New Book Releases

The latest mystery and thriller book reviews, including crime fiction, legal thrillers, historical fiction, horror, fantasy, medical, romantic suspense, sci-fi and much more.

High Crimes, a Fast-Paced Comedic Thriller by Montana Kane

The Bottom Line: A fast-paced comedic thriller that is both big-hearted and easy to love. Thanks to Montana Kane’s highly memorable voice and vision, Boomville, Colorado may be the new Fargo, Minnesota.  After being wounded in the line of duty, Detective Brandy Martini leaves crime-ridden Chicago for Colorado. But her dream to earn a comfortable living as a private investigator in a peaceful mountain town …

High Crimes, a Fast-Paced Comedic Thriller by Montana Kane READ MORE >

Muir’s Gambit, a Must-Read Spy Game Prequel by Michael Frost Beckner

The Bottom Line: Spy Game screenwriter Michael Frost Beckner resurrects timeless Cold War tradecraft in a new must-read series. Muir’s Gambit, a prequel to the classic espionage film Spy Games starring Robert Redford and Brad Pitt, is set 48 hours prior to the original. The book returns familiar characters Nathan Muir and Tom Bishop, and introduces a new protagonist, CIA attorney Russell Aiken. Once Muir’s protégé, Aiken is still stinging from being cast aside …

Muir’s Gambit, a Must-Read Spy Game Prequel by Michael Frost Beckner READ MORE >

Just a Still Life, a Delightful Mystery by J. Ivanel Johnson

The Bottom Line: Warm up the apple crisp and cozy up to a detective mystery that has been 75 years in the making. It’s the fall of 1971 in New Brunswick, Canada, and inspector Philip Steele is trying to shake off the stench of burnout and cases that haunt him to this day. He has given his resignation and desperately wants to swear off police work for good. …

Just a Still Life, a Delightful Mystery by J. Ivanel Johnson READ MORE >

The Fragment Murder, a Sexy Conspiracy Thriller by Andrew Bonar

The Bottom Line: A sexy conspiracy thriller with jaw-dropping twists that will have readers anxiously awaiting the next series installment.  The sequel to Andrew Bonar’s Back Bay Murders continues the story of amorous crimefighting duo Drew Law and Ashley Tinder, as well as “the Organization.” As the book opens, Drew has just been the focus of a 60 Minutes segment, making him the country’s most …

The Fragment Murder, a Sexy Conspiracy Thriller by Andrew Bonar READ MORE >

The Billionaire’s Conspiracy, a Compelling Thriller by MJ Javani

The Bottom Line: A compelling conspiracy thriller propelled by explosive action, intriguing alternate history and provocative conversations about capitalism and society. As The Billionaire’s Conspiracy opens, a trio of anarchists break into a weapons vault at Virginia’s Fort Belvoir, killing a soldier and one of their own in the process. They get away with a truckload of automatic weapons, grenades, shoulder-fired rocket launchers and more. …

The Billionaire’s Conspiracy, a Compelling Thriller by MJ Javani READ MORE >

Azabu Getaway, an Electrifying Crime Thriller by Michael Pronko

The Bottom Line: Detective Hiroshi has never been more entertaining in this electrifying crime thriller featuring some truly ingenious financial crimes.  When American wealth manager Patrick Walsh returns to his Tokyo apartment and keys in his passcode, he’s surprised to find that it still works. For those unfamiliar with Tokyo, Azabu is known as one of Tokyo’s most expensive residential districts. When Walsh’s ex-wife Miyuki …

Azabu Getaway, an Electrifying Crime Thriller by Michael Pronko READ MORE >

Pool Man, a Darkly Funny Horror Novel by Dan McDowell

The Bottom Line: McDowell’s newest nightmare is fresh, darkly funny and deserving of every horror fan’s attention. The beating heart of Dan McDowell’s award-winning Nightmare in Riverton series is the infamous Oak Hollow Hotel. Far more than just a setting, the Oak Hollow has also served as the book’s primary center of gravity, suspense and suffering. In the tradition of the Amityville Horror, McDowell has …

Pool Man, a Darkly Funny Horror Novel by Dan McDowell READ MORE >

In Danger of Judgment, a Well-Crafted Gangland Crime Thriller

The Bottom Line: A well-crafted gangland crime thriller with a fascinating military subplot and a deliciously mysterious villain. Set on the mean streets of Chicago in 1987, In Danger of Judgment follows two police officers as they work eight drug-related murders. All were professional hits with no witnesses.  Chicago Police Detective Marcelle DeSantis isn’t afraid of using her good looks to attract the attention of …

In Danger of Judgment, a Well-Crafted Gangland Crime Thriller READ MORE >

The Best Female Detective Books, Ranked (Updated!)

We love great detectives, no matter who they are and where they hail from. But at times, we crave the point of view and approach to casework that only a female detective can bring. The canon of great female literary sleuths include those from a wide variety of countries, eras and ethnicities. However, thrillers featuring female sleuths are still a little harder to find, which …

The Best Female Detective Books, Ranked (Updated!) READ MORE >

The Desecrated, a Must-Read Paranormal Thriller by John Gray

The Bottom Line: A must-read paranormal thriller filled with exhilarating action, ancient magic and historical fantasy. Fans of James Rollins and Dan Brown may find a favorite new voice in John Gray. From the prologue, set in a turn-of-the-century New York graveyard, author John Gray’s cinematic prose is impossible to put down (“His face was a pincushion of whiskers and his breath fouled the air as …

The Desecrated, a Must-Read Paranormal Thriller by John Gray READ MORE >

Scroll to Top