Action Thriller Books

The best action thriller book reviews. Action thrillers feature extensive fight scenes, battle scenarios or high-intensity adventure.

The Return, a Visionary Metaphysical Thriller by Anna M. Elias

The Bottom Line: An intensely imaginative, evocative and visionary work of metaphysical fiction.  As the third book in The Vessels series opens, former Pittsburgh detective Tal Davis grieves her former partner Jake and recalls what it was like to be alive before she became a spirit. “Even eternity took a minute to get used to,” she muses just before transporting to a place where she can see and hear […]

The Return, a Visionary Metaphysical Thriller by Anna M. Elias READ MORE >

The Dead Don’t Sleep, a Perfectly Crafted Revenge Thriller by Steven Max Russo

The Bottom Line: A perfectly crafted revenge thriller about an aging soldier who refuses to go quietly into the night. Fans of Thomas Perry’s The Old Man will love The Dead Don’t Sleep.  Decades after serving in Vietnam, the war has returned to Frank Thompson. As part of a joint CIA-special operations unit, Frank carried out lethal missions in enemy villages that he would like

The Dead Don’t Sleep, a Perfectly Crafted Revenge Thriller by Steven Max Russo READ MORE >

Sea of Red, a Powerhouse Military Thriller by James Bultema

The Bottom Line: A timely, powerhouse military thriller with the highest possible stakes, Sea of Red reads like future history. Highly recommended. Sea of Red opens in the South China Sea weeks after the Chinese military downed a Malaysian drone. As the United States Navy and Royal Malaysian Navy conduct joint military exercises, a Chinese destroyer appears and refuses to yield to their warnings. Soon,

Sea of Red, a Powerhouse Military Thriller by James Bultema READ MORE >

Justifiable Deceit, a Highly Recommended Conspiracy Thriller by Mikael Carlson

The Bottom Line: A chilling conspiracy thriller that dares to explore some of society’s most divisive moral questions. Highly recommended.   Told from alternating points of view, Justifiable Deceit begins as teenager Tierra Campos describes a deadly school shooting in which his own demise seems inevitable. A decade later, Campos is a journalist who has just landed her first big interview. Her subject? Ethan Harrington, a fellow school shooting

Justifiable Deceit, a Highly Recommended Conspiracy Thriller by Mikael Carlson READ MORE >

The Consular Official, a Jaw-Dropping FBI Thriller by Bill King

The Bottom Line: A gritty FBI Thriller with jaw-dropping twists. King’s portrayal of the convoluted world of cross-border criminality, politics and business feels completely fresh.  The Consular Official opens in Houston, Texas, as 23-year-old Juan Carlos Alonso – known as Pepe – leaves his office at the Mexican Consulate early to spend the weekend with new girlfriend, Suzy. But Suzy isn’t who Pepe thinks she

The Consular Official, a Jaw-Dropping FBI Thriller by Bill King READ MORE >

Stable, a Harrowing Rescue Thriller by Cam Torrens

The Bottom Line: A harrowing rescue thriller with a truly magnetic hero at its core. In Cam Torrens’ debut novel, nine-year-old Janae is visiting her aunt and uncles’ rural home in the Colorado Rockies when she’s mistaken for a girl named Kendall. She’s abducted, hooded and driven to a secluded barn – a place known as “the stable” – where a man known as Jefe markets

Stable, a Harrowing Rescue Thriller by Cam Torrens READ MORE >

The Coin, a Fast-Paced Metaphysical Fantasy Thriller by Anna M. Elias

The Bottom Line: Spiritual possession has rarely been this entertaining. This fast-paced, metaphysical fantasy thriller is addictive, cinematic and moving.  The Coin opens in a Ugandan village, where a woman inhabited by a mysterious spirit is hunted by rebel soldiers. She escapes into the jungle, but relief is short-lived as she encounters the General. Against all odds, the spirit within her takes control, enabling her

The Coin, a Fast-Paced Metaphysical Fantasy Thriller by Anna M. Elias READ MORE >

90 Days, a Believable & Fast-Paced Spy Thriller by W. Michael Hewitt

The Bottom Line: A believable, fast-paced thriller about an imminent nuclear threat that is perfect for fans of Marc Greaney and Tom Clancy. U.S. Department of Energy special agent Dr. Essie Openwaters is running out of time. Weapons grade plutonium stolen from the Department of Energy’s Savannah River site in South Carolina, and chatter from the National Security Agency has picked up a potential electromagnetic pulse

90 Days, a Believable & Fast-Paced Spy Thriller by W. Michael Hewitt READ MORE >

Lady Hawthorne, a High-Stakes Steamy Spy Thriller by Alexi Venice

The Bottom Line: A steamy spy thriller that crackles with international intrigue, lesbian romance and horny humor. Highly entertaining. Recommended for spy thriller fans looking for some spice, and for avid lesfic fans looking for high-stakes intrigue.  In the 7th installment in Alexi Venice’s San Francisco Mystery Series, bioterrorists have attacked a local water treatment facility. Early evidence points to Russia, who may be retaliating

Lady Hawthorne, a High-Stakes Steamy Spy Thriller by Alexi Venice READ MORE >

Blood Before Dawn

BLOOD BEFORE DAWN, The Year’s Best Historical Thriller

The Bottom Line: The year’s best historical thriller (Winner, The BestThrillers.com Book Awards). April 1979: Ken Verrier and his wife, Sam return to Liberia only to buy diamonds, but they get caught up in a bloody rice riot and a coup d’état. Ken witnesses and unwittingly participates in a period of Liberia’s tumultuous yet poorly documented history—the overthrow of the Tolbert presidency that ultimately ends

BLOOD BEFORE DAWN, The Year’s Best Historical Thriller READ MORE >

Scroll to Top