Suspense Thriller Books

List of the best Stephen King Books

The Best Stephen King Audiobooks Ranked In Order (Updated!)

Newly updated to include King’s newest novel, The Institute! The reigning master of suspense is the author of more than 50 books and audiobooks, all of which have been international bestsellers. Carrie. It. Pet Cemetery. Misery. Thinner. All instant classics, and yet King’s craft seems to sweeten with age, with King still churning out some […]

Continue Reading

The Institute, a Terrifying New Stephen King Thriller

The Bottom Line: A psychic thriller that ranks among King’s best. Stephen King’s latest thriller The Institute is in no way a sequel to Dr. Sleep (which itself was a sequel to The Shining), but thematically speaking, it’s a close cousin. As in Dr. Sleep, villains with terrifying psychic powers are hell bent on leveraging […]

Continue Reading

Back Bay Murders, a Searing New Crime Thriller by Andrew Bonar

The Bottom Line: A memorable, bone-chilling crime thriller about the making of a serial killer and the intrepid private investigator determined to stop him.  When Boston private investigator Drew Law is hired to look into a suspicious drowning in the Charles River, he can’t find anything conclusive that would indicate murder. Months later, he returns […]

Continue Reading

The Best Female Detective Books

We love both great male and female detectives equally. However, thrillers featuring great female sleuths are still a little harder to find, which is why we decided to compile this list of truly great mysteries and thrillers featuring superstar female protagonists. In compiling this first version of our female detective list, our definition of “detective” […]

Continue Reading

Deep Background, a Home Run Political Thriller by Rick Treon

The Bottom Line: An intelligent, textured and taut thriller about political corruption through the lens of a disgraced journalist. Levi Cole had enjoyed a remarkable career as a journalist, rising from a small-town sportswriter to regular cable news contributor and charming political pundit. But he owed much of his success to an anonymous source that […]

Continue Reading

Outside Of Normal, an Engrossing Crime Thriller by James Shay

The Bottom Line: Fans of serial killer fiction will find plenty of diabolical suspense in this engrossing thriller. Tailor-made for fans of Jo Nesbo and John Sandford. Somewhere in a corrugated metal shed, Washington University grad student Dina Levins wakes up from a chemically induced sleep. She recalls the horror of being taken from her […]

Continue Reading

Elevation, a New Paranormal Thriller by Stephen King

The Bottom Line: Short, surprisingly sweet, and shockingly profound. In Castle Rock – the fictional Northeast setting for many of King’s stories – a web designer confides in a retired doctor friend that he is losing weight. He’s not on a diet, nor is he really exercising. The weight is just coming off at a […]

Continue Reading
James Swain

The King Tides, a Gripping Crime Thriller by James Swain

The Bottom Line: A delicious book about vigilante justice that will surprise you at every turn. Most of us never have to deal with even a single stalker. What if you had a seemingly endless string of them? In the first book in James Swain’s Lancaster & Daniels series, Nicki Pearl is the perfect daughter. […]

Continue Reading

The Reckoning, a New Legal Thriller by John Grisham

The Bottom Line: One of Grisham’s finest. The release of a new John Grisham book is like an annual holiday – reliable, full of intense strife, and in the end, sheer pleasure that you look forward to repeating.  As usual, Grisham embraces his trademark southern gothic style here, packing the book with just enough courtroom […]

Continue Reading

The Crooked Staircase: A Jane Hawk Novel by Dean Koontz

The Bottom Line: Koontz lives up to his reputation as one of the most reliable crime thriller novelists of our time. In Koontz’s latest outing, his fierce heroine Jane Hawk picks up right where she left off in The Whispering Room. That’s great news for Koontz completionists, but this won’t be a great entry point for anyone […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes