Paranormal Thriller Books

The best paranormal thriller book reviews. Paranormal thrillers, a subgenre or horror, typically involves the presence of evil, hauntings, sinister spirits or dark magic.

Ancient Dreams, a Miraculous and Magical Witch Tale by JP Roth

The Bottom Line: A heady potion of pure magic awaits readers of this modern-day witch tale. What do you do when you’re the daughter of witches, but all you want is to be normal? Literature student Cara Wynter has inherited the gift of psychometry, a form of extra sensory perception which allows her to touch an object and not only know its provenance, but the …

Ancient Dreams, a Miraculous and Magical Witch Tale by JP Roth READ MORE >

Oak Hollow, a Harrowing Horror Novel by Dan McDowell

The Bottom Line: Harrowing hotel horrors continue in this satisfying follow-up to Level Zero. The second entry in Dan McDowell’s Nightmare in Riverton series begins as Nancy Helbens Richards and her husband, Ron, quibble about money and appear to be on the brink of divorce. But those problems pale in comparison to external forces. First, photos of Nancy are inexplicably strewn about with vulgarities and …

Oak Hollow, a Harrowing Horror Novel by Dan McDowell READ MORE >

List of the best Stephen King Books

The Best Stephen King Audiobooks Ranked In Order (Updated for 2022!)

Newly updated to include King’s newest novel, Billy Summers! The reigning master of suspense is the author of more than 50 books and audiobooks, all of which have been international bestsellers, and many have been translated to the screen. The names are instantly recognizable:  It. Pet Cemetery. Misery. Thinner. All instant classics, and yet King’s craft seems to sweeten with age, with King still churning out some …

The Best Stephen King Audiobooks Ranked In Order (Updated for 2022!) READ MORE >

Where the Briars Sleep, a Terrifying Gothic Horror Novel by Emma Beavan

The Bottom Line: Jane Eyre meets The Haunting of Hill House. A terrifying gothic horror novel that readers won’t soon forget. Set in the early 1800s, author Emma Beavan delivers a deliciously twisted tale of three sisters and the family secrets that threaten to haunt them all. After the passing of their stepsister, Sarah, sisters Rose and Maggie are happy to be back at their estate and returning …

Where the Briars Sleep, a Terrifying Gothic Horror Novel by Emma Beavan READ MORE >

The Devil and the Dark Water, an Unforgettable Historical Thriller by Stuart Turton

The Bottom Line: A highly visceral and engaging whodunnit set in the 1600s. Samuel Pipps, the world’s greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be executed. Traveling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent. En route to boarding the ship, Pipps is pelted with stones by a jeering crowd. The chaos is interrupted by the …

The Devil and the Dark Water, an Unforgettable Historical Thriller by Stuart Turton READ MORE >

Authors like Dan Brown

Authors Like Dan Brown You Haven’t Read Yet

Great news for Dan Brown fans: Peacock is developing a series based on Dan Brown’s iconic Robert Langdon character. Expect renewed interest in both the Langdon novels and Dan Brown’s impressive catalog. Yes, there’s a lot more to Dan Brown than his Robert Langdon series. But when people think of Brown, they naturally think of his signature Vatican thrillers as well as those that deal …

Authors Like Dan Brown You Haven’t Read Yet READ MORE >

Later, a Remarkable Paranormal Thriller by Stephen King

The Bottom Line: King has written about kids who see dead people before, but never quite like this. With The Shining and select other stories, Stephen King practically invented what is now a subgenre of the paranormal thriller category centered around children’s ability to see dead people. In Later, he delivers a fresh take on the concept with a novel that manages to be suspenseful, …

Later, a Remarkable Paranormal Thriller by Stephen King READ MORE >

Bloodlaw, a Clever and Compelling Vampire Romance Thriller

The Bottom Line: Blaise Ramsay breathes new life into the vampire romance genre with this clever, atmospheric paranormal crime thriller set in 1920s Chicago. Fans of both Annie Rice and Stephanie Meyer may love Bloodlaw. Bloodlaw opens as assistant district attorney Alastair Maddox awakens in the woods near Lake Michigan. It’s the 1920s, and prohibition is the law of the land. Fearing he may have …

Bloodlaw, a Clever and Compelling Vampire Romance Thriller READ MORE >

Midnight Sun, a new Twilight Thriller by Stephenie Meyer

The Bottom Line: Meyer delivers a winner that will broaden her already massive fan base. Years after Stephanie Meyer published the last Twilight series book, she returns with Midnight Sun, where everything old is new again. For the uninitiated, the Twilight series tells the story of Bella Swan’s precarious journey into a world of mostly teen vampires and werewolves. Set in a soggy, mysterious small …

Midnight Sun, a new Twilight Thriller by Stephenie Meyer READ MORE >

Grey Daze, a Must-Read Psychic Detective Novel

The Bottom Line: Lush, evocative and gritty, Grey Daze is the gold standard for psychic detective novels. Psychic detective Lance Underphal has a long history of putting criminals behind bars in the great state of Arizona. But in Michael Allan Scott’s third series book, Grey Daze, his psychic abilities may be the very thing that puts him in the slammer. Years after his wife’s tragic death in a car accident, …

Grey Daze, a Must-Read Psychic Detective Novel READ MORE >

Scroll to Top