Mishka Rao

When You Leave Me, an Irresistible Small Town Murder Mystery by Susan Wingate

The Bottom Line: An intense, irresistible small town murder mystery that crackles with twists.  When You Leave Me dangles its delicious first clue in the opening sentence: a shoe containing a human foot, one of several that have washed ashore on the San Juan Islands over the past year. Does it belong to Larry Michaels, whose footless body was found months earlier?  Susan Wingate’s fifth Friday Harbor novel – which …

When You Leave Me, an Irresistible Small Town Murder Mystery by Susan Wingate READ MORE >

Just Underneath, an Enthralling Collection of Sci-Fi and Horror by Jason Palmer

The Bottom Line: Jason Palmer’s potent, enthralling shots of sci-fi and horror prove the short story format is what the world needs right now.  In the tradition of versatile literary icons Dean Koontz and Stephen King, novelist Jason Palmer has proven equally successful when tackling sci-fi and horror – such as in Thrash, his superb superhero thriller – or in an urban crime setting, such …

Just Underneath, an Enthralling Collection of Sci-Fi and Horror by Jason Palmer READ MORE >

Woman Over the Edge, a Smoldering Small Town Romantic Suspense Thriller

The Bottom Line: A provocative, smoldering small town romantic suspense thriller that fans of Big Little Lies will love. Each summer, high school sisters Bella and Mia Hughes work in their family’s lakeside resort in Minnesota. After hours, they spend their time hanging out with a close circle of friends and flirting with boys on the lake. But their idyllic summer existence comes to an …

Woman Over the Edge, a Smoldering Small Town Romantic Suspense Thriller READ MORE >

Gag Me, a Must-Read Whodunnit by Susan Wingate

The Bottom Line: A must-read whodunnit that is fresh, funny and truly innovative. Gag Me transports readers into the fragile psyche of a small-town waitress whose best friend, Winsey, is murdered. She works at a diner in tiny Friday Harbor, Washington, and had the misfortune of being the last person seen with Winsey. As such, she’s called in for questioning, and soon after, taken to …

Gag Me, a Must-Read Whodunnit by Susan Wingate READ MORE >

Eyewitness, a Captivating Psychological Thriller by T.R. Folsom

The Bottom Line: A winning blend of psychological thriller and sci-fi that is simultaneously captivating, eerie and moving. Fifteen years after a car accident destroyed her eyesight and her family, 30-year-old Emily Warner regains her vision through a miraculous cornea transplant. It’s actually her second procedure. The first was a failure, and not just because her body rejected the donation. Shortly after the operation, Emily …

Eyewitness, a Captivating Psychological Thriller by T.R. Folsom READ MORE >

The Pine Barrens Stratagem, a Smoldering and Timely Crime Thriller by Ken Harris

The Bottom Line: A contemporary crime thriller that works on every level, from the smoldering investigation to the whipsaw banter between characters you’re bound to love. Ken Harris’ The Pine Barrens Stratagem centers around Steve Rockfish, a private detective hit so hard by the COVID-19 pandemic that he’s on the verge of losing everything. Creditors are even threatening to repossess his car, a 2015 Dodge …

The Pine Barrens Stratagem, a Smoldering and Timely Crime Thriller by Ken Harris READ MORE >

The Doomsday Medallion, a Bewitching Political Thriller by Avanti Centrae

The Bottom Line: An epic and bewitching mashup of historical suspense and political thriller. Perfect for fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins. Sixteenth-century French prophet Nostradamus is said to have predicted the Great Fire of London, the French Revolution, the rises of Napoleon and Adolf Hitler and both world wars. In Avanti Centrae’s The Doomsday Medallion, we learn that Nostradamus may have used a …

The Doomsday Medallion, a Bewitching Political Thriller by Avanti Centrae READ MORE >

Daemon Blood, a High-Stakes Fantasy Thriller by Mary Maddox

The Bottom Line: Fantasy thriller fans will be quickly possessed by the high-stakes, psychic battle unleashed in this otherworldly third series installment.   The third installment in Mary Maddox’s Daemon World series finds a war on the horizon. Daemon seer Lu Darlington is desperate to save herself, her son and her dearest friend, Lisa. Bound to the daemon Talion through ritual, blood and a son, Lu finds …

Daemon Blood, a High-Stakes Fantasy Thriller by Mary Maddox READ MORE >

Ark of the Apocalypse, a Cinematic Sci-Fi Epic by Tobin Marks

The Bottom Line: A buzzworthy sci-fi epic that sprawls cinematically across timelines and solar systems. Highly recommended. Tobin Marks’ Ark of the Apocalypse begins on 1930s-era Earth as a metallurgist braves genocide and impending war to acquire red amber from the Baltic Sea and green amber from Norway. He smuggles the material into Russia, where he eventually creates two medallions (“dragon eyes”) which he fits …

Ark of the Apocalypse, a Cinematic Sci-Fi Epic by Tobin Marks READ MORE >

Scroll to Top