Action Thriller Books

The best action thriller book reviews. Action thrillers feature extensive fight scenes, battle scenarios or high-intensity adventure.

The Billionaire’s Conspiracy, a Compelling Thriller by MJ Javani

The Bottom Line: A compelling conspiracy thriller propelled by explosive action, intriguing alternate history and provocative conversations about capitalism and society. As The Billionaire’s Conspiracy opens, a trio of anarchists break into a weapons vault at Virginia’s Fort Belvoir, killing a soldier and one of their own in the process. They get away with a truckload of automatic weapons, grenades, shoulder-fired rocket launchers and more. …

The Billionaire’s Conspiracy, a Compelling Thriller by MJ Javani READ MORE >

In Danger of Judgment, a Well-Crafted Gangland Crime Thriller

The Bottom Line: A well-crafted gangland crime thriller with a fascinating military subplot and a deliciously mysterious villain. Set on the mean streets of Chicago in 1987, In Danger of Judgment follows two police officers as they work eight drug-related murders. All were professional hits with no witnesses.  Chicago Police Detective Marcelle DeSantis isn’t afraid of using her good looks to attract the attention of …

In Danger of Judgment, a Well-Crafted Gangland Crime Thriller READ MORE >

The Desecrated, a Must-Read Paranormal Thriller by John Gray

The Bottom Line: A must-read paranormal thriller filled with exhilarating action, ancient magic and historical fantasy. Fans of James Rollins and Dan Brown may find a favorite new voice in John Gray. From the prologue, set in a turn-of-the-century New York graveyard, author John Gray’s cinematic prose is impossible to put down (“His face was a pincushion of whiskers and his breath fouled the air as …

The Desecrated, a Must-Read Paranormal Thriller by John Gray READ MORE >

The Mirror Man, an Epic Supernatural Spy Thriller by J.B. Manas

The Bottom Line: An epic supernatural spy thriller that may be the first entry in a blockbuster franchise. Highly recommended. The Mirror Man is the tale of two men, Julian Black and Sebastian Blaine, whose supernatural powers are manifested through touch. When Julian holds someone’s hand, he accesses some of their most intimate, and often traumatic, memories. Alternately, Sebastian’s touch enables him to  delete his victims’ …

The Mirror Man, an Epic Supernatural Spy Thriller by J.B. Manas READ MORE >

Richter’s War: Case of the Ghostly Séance, an Alt History Thriller by Daniel P. Douglas

The Bottom Line:  An action-packed alt history thriller that succesfully blends LA noir and Nazi obsession with the supernatural.  In 1943 Los Angeles, private detective Geno Richter has been hired by the War Department to hunt down Nazi agents, spies and saboteurs. In this, author Daniel P. Douglas’ third book featuring Richter, he’s been assigned a new partner – attractive former Marine Corps nurse Anna …

Richter’s War: Case of the Ghostly Séance, an Alt History Thriller by Daniel P. Douglas READ MORE >

The Handler, a Believable Terrorism Thriller by Jeffrey S. Stephens

The Bottom Line: A taut terrorism thriller that mesmerizes with a dizzying global conspiracy and believable stakes. Fans of Kyle Mills and Brad Thor will love The Handler. The Handler opens in New York City as two radicalized Muslims, Mustafa Karahan and Roshan Al Ghamdi, conduct recon for a terror attack. It’s a familiar setup with one terrifying twist: neither knows about the other’s existence, …

The Handler, a Believable Terrorism Thriller by Jeffrey S. Stephens READ MORE >

Money For Nothing, a Must-Read Crime Thriller by Karen S. Gordon

The Bottom Line: Money For Nothing is a provocative, tightly-wound crime thriller that seems destined for its own streaming series. A must-read for both new fans and the series’ growing fan base.  Karen S. Gordon’s hotly anticipated sequel to Sick Money comes as the crime hits close to home and the stakes are higher than ever. Money For Nothing finds Vance, a retired ex-cop turned …

Money For Nothing, a Must-Read Crime Thriller by Karen S. Gordon READ MORE >

Lover Girl, a High-Octane Mafia Thriller by Stephen Kronwith, M.D.

The Bottom Line: A gem among mafia thrillers featuring a likable female assassin and one high-octane scene after another. Highly recommended.  Meet Angelica Fortuna, a wisecracking assassin and daughter of Philadelphia crime boss Don Vito Fortuna. Nickname: The Angel of Death (l’angelo della morte). But while death is her business, Angelica herself is full of life, snark, and a healthy dose of hubris in her …

Lover Girl, a High-Octane Mafia Thriller by Stephen Kronwith, M.D. READ MORE >

The Child Riddler, a Slick Spy Thriller by Angela Greenman

The Bottom Line: A slick spy thriller that balances a futuristic counter-terrorism mission with the battle for its heroine’s soul.  Zoe Lorel is an elite operative in an international spy agency called Global Threat Assessment (GTA). The GTA faces an increasingly sprawling network of malevolent organizations that includes ISIS, Al-Qaeda, Hamas, the Real IRA, the KKK and others. Zoe’s boss and uncle, Easton Hughes, calls …

The Child Riddler, a Slick Spy Thriller by Angela Greenman READ MORE >

Prey No More, a Highly Recommended Revenge Thriller by Lee Matthew Goldberg

The Bottom Line: A gloriously nasty revenge thriller that manages to shock and surprise until the final page.  The second installment in Lee Matthew Goldberg’s Desire Card trilogy, set decades after Immoral Origins, follows assassin J.D. Storm, who goes by the handle James Dean. We first find J.D. preparing for a mission that will take him to Morocco. In a business where any wish can …

Prey No More, a Highly Recommended Revenge Thriller by Lee Matthew Goldberg READ MORE >

Scroll to Top