce Lewis READ MORE >

In Danger of Judgment, a Well-Crafted Gangland Crime Thriller

The Bottom Line: A well-crafted gangland crime thriller with a fascinating military subplot and a deliciously mysterious villain. Set on the mean streets of Chicago in 1987, In Danger of Judgment follows two police officers as they work eight drug-related murders. All were professional hits with no witnesses.  Chicago Police Detective Marcelle DeSantis isn’t afraid of using her good looks to attract the attention of …

In Danger of Judgment, a Well-Crafted Gangland Crime Thriller READ MORE >

The Handler, a Believable Terrorism Thriller by Jeffrey S. Stephens

The Bottom Line: A taut terrorism thriller that mesmerizes with a dizzying global conspiracy and believable stakes. Fans of Kyle Mills and Brad Thor will love The Handler. The Handler opens in New York City as two radicalized Muslims, Mustafa Karahan and Roshan Al Ghamdi, conduct recon for a terror attack. It’s a familiar setup with one terrifying twist: neither knows about the other’s existence, …

The Handler, a Believable Terrorism Thriller by Jeffrey S. Stephens READ MORE >

Justice for Loretta, a Twisty, Cinematic Murder Mystery by LeeAnne James 

The Bottom Line: A methodical murder mystery with a shocking twist.  Loretta Sampson Mills was no stranger to death. She saw her first death at age 13 when Timmy Rafferty was fatally injured on the playground. And when Loretta’s grandma came to live with them after falling ill to cancer, she moves into Loretta’s room. Then, Loretta is asked to do the unthinkable: end her suffering with a fatal dose of …

Justice for Loretta, a Twisty, Cinematic Murder Mystery by LeeAnne James  READ MORE >

Money For Nothing, a Must-Read Crime Thriller by Karen S. Gordon

The Bottom Line: Money For Nothing is a provocative, tightly-wound crime thriller that seems destined for its own streaming series. A must-read for both new fans and the series’ growing fan base.  Karen S. Gordon’s hotly anticipated sequel to Sick Money comes as the crime hits close to home and the stakes are higher than ever. Money For Nothing finds Vance, a retired ex-cop turned …

Money For Nothing, a Must-Read Crime Thriller by Karen S. Gordon READ MORE >

Lover Girl, a High-Octane Mafia Thriller by Stephen Kronwith, M.D.

The Bottom Line: A gem among mafia thrillers featuring a likable female assassin and one high-octane scene after another. Highly recommended.  Meet Angelica Fortuna, a wisecracking assassin and daughter of Philadelphia crime boss Don Vito Fortuna. Nickname: The Angel of Death (l’angelo della morte). But while death is her business, Angelica herself is full of life, snark, and a healthy dose of hubris in her …

Lover Girl, a High-Octane Mafia Thriller by Stephen Kronwith, M.D. READ MORE >

Pool Man, a Darkly Funny Horror Novel by Dan McDowell

The Bottom Line: McDowell’s newest nightmare is fresh, darkly funny and deserving of every horror fan’s attention. The beating heart of Dan McDowell’s award-winning Nightmare in Riverton series is the infamous Oak Hollow Hotel. Far more than just a setting, the Oak Hollow has also served as the book’s primary center of gravity, suspense and suffering. In the tradition of the Amityville Horror, McDowell has …

Pool Man, a Darkly Funny Horror Novel by Dan McDowell READ MORE >

The Child Riddler, a Slick Spy Thriller by Angela Greenman

The Bottom Line: A slick spy thriller that balances a futuristic counter-terrorism mission with the battle for its heroine’s soul.  Zoe Lorel is an elite operative in an international spy agency called Global Threat Assessment (GTA). The GTA faces an increasingly sprawling network of malevolent organizations that includes ISIS, Al-Qaeda, Hamas, the Real IRA, the KKK and others. Zoe’s boss and uncle, Easton Hughes, calls …

The Child Riddler, a Slick Spy Thriller by Angela Greenman READ MORE >

Prey No More, a Highly Recommended Revenge Thriller by Lee Matthew Goldberg

The Bottom Line: A gloriously nasty revenge thriller that manages to shock and surprise until the final page.  The second installment in Lee Matthew Goldberg’s Desire Card trilogy, set decades after Immoral Origins, follows assassin J.D. Storm, who goes by the handle James Dean. We first find J.D. preparing for a mission that will take him to Morocco. In a business where any wish can …

Prey No More, a Highly Recommended Revenge Thriller by Lee Matthew Goldberg READ MORE >

Reckonings, a Heartbreaking Suspense Novel by Karen E. Osborne

The Bottom Line:  A heartbreaking suspense novel about family secrets, shame and justice.  Karen E. Osborne, author of the superb Tangled Lies, returns with a suspense thriller featuring Osborne’s finest protagonist yet.  Thirty-six year old Roxy has been through a lot. At age 12, her mother abandoned her. At 18, she was raped by her boyfriend, Spider. These days she works at a local beauty …

Reckonings, a Heartbreaking Suspense Novel by Karen E. Osborne READ MORE >

Scroll to Top