Historical Thriller Books

The best historical thriller eBooks for kindle, nook, iBooks and more, including fact-based mysteries, history mysteries, crime thrillers and more.

Everyone Brave is Forgiven Book Cover

Everyone Brave is Forgiven, a Historical Suspense Novel by Chris Cleave

The Bottom Line: If you liked All the Light We Cannot See, you may well love Everyone Brave is Forgiven. London, 1939. The day war is declared, Mary North leaves finishing school unfinished, goes straight to the War Office, and signs up. Tom Shaw decides to ignore the war—until he learns his roommate Alistair Heath has unexpectedly […]

Continue Reading

Book Review – The Virgin of the Wind Rose: A Christopher Columbus Mystery-Thriller by Glen Craney

The Bottom Line: An impeccably researched, high-velocity historical thriller that challenges everything you thought you knew about Christopher Columbus. When an American missionary is murdered in Africa, the victim’s fiancee embarks on a perilous investigation into his death. For Jaq Quartermane, an evangelical U.S. State Department attorney, the mission is both political and personal. The […]

Continue Reading

Book Review: Fast Track To Glory, an Action Thriller by Tomasz Chrusciel

The Bottom Line: An engrossing archeology thriller crafted in the tradition of Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child. When 36-year-old religious history professor Nina Monte is summoned to Germany’s Heidelberg Castle, she becomes just the fifth living person to see images of a the Santa Lucia, a galley that sank during a battle in 1439. To […]

Continue Reading
Code Name Papa Book Cover

Book Review – Code Name: Papa: My Extraordinary Life while Hiding in Plain Sight

The Bottom Line: This rollicking spy memoir reads like a political thriller and takes no prisoners along the way. Told in the first person, Code Name: Papa is the story of a covert operative who worked for various government agencies, including those in the U.S., Canada and elsewhere. Beginning with Papa’s induction into the United […]

Continue Reading
Echoes of November

Echoes of November, a Political Thriller by John Vance

JFK researcher Mark Kemble becomes tangled in a violent series of events that eventually lead him to Dallas and a confrontation with the president’s assassin. Poll results from the past two decades demonstrate that nearly two-thirds of Americans, Canadians, and Europeans believe that John Kennedy was murdered as a result of a conspiracy in November […]

Continue Reading
Gallery Pieces by Larry Witham

Book Review – Gallery Pieces: An Art Mystery, by Larry Witham

The Bottom Line: A thoroughly absorbing and masterfully crafted mystery about stolen art, family and greed. After a failed sting operation to nab Russian art smugglers in SoHo, a collection of curiously marked art catalogs is discovered. Julian Peale, the budding art sleuth at the heart of Gallery Pieces, finds himself immersed in a historically significant investigation […]

Continue Reading
nightengale kristin hannah

The Nightingale, a Historical Thriller by Kristin Hannah

FRANCE, 1939 In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac says goodbye to her husband, Antoine, as he heads for the Front. She doesn’t believe that the Nazis will invade France…but invade they do, in droves of marching soldiers, in caravans of trucks and tanks, in planes that fill the skies and drop bombs upon […]

Continue Reading
Outlander Series - Written in my own hearts blood

Book Review: Written in My Own Heart’s Blood, by Diana Gabaldon

The Bottom Line: The newest entry in the Outlander series is equal parts fresh, familiar and frenetic. A must for fans of the series. 1778: France declares war on Great Britain, the British army leaves Philadelphia, and George Washington’s troops leave Valley Forge in pursuit. At this moment, Jamie Fraser returns from a presumed watery […]

Continue Reading
A Company of Roses by Meagan Goodenough

Book Review: A Company of Roses, a Historical Thriller by Megan Goodenough

Bottom Line: A highly original historical scavenger hunt with roots in the Elizabethan period, this cozy mystery is highly recommended for Steve Berry fans. 1563, London. Lady Blanche ap Harry leads a band of thieves out of the palace and to a ferry waiting on the Themes. Their cargo? A box containing a “treasure” known […]

Continue Reading

Book Review: The Lost Prophet, a Religious Thriller by James B. McPike

The Bottom Line: A well-researched and entertaining religious thriller set in the Holy Land. Recommended for fans of Joel C. Rosenberg. As the second installment in James B. McPike’s Vince Ramsey series opens, a tour group is heading ever deeper into Israel’s Tomb of the Prophets Haggai, Zechariah and Malachi. At last they come upon […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes