Mystery Book Reviews

The best mystery book reviews. Mysteries are typically crime stories in which readers follows a detective or amateur sleuth attempting to solve a criminal puzzle. Compared with “crime thrillers,” mysteries often feature less graphic violence and shocking subject matter.

The Housemaid’s Secret, a Twisty Crime Thriller by Freida McFadden

The Bottom Line: Filled with jaw-dropping shockers, The Housemaid’s Secret is a must-read. As housemaid Millie struggles to find gainful employment without being questioned about her murky past, she feels fortunate when the affluent Garrick family hires her to clean their luxurious penthouse and prepare sumptuous meals in their shiny kitchen. It seems like the perfect job for Millie, who plans to keep a low […]

The Housemaid’s Secret, a Twisty Crime Thriller by Freida McFadden READ MORE >

Verity Easton, a Magical & Absorbing Murder Mystery by M. Rebecca Wildsmith

The Bottom Line: Lucy Foley fans will fall hard for ’s magical and absorbing new murder mystery, Verity Easton.   Set in the 1930s, opens aboard a steamer ship sailing turbulent seas near the coast of Malta. Thirteen-year-old Verity is accompanying her father, a professor at the British Museum, who is tasked with finding the ancient resting place of ancient Egyptian queen Nefertiti. Making the trip

Verity Easton, a Magical & Absorbing Murder Mystery by M. Rebecca Wildsmith READ MORE >

The Best Female Detective Books, Ranked (Updated!)

We love great detectives, no matter who they are and where they hail from. But at times, we crave the point of view and approach to casework that only a female detective can bring. The canon of great female literary sleuths include those from a wide variety of countries, eras and ethnicities. However, thrillers featuring female sleuths are still a little harder to find, which

The Best Female Detective Books, Ranked (Updated!) READ MORE >

River of Wrath, an Epic Coming of Age Thriller by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor

The Bottom Line: The dynamic duo of Weis and Astor make magic together. A rising body count, a dark pact among unlikely friends and a wholly evocative world propel this small town mystery to epic heights. Highly recommended. Until three unsolved murders rocked tiny St. Benedict, Louisiana, the town hadn’t had a single murder since 1942. As River of Wrath opens, local sheriff Kent Davis

River of Wrath, an Epic Coming of Age Thriller by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor READ MORE >

The Fear of Winter, an Emotionally Resonant Thriller by S.C. Sterling

The Bottom Line: For fans of The Girl in Cabin 13, The Fear of Winter is an emotionally resonant, atmospheric thriller that simmers with a highly memorable investigation en route to an unforgettable crescendo.  Grand County, Colorado, consists of 1800 square miles of sprawling mountainous terrain. At any time, there are at least two dozen missing people in the county. Most are hikers or skiers.

The Fear of Winter, an Emotionally Resonant Thriller by S.C. Sterling READ MORE >

Azabu Getaway, The Year’s Best Crime Thriller by Michael Pronko

The Bottom Line: Detective Hiroshi has never been more entertaining in this electrifying crime thriller featuring some truly ingenious financial crimes.  When American wealth manager Patrick Walsh returns to his Tokyo apartment and keys in his passcode, he’s surprised to find that it still works. For those unfamiliar with Tokyo, Azabu is known as one of Tokyo’s most expensive residential districts. When Walsh’s ex-wife Miyuki

Azabu Getaway, The Year’s Best Crime Thriller by Michael Pronko READ MORE >

Huron Breeze, The Year’s Best Mystery

The Bottom Line: The Year’s Best MysteryTen years ago, legendary author Riley Cannon produced three of the best-selling thriller novels of all-time. Then, she vanished, leaving the final three books of the saga unfinished and producing the biggest mystery in the history of publishing. Now, a decade later, there is word from her mega-agent, the glamorous and powerful Topaz Kennedy, that a new Cannon novel

Huron Breeze, The Year’s Best Mystery READ MORE >

Our Book of the Year is Girl Missing by Kate Gable

The Bottom Line: Kate Gable’s ingeniously crafted Girl Missing is the BestThrillers.com Book of the Year and deserves a spot at the very top of your reading list. When her 13-year-old sister vanishes on her way back from a friend’s house, Detective Kaitlyn Carr must confront demons from her own past in order to bring her sister home. The small mountain town of Big Bear Lake

Our Book of the Year is Girl Missing by Kate Gable READ MORE >

Blaze In, Blaze Out – The Year’s Best Crime Thriller

The Bottom Line: The year’s best crime thriller (Winner, The BestThrillers.com Book Awards). A superb crime drama simmering with suspense and deep character studies en route to an explosive finale. Joseph Lewis’ latest novel tells the story of two lawmen who find themselves hunted by killers loyal to an Ukranian kingpin. The book opens in Chicago’s Cook County Criminal Court, as a jury finds Dmitry Andruko

Blaze In, Blaze Out – The Year’s Best Crime Thriller READ MORE >

Trust, a Delicious New Whodunnit by Lee Chappel

The Bottom Line: A delicious whodunnit that establishes Lee Chappel’s style as both instantly recognizable and irresistible. You might have guessed that the title of Lee Chappel’s second thriller, Trust, is ironic. But only the most clever readers will guess who the killer is before Chappel’s detective, Ben Keeler, figures it out.  Trust tells the story of Beth Sullivan, who engages in what can only

Trust, a Delicious New Whodunnit by Lee Chappel READ MORE >

Scroll to Top