Political Thriller Books

The best political thriller book reviews. Political thriller is a broad term that may include espionage, political conspiracies, the assassination of political leaders and other sinister tactics that have high-stakes consequences for governments and civilizations.

Divided States, a Must-Read Political Thriller by Rick Treon

The Bottom Line: A must-read political thriller with a bad-ass heroine at the helm. It’s New Year’s Eve in post-secession America, and former detective Lori Young is in New Orleans’ French Quarter. But instead of enjoying confetti and fireworks, she takes a bullet from an unknown assailant. Spotting the shooter in the crowd, Lori summons all her strength amid the pandemonium to help take him down. But that’s just …

Divided States, a Must-Read Political Thriller by Rick Treon READ MORE >

The Export’s Revenge, a Highly Recommended Action Thriller by J.K. Kelly

The Bottom Line: A first-rate action thriller that manages to be highly personal while delivering regular doses of ferocious action. Export’s Revenge opens on a luxury yacht off the coast of Thailand where series hero Matt Christopher, aka “the export,” has been hired to provide security. Despite partnering with Sam Norton, Matt is forced to single handedly kill three pirates. He’s not completely surprised. Sam’s …

The Export’s Revenge, a Highly Recommended Action Thriller by J.K. Kelly READ MORE >

Operation Caliph, a Gripping Terrorism Thriller

The Bottom Line: Operation Caliph breathes new life into the post-9/11 terrorism thriller genre. Gripping from beginning to end. The third book in G.J. Rayner & E.M. Rayner’s 9/11-era-themed series opens during a July 4th celebration in 2002, where a terror attack claims at least 25 lives and wounds over 100. Ibrahim Haddad, and his lover, Inga Doudin were responsible for the assault, and OMICRON, …

Operation Caliph, a Gripping Terrorism Thriller READ MORE >

Kill Shot book cover by Vince Flynn

Ranking The Best of Vince Flynn’s Mitch Rapp Books

Vince Flynn ushered in his counter-terrorism hero, Mitch Rapp, in the late 1990s and never looked back. His Mitch Rapp political thrillers are reliable best-sellers, and even after Flynn died far too young at age 47, the series continues through author Kyle Mills, who has done incredibly well with big shoes to fill. The Rapp character was finally brought to big screen in 2017 with …

Ranking The Best of Vince Flynn’s Mitch Rapp Books READ MORE >

Beyond Revelation, a Bold Political Thriller by John Hazen

The Bottom Line: Hazen cooks up one of his most compelling conspiracies yet in this fast-paced series entry. The third book in John Hazen’s Vega Series finds the intrepid TV news anchor Francine Vega in a new role. She’s now CEO of Westbrook Broadcasting Corporation, which is just three months old. As the novel opens, her family is away at Disney World as Francine is …

Beyond Revelation, a Bold Political Thriller by John Hazen READ MORE >

Killing Mercury, a Hard-Hitting Military Thriller by Anderson Harp

The Bottom Line:  A hard-hitting, immersive military thriller filled with satisfying character arcs and vivid tableaus of exotic destinations. Highly recommended. Decorated Marine William Parker is catapulted back into action when a high-value al-Qaeda ringleader purportedly killed by the U.S. decides to enact revenge for the drone strike that targeted him and killed his wife and young daughter. His aim: Capture and kill the outgoing …

Killing Mercury, a Hard-Hitting Military Thriller by Anderson Harp READ MORE >

The Wall, a Timely Political Thriller by Tetsuo Ted Takashima

The Bottom Line: A well-timed political thriller that has much to say about nation-building and the global refugee crisis. The Wall begins with a standoff between a so-called migrant caravan from Cordova, a fictional central American country, and the U.S. military. Caught in the middle is war hero Captain Jadon Green, who has the misfortune of commanding the border troops tasked with thwarting a particularly …

The Wall, a Timely Political Thriller by Tetsuo Ted Takashima READ MORE >

Operation Sandstorm, a Riveting Terrorism Thriller by G.J. Rayner & E.M. Rayner

The Bottom Line: An action-packed tale of money, war and extremism that threatens the world as we know it. Operation Sandstorm pits the wealth, vision and egos of two sprawling tycoons against each other. Representing the West both geographically and metaphorically is Cyrus L. Livingston, CEO & President of Livingston Tec. Livingston is invested in more industries than most people have shoes. Meanwhile, out of …

Operation Sandstorm, a Riveting Terrorism Thriller by G.J. Rayner & E.M. Rayner READ MORE >

Root and Branch, a Must-Read Political Thriller by Preston Fleming

The Bottom Line: A relentlessly entertaining, sophisticated and intelligent political thriller that is a must-read for fans of Ken Follett, Robert Harris and Daniel Silva. Preston Fleming’s new political thriller imagines an unprecedented global holy war between the Islamic world and the United States. After an electromagnetic pulse attack (EMP) destroys a third of America’s electrical grid, the U.S. responds with tactical nuclear weapons on …

Root and Branch, a Must-Read Political Thriller by Preston Fleming READ MORE >

Blood of the Assassin, an Explosive Assassination Thriller by Bill Brewer

The Bottom Line: An explosive, globetrotting adventure that will thrill fans of John Wick. The follow-up to Bill Brewer’s unforgettable origin story Dawn of the Assassin does not disappoint. After proving to be an incredibly improvisational and creative killer, David Diegert has now completed training for Crepusculous, a secret society that controls the economy. For his first official mission, he’s paired with his trainer, lethal …

Blood of the Assassin, an Explosive Assassination Thriller by Bill Brewer READ MORE >

Scroll to Top