Political Thriller Books

The best political thriller book reviews. Political thriller is a broad term that may include espionage, political conspiracies, the assassination of political leaders and other sinister tactics that have high-stakes consequences for governments and civilizations.

Brad Thor

10 Authors Like Brad Thor

Since the debut of his first novel in 2002, Brad Thor has become the gold standard for fans of military fiction, terrorism thrillers and political thrillers. But what happens when ravenous fans polish off Thor’s terrific back catalogue? I’m often asked by our readers: what are the best writers like Brad Thor? Brad Thor novels combine political intrigue, espionage, and compelling narratives with complex moral …

10 Authors Like Brad Thor READ MORE >

90 Days, a Believable & Fast-Paced Spy Thriller by W. Michael Hewitt

The Bottom Line: A believable, fast-paced thriller about an imminent nuclear threat that is perfect for fans of Marc Greaney and Tom Clancy. U.S. Department of Energy special agent Dr. Essie Openwaters is running out of time. Weapons grade plutonium stolen from the Department of Energy’s Savannah River site in South Carolina, and chatter from the National Security Agency has picked up a potential electromagnetic pulse …

90 Days, a Believable & Fast-Paced Spy Thriller by W. Michael Hewitt READ MORE >

Blood Before Dawn

BLOOD BEFORE DAWN, The Year’s Best Historical Thriller

The Bottom Line: The year’s best historical thriller (Winner, The BestThrillers.com Book Awards). April 1979: Ken Verrier and his wife, Sam return to Liberia only to buy diamonds, but they get caught up in a bloody rice riot and a coup d’état. Ken witnesses and unwittingly participates in a period of Liberia’s tumultuous yet poorly documented history—the overthrow of the Tolbert presidency that ultimately ends …

BLOOD BEFORE DAWN, The Year’s Best Historical Thriller READ MORE >

Best psychological thriller of 2022 - ashes in venice

Ashes in Venice, The Year’s Best Psychological Thriller

The Bottom Line: Unpredictable, brilliantly crafted and deliriously unhinged, we can’t get enough of Ashes in Venice, and you won’t either. Gojan Nikolich’s Ashes in Venice is many things, among them revenge thriller, police procedural and darkly comic commentary on the state of criminal justice. The novel begins with a murder scene strongly reminiscent of Dexter. Based on the precision with which he dispenses his …

Ashes in Venice, The Year’s Best Psychological Thriller READ MORE >

The Memory Seeker, an Astonishing Historical Thriller by Ronald Niezen

The Bottom Line: An astonishing debut novel that establishes Ronald Niezen as one of the most exciting new voices in historical fiction. Peter Dekker, fresh off a fellowship at Cambridge, takes a job as an investigator for the International Criminal Court in The Hague. A trained anthropologist with Dutch-Canadian ancestry, Peter learns that he’ll be assigned to the civil war in Mali. It’s a truly …

The Memory Seeker, an Astonishing Historical Thriller by Ronald Niezen READ MORE >

EXILE ENDGAME, an Intoxicating Spy Thriller by Preston Fleming

The Bottom Line: An intoxicating and frighteningly believable spy caper set in the near future.  The hotly anticipated sequel to Preston Fleming’s EXILE HUNTER begins in 2034 Washington D.C., as renegade State Security Officer Warren Linder is in custody. He’s been convicted of treason, insurrection, seditious conspiracy, murder and more. He’s already been sentenced to death not once, but twice.  Unionist Party General Secretary Paul …

EXILE ENDGAME, an Intoxicating Spy Thriller by Preston Fleming READ MORE >

Maskirovka, a Well-Researched and Poignant Spy Thriller by Richard Meredith

The Bottom Line: One of the more realistic spy thrillers in recent memory, Maskirovka employs patient, meticulous storytelling that should earn Richard Meredith a loyal following.  Maskirovka is a sprawling, complex spy thriller – but it doesn’t start that way. Author Richard Meredith Maskirovka begins the novel as a quiet police procedural that follows San Francisco Homicide Detective Steve Nguyen as he looks into the death …

Maskirovka, a Well-Researched and Poignant Spy Thriller by Richard Meredith READ MORE >

KGB Banker, The Year’s Best Conspiracy Thriller

The Bottom Line: The year’s best conspiracy thriller (Winner, The BestThrillers.com Book Awards). A bewitching cocktail of financial fraud, international corruption and globetrotting action that – thanks to ample doses of Eastern bloc geopolitics – is also timely. This must-read thriller is guaranteed to raise your blood pressure in all the best ways.   Chicago-based financial executive Robert Vanags might be too principled for his own …

KGB Banker, The Year’s Best Conspiracy Thriller READ MORE >

Blood Brothers, an Expertly Wrought Political Thriller by Sebati Edward Mafate

The Bottom Line: An expertly wrought political thriller that grabs immediately and demands attention. Highly recommended.  Blood Brothers is about many things, including organized crime, conservation, politics, immigration and more. At its core, it’s an engrossing tale of two sets of adult brothers. The book’s heroes are Sasha and Dumi McDaniels. Sasha is white, and Dumi, who is his adopted brother, is black. Their parents …

Blood Brothers, an Expertly Wrought Political Thriller by Sebati Edward Mafate READ MORE >

Muir’s Gambit, a Must-Read Spy Game Prequel by Michael Frost Beckner

The Bottom Line: Spy Game screenwriter Michael Frost Beckner resurrects timeless Cold War tradecraft in a new must-read series. Muir’s Gambit, a prequel to the classic espionage film Spy Games starring Robert Redford and Brad Pitt, is set 48 hours prior to the original. The book returns familiar characters Nathan Muir and Tom Bishop, and introduces a new protagonist, CIA attorney Russell Aiken. Once Muir’s protégé, Aiken is still stinging from being cast aside …

Muir’s Gambit, a Must-Read Spy Game Prequel by Michael Frost Beckner READ MORE >

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top