New Book Releases

The latest mystery and thriller book reviews, including crime fiction, legal thrillers, historical fiction, horror, fantasy, medical, romantic suspense, sci-fi and much more.

Books like Bosch

Books Like Bosch: If You Love Michael Connolly’s Bosch Series, Check Out These Novels

What novels are like the Bosch series? As the second season of Bosch Legacy wraps filming, a question often raised by fans of the beloved Michael Connolly series looking for their next fix. Here are seven crime thriller gems featuring brilliant, angst-ridden detectives who will do anything to ensure justice is served: Thin Air, an LA Noir Crime Novel by Lisa Gray This Storm, an …

Books Like Bosch: If You Love Michael Connolly’s Bosch Series, Check Out These Novels READ MORE >

Early Grave, a Profound Legal Thriller by Paul Levine

The Bottom Line: A profound legal thriller that vacillates between comedy and tragedy en route to a moving finale. Levine delivers rarefied entertainment while daring us all to question the status quo.  The final book in Paul Levine’s Jake Lassiter series finds the defense attorney engaging in a battle that is decidedly personal. Long before Jake’s law career, he was a linebacker for the Miami …

Early Grave, a Profound Legal Thriller by Paul Levine READ MORE >

The Fear of Winter, an Emotionally Resonant Thriller by S.C. Sterling

The Bottom Line: For fans of The Girl in Cabin 13, The Fear of Winter is an emotionally resonant, atmospheric thriller that simmers with a highly memorable investigation en route to an unforgettable crescendo.  Grand County, Colorado, consists of 1800 square miles of sprawling mountainous terrain. At any time, there are at least two dozen missing people in the county. Most are hikers or skiers. …

The Fear of Winter, an Emotionally Resonant Thriller by S.C. Sterling READ MORE >

The 19 Best FBI Thriller Books (Updated!)

FBI thrillers are pervasive throughout the entertainment landscape. Almost since the FBI was founded during the Teddy Roosevelt presidency in 1908, novelists and filmmakers alike have been cooking up fictional episodes of the legendary G-men. Some of these classic tales are tributes, and many more are conspiracy theories. More often than not in books about the FBI, the feds are positioned as the outsiders that …

The 19 Best FBI Thriller Books (Updated!) READ MORE >

Dean Koontz books ranked

The Best Dean Koontz Books (Updated for 2023)

With more than 100 novels published and a reported 450 million novels sold, is it any wonder that Dean Koontz is one of the most popular writers of all time? Koontz is listed at #2 overall in Amazon’s Author Rank, behind only the inimitable J.K. Rowling. But if you’re new to Koontz’s work, where do you start? Koontz’s books are primarily thrillers, but commonly incorporate …

The Best Dean Koontz Books (Updated for 2023) READ MORE >

Death by Saxophone, an Alluring Whodunnit by Debbie Burke

The Bottom Line: A must-read for musicians who love murder mysteries, Death by Saxophone is a rare combination of alluring whodunnit and offbeat romantic suspense. Highly recommended.  There’s no way to properly describe Death by Saxophone without first defining the object of its characters’ obsession: black market recordings called “bone records.” Also called “ribs,” bone records are bootlegged gramophone recordings first made from X-ray films …

Death by Saxophone, an Alluring Whodunnit by Debbie Burke READ MORE >

Tilted Scales, an Unforgettable Fantasy Legal Thriller by Julian Kindred

The Bottom Line: Perfect for fans of Honor Raconteur and Jason Rose, Tilted Scales: Inhuman Trafficking deftly blends courtroom drama and legal maneuvering with supernatural gangsters, warlocks and spell casters. The Southern Serpent is a heroine that readers won’t easily forget.  Lawyers are often referred to as snakes, but Jayne Hart, known as the Southern Serpent, actually does have scales. Human from the waist up …

Tilted Scales, an Unforgettable Fantasy Legal Thriller by Julian Kindred READ MORE >

The Rio Affair, a Highly Recommended Crime Thriller by Micah Barnett

The Bottom Line: An irresistible debut crime thriller from a promising new voice. Highly recommended.  As FBI Special Agent Miles Ronan arrives in Brazil to identify his father’s body, he also hopes to close a dark chapter that has haunted him since he was a boy. Ironic is one way to describe the estranged relationship between Frank Ronan, one of the world’s most wanted criminals, …

The Rio Affair, a Highly Recommended Crime Thriller by Micah Barnett READ MORE >

Clifford’s War: Without End, an Irreverent Comedic Thriller by J. Denison Reed

The Bottom Line: An irreverent comedic thriller that combines a high-octane plot with regular doses of levity.  Following the murder of a U.S. Senator, Commander Doyle Hamilton is backed by party leaders to run in a special election to fill the seat. Doyle needs to assemble a team he can trust, and among the first to enlist is private investigator Clifford Dee. Doyle was once …

Clifford’s War: Without End, an Irreverent Comedic Thriller by J. Denison Reed READ MORE >

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top