New Book Releases

The latest mystery and thriller book reviews, including crime fiction, legal thrillers, historical fiction, horror, fantasy, medical, romantic suspense, sci-fi and much more.

The Other Side, a Charming and Absorbing Mystery by A.J. McCarthy

The Bottom Line: A murder mystery that is as charming as it is absorbing. Perfect for fans of Nancy Atherton and Patricia Cornwall. Thirty-eight-year-old Canadian pub owner Charlie – who inherited the pub she worked in as a teenager – is feeling the need for change. A catalyst for change comes in the form of loyal customer Craig Reeve, arrives in the pub after a …

The Other Side, a Charming and Absorbing Mystery by A.J. McCarthy READ MORE >

Knot of Fear, a Highly Recommended Psychological Thriller by Bryan Cassiday

The Bottom Line: This psychological thriller about organized crime in the metaverse is a smashing success. Highly recommended for both new and longtime Scott Brody fans.   “Being married to the boss can have side effects,” says Ivy Kingston, whose husband owns a metaverse platform called Rabbit World. The “side effects” Ivy speaks of include getting violently assaulted and raped in the virtual world, where her …

Knot of Fear, a Highly Recommended Psychological Thriller by Bryan Cassiday READ MORE >

A Bounty of Bone, a Jaw-Dropping Suspense Thriller by PG Lengsfelder

The Bottom Line: A jaw-dropping suspense thriller that is unlike anything you’ve ever read. Eunis, a 39-year-old albino Minnesota woman, bears the “mark of the devil” – a brown birthmark on her left cheek that runs from her eye to her chin. A Bounty of Bone is the captivating story of how Eunis goes from someone whose appearance repulses people to someone who is hunted …

A Bounty of Bone, a Jaw-Dropping Suspense Thriller by PG Lengsfelder READ MORE >

Blood Brothers, an Expertly Wrought Political Thriller by Sebati Edward Mafate

The Bottom Line: An expertly wrought political thriller that grabs immediately and demands attention. Highly recommended.  Blood Brothers is about many things, including organized crime, conservation, politics, immigration and more. At its core, it’s an engrossing tale of two sets of adult brothers. The book’s heroes are Sasha and Dumi McDaniels. Sasha is white, and Dumi, who is his adopted brother, is black. Their parents …

Blood Brothers, an Expertly Wrought Political Thriller by Sebati Edward Mafate READ MORE >

Bad Fortune, a Triumphant New Malcolm Winters Mystery

The Bottom Line: A slow-burn, cerebral mystery that methodically builds stakes and suspense en route to a shocking climax.  Thomas J. Thorson’s highly anticipated fourth Malcolm Winters Mystery (the first, Heirs Apparent, was one our 2020 Best of the Year picks) continues the story of Malcolm Winters, who is now living as an English professor at the University of Illinois Chicago. As he did in …

Bad Fortune, a Triumphant New Malcolm Winters Mystery READ MORE >

Authors Like Sarah J. Maas: If You Like Maas’ Throne of Glass Series, You Might Like These Authors

Looking for authors like Sarah J. Maas? If you love Sara J. Maas novels, here’s a list of other authors you might love as well. But first, who is Sarah J. Maas and how did she become so popular? From Manhattan’s upper east side, Maas is an American fantasy author best known for two series: Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses. …

Authors Like Sarah J. Maas: If You Like Maas’ Throne of Glass Series, You Might Like These Authors READ MORE >

High Crimes, a Fast-Paced Comedic Thriller by Montana Kane

The Bottom Line: A fast-paced comedic thriller that is both big-hearted and easy to love. Thanks to Montana Kane’s highly memorable voice and vision, Boomville, Colorado may be the new Fargo, Minnesota.  After being wounded in the line of duty, Detective Brandy Martini leaves crime-ridden Chicago for Colorado. But her dream to earn a comfortable living as a private investigator in a peaceful mountain town …

High Crimes, a Fast-Paced Comedic Thriller by Montana Kane READ MORE >

Muir’s Gambit, a Must-Read Spy Game Prequel by Michael Frost Beckner

The Bottom Line: Spy Game screenwriter Michael Frost Beckner resurrects timeless Cold War tradecraft in a new must-read series. Muir’s Gambit, a prequel to the classic espionage film Spy Games starring Robert Redford and Brad Pitt, is set 48 hours prior to the original. The book returns familiar characters Nathan Muir and Tom Bishop, and introduces a new protagonist, CIA attorney Russell Aiken. Once Muir’s protégé, Aiken is still stinging from being cast aside …

Muir’s Gambit, a Must-Read Spy Game Prequel by Michael Frost Beckner READ MORE >

Just a Still Life, a Delightful Mystery by J. Ivanel Johnson

The Bottom Line: Warm up the apple crisp and cozy up to a detective mystery that has been 75 years in the making. It’s the fall of 1971 in New Brunswick, Canada, and inspector Philip Steele is trying to shake off the stench of burnout and cases that haunt him to this day. He has given his resignation and desperately wants to swear off police work for good. …

Just a Still Life, a Delightful Mystery by J. Ivanel Johnson READ MORE >

The Fragment Murder, a Sexy Conspiracy Thriller by Andrew Bonar

The Bottom Line: A sexy conspiracy thriller with jaw-dropping twists that will have readers anxiously awaiting the next series installment.  The sequel to Andrew Bonar’s Back Bay Murders continues the story of amorous crimefighting duo Drew Law and Ashley Tinder, as well as “the Organization.” As the book opens, Drew has just been the focus of a 60 Minutes segment, making him the country’s most …

The Fragment Murder, a Sexy Conspiracy Thriller by Andrew Bonar READ MORE >

Scroll to Top