New Book Releases

The latest mystery and thriller book reviews, including crime fiction, legal thrillers, historical fiction, horror, fantasy, medical, romantic suspense, sci-fi and much more.

Fighting for Peace, a Stunning Historical Thriller by Jim Perakis

The Bottom Line: Perakis’ depiction of a fighter pilot-turned-anti-war activist is stunning and unputdownable. Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Women and Ron Kovic’s Born on the 4th of July.   Fighting for Peace opens in 1968 as United States Navy fighter pilot Lieutenant Tom Beckett is completing his last mission of the Vietnam War. After escorting bombers operating over North Vietnam, he’s ambushed by an enemy MiG-17. Reacting quickly, […]

Fighting for Peace, a Stunning Historical Thriller by Jim Perakis READ MORE >

Stinger, a Gloriously Gritty Spy Thriller by Gregory D. Lee

The Bottom Line: A gloriously gritty, must-read spy thriller written by a master of the trade. Stinger opens in January 2003, just weeks before an international military coalition is set to invade Iraq to overthrow the regime of Iraqi leader Saddam Hussein. Meanwhile in Beirut, two Lebanese women are kidnapped. Their abductors soon contact the U.S. Embassy, offering a disquieting photo as proof of life, and

Stinger, a Gloriously Gritty Spy Thriller by Gregory D. Lee READ MORE >

Jackrabbit and the Beast, a Magical Mystery Novel by Bre Garcia

The Bottom Line:  A winning blend of mystery and magical realism. One of the most original PI novels in recent memory.  Set in Tucson, Jackrabbit and the Beast opens as private investigator Jernimo Velasquez is marking the one-month anniversary of the funeral of his girlfriend, Laura. Vel, as friends call him, is working through his grief by making out with Laura’s girlfriend’s best friend, Shoua. Vel and Shoua both

Jackrabbit and the Beast, a Magical Mystery Novel by Bre Garcia READ MORE >

Deadly Hush, a Mesmerizing Crime Thriller by Douglas Stewart

The Bottom Line: A mesmerizing crime thriller that deftly explores high society’s dark underbelly. Highly recommended.  The third installment in Douglas Stewart’s Detective Ratso series opens in Switzerland as a killer, who is obsessed with rigid adherence to schedules as well as numerical synchronicity, stalks his prey. While careful not to reveal the killers’ identity too early, we understand that he is OCD, highly intelligent and

Deadly Hush, a Mesmerizing Crime Thriller by Douglas Stewart READ MORE >

The Delusion, a Wildly Imaginative Conspiracy Thriller by T.O. Paine

The Bottom Line: A wildly imaginative and often exhilarating conspiracy thriller about jealousy, fear and mass deception. The Delusion opens as Emma Petranova, a thirtysomething psychology researcher, is preparing to attend a prestigious awards banquet. Until now, her life hasn’t gone as she had hoped. Years of toiling under her boss, Dr. D’Angelo Santan has gone publicly unrecognized. All her hopes and dreams seem to rest on

The Delusion, a Wildly Imaginative Conspiracy Thriller by T.O. Paine READ MORE >

The Burying Point, an Unmissable Crime Thriller by Derik Cavignano

The Bottom Line: Cavignano’s second Ray Hanley thriller is a brilliant and unmissable dance with the devil. Salem witch lore has rarely been as terrifying as it is in The Burying Point. As The Burying Point opens, Boston Police Ray Hanley arrives at the scene of what seems like an almost-perfect crime. The body of a young woman has been buried in a freshly dug grave just hours before she would have been covered by

The Burying Point, an Unmissable Crime Thriller by Derik Cavignano READ MORE >

The Anti-Semite Next Door, a Timely Legal Thriller by Mark M. Bello

The Bottom Line: A timely, gut-punch of a legal thriller that taps into an imperative global conversation about extremism and hate-fueled violence. Highly recommended.  The ninth book in Mark M. Bello’s Zachary Blake series opens in the Detroit suburbs, as the King of Justice attends the bar-mitzvah of his college friend’s son, Josh. Through spicy pre-ceremony banter, we learn that for Zack, bar-mitzvahs are far more than

The Anti-Semite Next Door, a Timely Legal Thriller by Mark M. Bello READ MORE >

Psychopathic, a Highly Recommended Psychological Thriller

The Bottom Line: Melby reinvigorates the psychological thriller with a peerless heroine, masterclass pacing and a judicious sense of foreboding throughout.  Psychiatrist Faith Galloway is the epitome of resilience. The blind physician, accompanied by a German Shepherd named Zeus, seems to have a heightened sense of awareness, moving easily through city streets and train stations. She enjoys a strong professional reputation for treating especially troubled patients,

Psychopathic, a Highly Recommended Psychological Thriller READ MORE >

The Forever Game, a Series-Worthy Thriller by Jeffrey James Higgins

The Bottom Line: DEA Special Agent Adam Locke is a series-worthy action hero whose debut is filled with breathtaking action and a surprisingly exquisite exploration of AI-assisted immortality.  The Forever Game opens as DEA Special Agent Adam Locke is in Haiti, closing in on John Laguerre, the leader of a massive transnational criminal organization. He figures they’ve got just one chance to “cut the head off

The Forever Game, a Series-Worthy Thriller by Jeffrey James Higgins READ MORE >

Stranger in the Valley, an Action-Packed Paranormal Thriller by Gregory Haley

The Bottom Line: A magical, action-packed paranormal thriller about loyalty and destiny. Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Joe Hill will fall hard for Stranger in the Valley.  Iraq War veteran A.J. keeps his promises, no matter how long it takes to fulfill them. As Stranger in the Valley opens, A.J. is hiking his way through Oregon to fulfill a promise he made ten years earlier – to scatter

Stranger in the Valley, an Action-Packed Paranormal Thriller by Gregory Haley READ MORE >

Scroll to Top