Author Archive | Mishka Rao

The Devil and the Dark Water, an Unforgettable Historical Thriller by Stuart Turton

The Bottom Line: A highly visceral and engaging whodunnit set in the 1600s. Samuel Pipps, the world’s greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be execute. Traveling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent. En route to boarding the ship, Pipps is pelted with stones […]

Continue Reading

Level Zero, a Chilling Horror Novel by Dan McDowell

The Bottom Line: The Shining meets Dante’s Inferno. Level Zero is brimming with sinister surprises sure to keep horror fans up at night. Hellish hospitality awaits two men at the infamous Oak Hollow Hotel. The opening chapters of Dan McDowell’s novel are a portrait of two broken relationships. In the first, radio station manager Chris […]

Continue Reading

Sweet Amber, a Hard-Hitting Medical Thriller by William Lynes, MD

The Bottom Line: A hard-hitting medical thriller with a heart. On New Year’s Eve, forty-three-year-old surgeon Dr. Lee W. Hickock is awakened by an urgent call for medical assistance. He had been drinking Jim Beam in his office before falling asleep, and he has another swallow before he heads to the operating room. While the […]

Continue Reading

Stolen Truth, an Irresistable Psychological Thriller by Henya Drescher

The Bottom Line: An irresistible psychological thriller that fans of Gone Girl and Girl on a Train will fall head-over-heels for. As Stolen Truth begins, new mother Bree Michaelson wakes up at home drugged, disoriented and confused about the scent of paint and bleach overwhelming her senses. Nauseous and unsteady, she naturally fears for her […]

Continue Reading

Chasing Shadows, an Irresistible Espionage Thriller by Matt Stokes

The Bottom Line: A smartly crafted espionage thriller featuring a compelling hero and an irresistible global conspiracy. In the novella’s bewitching opening chapter, a disoriented former soldier wakes in a D.C. hotel. Despite a nagging sensation that something is awry, he goes willingly to the British Ambassador’s residence while a so-called doctor gives him directions […]

Continue Reading

Bloodlaw, a Clever and Compelling Vampire Romance Thriller

The Bottom Line: Blaise Ramsay breathes new life into the vampire romance genre with this clever, atmospheric paranormal crime thriller set in 1920s Chicago. Fans of both Annie Rice and Stephanie Meyer may love Bloodlaw. Bloodlaw opens as assistant district attorney Alastair Maddox awakens in the woods near Lake Michigan. It’s the 1920s, and prohibition […]

Continue Reading

The Lumbermill, a Compelling LA Noir Crime Novel by Laya V Smith

The Bottom Line: This tasty 1950s L.A. noir crime novel goes down smoother than an Old Fashioned. Highly recommended. Start with an intriguing balance of icy underworld, a down-on-his luck detective and his bitter past. Add tart and zesty characters that you can’t help but root for from the get-go, and stir vigorously. Veteran fighter […]

Continue Reading

Trading Secrets, an Absolute Page Turner by Rachael Eckles

The Bottom Line: A stylish, fierce, globetrotting crime thriller that fans of Janelle Brown and Kimberly McCreight will fall for. Finance executive Celeste Donovan can have most anyone and anything she wants within reason. But behind the facade lies a history of domestic abuse, financial crime and a trail of anonymous lovers. A war with […]

Continue Reading

The Entitled, a Mesmerizing Murder Mystery by Nancy Boyarsky

The Bottom Line: A mesmerizing murder mystery that is impossible to put down. Just weeks into Abigail Fletcher’s study abroad program at King’s College in London, her parents want the 17-year-old high school senior back in Los Angeles. Private investigator Nicole Graves is sent to escort her home. But why? Almost immediately after meeting Abigail, […]

Continue Reading

Operation Sandstorm, a Riveting Terrorism Thriller by G.J. Rayner & E.M. Rayner

The Bottom Line: An action-packed tale of money, war and extremism that threatens the world as we know it. Operation Sandstorm pits the wealth, vision and egos of two sprawling tycoons against each other. Representing the West both geographically and metaphorically is Cyrus L. Livingston, CEO & President of Livingston Tec. Livingston is invested in […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes