Author Archive | Bella Wright

The Best Female Detective Books, Ranked (Updated!)

We love both great male and female detectives equally. However, thrillers featuring great female sleuths are still a little harder to find, which is why we decided to compile this list of truly great mysteries and thrillers featuring superstar female protagonists. In compiling this updated version of our female detective list, our definition of “detective” […]

Continue Reading
American Strangler Book Review

The American Strangler, One of the Year’s Best Thrillers

The Bottom Line: This nervy, disturbing, gut-punch of a vigilante novel is unlike anything you’ve ever read. It’s also one of the year’s best thrillers. With few exceptions, the legal thriller genre exists to elevate fictional heroes of the justice system – attorneys, judges and others who go beyond the call of duty to ensure […]

Continue Reading

Devoted, a Brilliant New Novel by Dean Koontz

The Bottom Line: One of the year’s best thrillers. Following up on his brilliant Nameless story collection, Koontz once again proves that age continues to make his work even more spellbinding and potent. Devoted is a towering achievement that is both suspenseful and full-bodied in terms of character development. Of all the characters Koontz has created […]

Continue Reading

Tokyo Traffic, a First-rate Crime Novel by Michael Pronko

The Bottom Line: A first-rate hardboiled crime novel set at the nexus between porn, human trafficking, crypto-currency fraud and murder. Michael Pronko’s third Detective Hiroshi series novel begins with a bang as Sukanya, a drugged Thai teenager, narrowly escapes a brutal mass murder at a well-known porn studio. In shock, she flees with a bag, […]

Continue Reading

If It Bleeds, a Phenomenal New Thriller Collection by Stephen King

The Bottom Line: A phenomenal collection of stories that rank among King’s best work and one of the year’s best thrillers so far. If It Bleeds delivers more proof that Stephen King has only gotten better with age. The book’s eponymously named story features eccentric investigator Holly Gibney, the character who stole some of King’s […]

Continue Reading

A Killer’s Wife, a Compelling Legal Thriller by Victor Methos

The Bottom Line: A compelling legal thriller that will have you turning the pages well into the night. Victor Methos, author of An Invisible Client (one of our picks for the Best Legal Thriller Books of the Century So Far), is back with a bone-rattling read just in time for summer. A Killer’s Wife is the […]

Continue Reading

The Dead Girl’s Stilettos, a Stylish, Sexy and Smart Crime Thriller by Quinn Avery

The Bottom Line: A stylish, sexy and smart crime thriller with an amateur sleuth that readers will fall in love with. Bexley Squires has made a name for herself as a top investigative journalist, but her critical success hasn’t yet translated into a cash windfall. Living in a Brooklyn loft, she finds herself brilliant and […]

Continue Reading

SPECTRE, a Compulsively Readable Supernatural Thriller by Douglas Misquita

The Bottom Line: A compulsively readable supernatural thriller that is sure to expand Misquita’s audience. Douglas Misquita, author of one of the best thrillers of 2019, returns with his third Kirk Ingram series novel. In a narrative that spans the first, fourth,14th and 21st centuries, SPECTRE imagines a world where a small group of Resurrectionists […]

Continue Reading

Blood of the Assassin, an Explosive Assassination Thriller by Bill Brewer

The Bottom Line: An explosive, globetrotting adventure that will thrill fans of John Wick. The follow-up to Bill Brewer’s unforgettable origin story Dawn of the Assassin does not disappoint. After proving to be an incredibly improvisational and creative killer, David Diegert has now completed training for Crepusculous, a secret society that controls the economy. For […]

Continue Reading

The Newton Code, an Irresistible Religious Conspiracy Thriller by Liam Fialkov

The Bottom Line: A must-read for fans of Dan Brown and Steve Berry. While Sir Isaac Newton’s scientific legacy is well-established, novelist Liam Fialkov uses Newton’s lesser known obsessions with Christianity and metaphysics as the core of a spellbinding religious conspiracy thriller. As The Newton Code opens, computers around the world are held captive. For 13 minutes, […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes