Author Archive | Mishka Rao

Desperate Paths, a First-Rate Crime Thriller by E.C. Diskin

The Bottom Line: A masterfully crafted murder mystery that spins a small town’s dark secrets about family, faith and racial tensions into pure gold. Within a week of returning to her hometown to care for her father, struggling actress Brooklyn Anderson finds herself at the epicenter of two brutal crimes. Just hours before her arrival, […]

Continue Reading

Project Purple, a Dystopian Page-Turner by Michael Greco

The Bottom Line: The Hunger Games meets Survivor. Equal parts dystopian thriller and satire, Project Purple is a truly memorable page-turner. For a tidy sum of cash as well as the promise of bonuses and fame, 13 wildly diverse people agree to recreate a colonial experience as it was in the early 1600s, and have […]

Continue Reading

The Disappeared, an Evocative Thriller by Sibel Hodge

The Bottom Line: Lush and evocative. The perfect introduction to Sibel Hodge, one of the decade’s most dynamic literary talents. Set in the fictional West African country of Narumbe (you thought I was going to say Wakanda, didn’t you?), author Sibel Hodge delivers a taut thriller that could be a bonafide blockbuster. While Hodge commits the […]

Continue Reading

SILKWORM, a Highly Recommended Spy Thriller by Kevin Land Patrick

The Bottom Line: A first-class conspiracy thriller with the highest possible stakes. Fans of Brad Meltzer and Mark Greaney will fall hard for Kevin Land Patrick. SILKWORM finds America still recovering from debilitating attacks on its water and electricity infrastructure, which resulted in thousands of deaths and a lingering radioactive zone in the southwest. Nearly […]

Continue Reading

Nine Perfect Strangers, a Hilarious New Mystery by Liane Moriarty

The Bottom Line: Fans of Big Little Lies are already on board with this lighthearted mystery, and you should be too. Nine people gather at a remote health resort. Some are here to lose weight, some are here to get a reboot on life, some are here for reasons they can’t even admit to themselves. Amidst all […]

Continue Reading

Elevation, a New Paranormal Thriller by Stephen King

The Bottom Line: Short, surprisingly sweet, and shockingly profound. In Castle Rock – the fictional Northeast setting for many of King’s stories – a web designer confides in a retired doctor friend that he is losing weight. He’s not on a diet, nor is he really exercising. The weight is just coming off at a […]

Continue Reading
James Swain

The King Tides, a Gripping Crime Thriller by James Swain

The Bottom Line: A delicious book about vigilante justice that will surprise you at every turn. Most of us never have to deal with even a single stalker. What if you had a seemingly endless string of them? In the first book in James Swain’s Lancaster & Daniels series, Nicki Pearl is the perfect daughter. […]

Continue Reading

Seeker, an Exceptional Sci-Fi Thriller by Douglas E. Richards

The Bottom Line: A return to form for one of science fiction’s most important voices. When a UFO lands in the heart of the Amazon Jungle, powerful nations around the world will unite to communicate with the aliens, right? Wrong. They’ll be even more ruthless than usual, stopping at nothing to retrieve it. Because the […]

Continue Reading

The Death of Vultures, a Dark Psychological Thriller by Susan Wingate

The Bottom Line: This grim mystery about guilt, loss and the dark allure of vigilante justice is unlike anything you’ve read this year. Set on an island in the rural Pacific Northwest, Susan Wingate’s The Death of Vultures tells the story of a heartbroken middle-aged woman, Meg Storm, and her struggle to come to grips […]

Continue Reading

Katarina the Killer, an Infectious Erotic Horror Novel by Trent St. Germain

The Bottom Line: An infectious, salacious and highly entertaining erotic horror novel set in the deep south. The sequel to Trent St. Germain’s chilling erotic horror novel The Incubus and the Others opens in 1821 Louisiana, as Ten Points Plantation resident Ted Ogden is ambushed by a vampire. After transforming Ted into a hybrid – […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes