Police Procedural Books

The best police procedural eBooks and eBook reviews for kindle, nook, iBooks and more, including both new and established writers.

Death on the High Seas, a Globetrotting Crime Thriller by Richard V Rupp

The Bottom Line: An escapist, globetrotting crime thriller that is as fun as it is sophisticated. When FBI special agent Dick Hartmann accepts the offer of a free Caribbean cruise, he seems to understand that in crime fiction, there are no real vacations for criminal investigators. Upon boarding the ship, he pays a courtesy call […]

Continue Reading

The Best Female Detective Books, Ranked (Updated!)

We love both great male and female detectives equally. However, thrillers featuring great female sleuths are still a little harder to find, which is why we decided to compile this list of truly great mysteries and thrillers featuring superstar female protagonists. In compiling this updated version of our female detective list, our definition of “detective” […]

Continue Reading

Grey Daze, a Must-Read Psychic Detective Novel

The Bottom Line: Lush, evocative and gritty, Grey Daze is the gold standard for psychic detective novels. Psychic detective Lance Underphal has a long history of putting criminals behind bars in the great state of Arizona. But in Michael Allan Scott’s third series book, Grey Daze, his psychic abilities may be the very thing that puts him in the slammer. […]

Continue Reading

Blues of Autumn, a Hilarious Small Town Mystery by Richard Adamson

The Bottom Line: Janet Evanovich fans should flock to this hilarious small town mystery. Set in the mountains of upstate New York, Blues of Autumn is the story of Police Chief Norris Tanager, who moved to tiny Glen Echo to avoid the headaches of big city crime fighting. When not moonlighting as a bar band […]

Continue Reading

The Best Crime Thriller Books of the Decade (2010-2019)

The 2010s was a decade chock full of amazing mysteries and thrillers. In particular, the crime thriller genre – inclusive of detective fiction, FBI thrillers, serial killer fiction, heist thrillers, police procedurals and many other whodunnits – has burned brightly. While the genre’s old guard continued to crank out plenty of winners, the decade’s best […]

Continue Reading

Terror Machine, an Awe-Inspiring Terrorism Thriller by Denison Hatch

The Bottom Line: An awe-inspiring terrorism thriller that takes huge risks en route to a hugely satisfying climax. In Manhattan’s Winter Village, Abdel Hayat drives a truckload of explosives through dozens of innocent civilians and a skating rink until skidding to a stop in the middle of the ice. Hayat is armed, but he doesn’t […]

Continue Reading

The Night Fire, a New Harry Bosch Novel by Michael Connelly

The Bottom Line: If you haven’t caught Harry Bosch fever yet, I dare you to read The Night Fire and not be hooked. Amazon doesn’t provide ratings information on its magnificent Bosch series, but going by the success of Michael Connelly’s Bosch books, it’s bound to be a juggernaut. The Night Fire is a more-than-worthy […]

Continue Reading

The Art of Dying, a Stunning Crime Thriller by Derik Cavignano

The Bottom Line: An edge-of-your seat detective thriller that crackles with gore and wit before delivering a stunning knockout blow. Fans of The Silence of the Lambs should flock to Derik Cavignano’s new series debut. Boston Police Detective Ray Hanley has seen a lot of gory crime scenes in his career, but he’s never seen […]

Continue Reading

This Storm, a Smoldering New LA Crime Thriller by James Ellroy

The Bottom Line: Elloy’s most challenging work yet, This Storm is strictly for fans of LA Noir and James Ellroy completionists. With This Storm, the author of classics like LA Confidential and Black Dahlia has entered yet another novel in the canon of crime thrillers set in the city of angels. As torrential rain hits LA […]

Continue Reading

Black Frog, a Small-Town Crime Thriller that Fires on All Cylinders

The Bottom Line: Get in on the ground floor of this engrossing small-town crime thriller. Highly recommended for fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson. In B.D. Smith’s second Detective Douglas Bateman series novel, Bateman is called to investigate multiple axe murders in northern Maine. Bateman, who serves with Maine’s Major Crimes Unit, soon discovers […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes