Action Thriller Books

The best action thriller book reviews. Action thrillers feature extensive fight scenes, battle scenarios or high-intensity adventure.

The Handler, a Believable Terrorism Thriller by Jeffrey S. Stephens

The Bottom Line: A taut terrorism thriller that mesmerizes with a dizzying global conspiracy and believable stakes. Fans of Kyle Mills and Brad Thor will love The Handler. The Handler opens in New York City as two radicalized Muslims, Mustafa Karahan and Roshan Al Ghamdi, conduct recon for a terror attack. It’s a familiar setup with one terrifying twist: neither knows about the other’s existence, …

The Handler, a Believable Terrorism Thriller by Jeffrey S. Stephens READ MORE >

Money For Nothing, a Must-Read Crime Thriller by Karen S. Gordon

The Bottom Line: Money For Nothing is a provocative, tightly-wound crime thriller that seems destined for its own streaming series. A must-read for both new fans and the series’ growing fan base.  Karen S. Gordon’s hotly anticipated sequel to Sick Money comes as the crime hits close to home and the stakes are higher than ever. Money For Nothing finds Vance, a retired ex-cop turned …

Money For Nothing, a Must-Read Crime Thriller by Karen S. Gordon READ MORE >

Lover Girl, a High-Octane Mafia Thriller by Stephen Kronwith, M.D.

The Bottom Line: A gem among mafia thrillers featuring a likable female assassin and one high-octane scene after another. Highly recommended.  Meet Angelica Fortuna, a wisecracking assassin and daughter of Philadelphia crime boss Don Vito Fortuna. Nickname: The Angel of Death (l’angelo della morte). But while death is her business, Angelica herself is full of life, snark, and a healthy dose of hubris in her …

Lover Girl, a High-Octane Mafia Thriller by Stephen Kronwith, M.D. READ MORE >

The Child Riddler, a Slick Spy Thriller by Angela Greenman

The Bottom Line: A slick spy thriller that balances a futuristic counter-terrorism mission with the battle for its heroine’s soul.  Zoe Lorel is an elite operative in an international spy agency called Global Threat Assessment (GTA). The GTA faces an increasingly sprawling network of malevolent organizations that includes ISIS, Al-Qaeda, Hamas, the Real IRA, the KKK and others. Zoe’s boss and uncle, Easton Hughes, calls …

The Child Riddler, a Slick Spy Thriller by Angela Greenman READ MORE >

Prey No More, a Highly Recommended Revenge Thriller by Lee Matthew Goldberg

The Bottom Line: A gloriously nasty revenge thriller that manages to shock and surprise until the final page.  The second installment in Lee Matthew Goldberg’s Desire Card trilogy, set decades after Immoral Origins, follows assassin J.D. Storm, who goes by the handle James Dean. We first find J.D. preparing for a mission that will take him to Morocco. In a business where any wish can …

Prey No More, a Highly Recommended Revenge Thriller by Lee Matthew Goldberg READ MORE >

Short Mission, an Edge-of-Your Seat Spy Thriller by D.J. Scott

The Bottom Line: A rousing blend of fast-paced spycraft, believable military action and geopolitical intrigue. Two separate terrorist attacks rock small town America, killing sixteen and wounding thirty. No one claims responsibility, and there are no demands. In analyzing shrapnel from the second attack, forensic experts at the FBI lab in Quantico discover a terrifying detail: the payload was chemical, and linked to a bomblet …

Short Mission, an Edge-of-Your Seat Spy Thriller by D.J. Scott READ MORE >

Boondocks, an Epic Apocalyptic Thriller by Jaydeep Shah

The Bottom Line: An epic apocalyptic thriller steeped in Indian folklore and black magic. Recommended for fantasy fans seeking a truly original, high-concept tale of good versus evil.  Vacationers Rahul and Elisa travel to the western Indian state of Rajasthan, hoping to sample local cuisine and explore local cities. But things go from bad to worse as Elisa accidentally ruins their only map (cell coverage …

Boondocks, an Epic Apocalyptic Thriller by Jaydeep Shah READ MORE >

The Master Mind, a High-Octane Thriller by Mark Schorr

The Bottom Line: A high-octane thriller that seems destined for a major streaming platform. Fans of The X-Files and Stranger Things will fall hard for The Master Mind.  Author Mark Schorr has created a compelling heroine in fitness and mixed martial arts expert Diana Wynne, who has no problem deploying her formidable strength both at the gym and on the streets. But the muscles she …

The Master Mind, a High-Octane Thriller by Mark Schorr READ MORE >

Treason Flight, the Year’s Best Military Thriller

Bottom Line: This blockbuster military thriller is the next best thing to sitting in the cockpit. A must-read for fans of Marc Cameron and C.W. Lemoine.  Voted the Best Military Thriller of 2021. Navy pilot Jack “Rattler” Owen is a skilled pilot on combat deployment in the Persian Gulf. Long deployments have strained his marriage and led to an impending divorce, life on the aircraft …

Treason Flight, the Year’s Best Military Thriller READ MORE >

Cover Your Tracks, the Year’s Best Action Thriller By Daco Auffenorde

The Bottom Line:  Honored in the Best Thriller Book Awards as the Best Action Thriller of 2021. Margo Fletcher, eight months pregnant, is traveling by train from Chicago to Spokane, her childhood home. While passing through an isolated portion of the Rockies in blizzard conditions, the train unexpectedly brakes. Up ahead, deadly snow from a massive avalanche plummets down the mountain. Despite the conductor’s order …

Cover Your Tracks, the Year’s Best Action Thriller By Daco Auffenorde READ MORE >

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top