Military Thriller Books

The best military thriller book reviews. Military thrillers are action-oriented stories featuring military tactics and hardware, and include a variety of subgrenes, including terrorism thrillers, assassination thrillers and battle fiction.

One Kingdom Under Heaven, a First-Rate Military Thriller by Alastair Luft

The Bottom Line: A first-rate military thriller that dares to imagine a war between China and the United States in vivid, mesmerizing and highly personal detail. One Kingdom Under Heaven opens as Chinese military leadership interrogates retired Navy Seal Malcolm Kwong, whose team of assassins infiltrated the Great Hall and murdered half the Politburo Standing Committee. Eleven months earlier, Kwong had been deep in the …

One Kingdom Under Heaven, a First-Rate Military Thriller by Alastair Luft READ MORE >

An Evil Trade, an Extraordinary Terrorism Thriller by Kenneth Eade

The Bottom Line: An extraordinary terrorism thriller that feels both timeless and urgent. As the fifth book in Kenneth Eade’s Paladine series opens, we find Assassin Robert Garcia at the Syrian border with Turkey. Having completed his mission to rescue Ayisha Cullen, an assassin who had infiltrated an ISIS refugee smuggling ring, he’s on his way back to his sailboat on the Aegean sea. But …

An Evil Trade, an Extraordinary Terrorism Thriller by Kenneth Eade READ MORE >

Killing Mercury, a Hard-Hitting Military Thriller by Anderson Harp

The Bottom Line:  A hard-hitting, immersive military thriller filled with satisfying character arcs and vivid tableaus of exotic destinations. Highly recommended. Decorated Marine William Parker is catapulted back into action when a high-value al-Qaeda ringleader purportedly killed by the U.S. decides to enact revenge for the drone strike that targeted him and killed his wife and young daughter. His aim: Capture and kill the outgoing …

Killing Mercury, a Hard-Hitting Military Thriller by Anderson Harp READ MORE >

Operation Sandstorm, a Riveting Terrorism Thriller by G.J. Rayner & E.M. Rayner

The Bottom Line: An action-packed tale of money, war and extremism that threatens the world as we know it. Operation Sandstorm pits the wealth, vision and egos of two sprawling tycoons against each other. Representing the West both geographically and metaphorically is Cyrus L. Livingston, CEO & President of Livingston Tec. Livingston is invested in more industries than most people have shoes. Meanwhile, out of …

Operation Sandstorm, a Riveting Terrorism Thriller by G.J. Rayner & E.M. Rayner READ MORE >

Root and Branch, a Must-Read Political Thriller by Preston Fleming

The Bottom Line: A relentlessly entertaining, sophisticated and intelligent political thriller that is a must-read for fans of Ken Follett, Robert Harris and Daniel Silva. Preston Fleming’s new political thriller imagines an unprecedented global holy war between the Islamic world and the United States. After an electromagnetic pulse attack (EMP) destroys a third of America’s electrical grid, the U.S. responds with tactical nuclear weapons on …

Root and Branch, a Must-Read Political Thriller by Preston Fleming READ MORE >

Wet Work, a Must-Read Assassination Thriller by Mark A. Hewitt

The Bottom Line: An explosive assassination thriller that is timely, believable and hugely entertaining. A must-read. In Mark. A Hewitt’s latest thriller, America finds its democracy threatened by a powerful group of Washington insiders that seek to control the presidency by any means necessary. When the current American president resigns in disgrace and the vice president commits a murder-suicide, Speaker of the House Javier Hernandez …

Wet Work, a Must-Read Assassination Thriller by Mark A. Hewitt READ MORE >

The Blue Pearl, an Explosive Terrorism Thriller by LJ Martin

The Bottom Line: A gloriously explosive counter-terrorism thriller on the high seas that injects a much-needed dose of fun back into the genre. Before pop star Simone Meyer boards The Blue Pearl for a six-week luxury cruise, her father, a famous Hollywood director, tells associates that he’s looking for a down-and-dirty bodyguard to accompany his daughter on the trip. He soon lands a meeting with Mike …

The Blue Pearl, an Explosive Terrorism Thriller by LJ Martin READ MORE >

Requiem For The Dead, an Electrifying Military Thriller by Victor M. Alvarez

The Bottom Line: An electrifying military thriller reminiscent of Mark Greaney and Brad Thor, with a plot worthy of a blockbuster movie. When a suspected CIA operative is captured by the North Korean government, the man’s father, an American General, repeatedly asks the White House to intervene. The White House does nothing, and the alleged spy endures daily torture for three years before dying in …

Requiem For The Dead, an Electrifying Military Thriller by Victor M. Alvarez READ MORE >

The Lost Pulse, an Addictive Military Thriller by J.K. Kelly

The Bottom Line: Fans of Douglas E. Richards’s blockbuster time travel novel Split Second will love The Lost Pulse. The Lost Pulse is an action-packed military thriller set in a dystopian future where Washington D.C., Beijing, Moscow and Rome are under attack by terrorists. A very special group of U.S. Marines has been handpicked to test a top secret time-traveling technology that enables them to …

The Lost Pulse, an Addictive Military Thriller by J.K. Kelly READ MORE >

Dawn of the Assassin, a Series-Worthy Assassination Thriller by Bill Brewer

The Bottom Line: A compelling origin story about an assassin who finds redemption through a life of violence. Assassins are made, not born. And yet despite countless novels dedicated to professional killers, true origin stories are rare. First-time novelist Bill Brewer delivers the goods in Dawn of the Assassin, a no-frills thriller about the making of a truly lethal asset. Convenience store employee David Diegert …

Dawn of the Assassin, a Series-Worthy Assassination Thriller by Bill Brewer READ MORE >

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top