Horror Books

The best horror book reviews. The horror genre intends to shock, frighten and/or disgust its audience through specific story devices, such as psychotic characters, the presence of evil and the paranormal, and acts of extreme violence.

Oak Hollow, a Harrowing Horror Novel by Dan McDowell

The Bottom Line: Harrowing hotel horrors continue in this satisfying follow-up to Level Zero. The second entry in Dan McDowell’s Nightmare in Riverton series begins as Nancy Helbens Richards and her husband, Ron, quibble about money and appear to be on the brink of divorce. But those problems pale in comparison to external forces. First, photos of Nancy are inexplicably strewn about with vulgarities and …

Oak Hollow, a Harrowing Horror Novel by Dan McDowell READ MORE >

Stadelheim: Tower of Torment, a Highly Original Thriller by Skye Smith

The Bottom Line: A highly original thriller featuring one of the creepiest neo-Nazis in contemporary literature. Recommended for fans of serial killer thrillers and contemporary horror. Set in the early 1990s, Skye Smith’s debut novel tells the story of a wealthy neo-Nazi predator named Dale and the twisted obsessions that threaten a group of unsuspecting Minneapolis residents. The book’s title is a reference to Stadleheim, …

Stadelheim: Tower of Torment, a Highly Original Thriller by Skye Smith READ MORE >

Level Zero, a Chilling Horror Novel by Dan McDowell

The Bottom Line: The Shining meets Dante’s Inferno. Level Zero is brimming with sinister surprises sure to keep horror fans up at night. Hellish hospitality awaits two men at the infamous Oak Hollow Hotel. The opening chapters of Dan McDowell’s novel are a portrait of two broken relationships. In the first, radio station manager Chris Wilkerson attempts to console his wife at her mother’s funeral …

Level Zero, a Chilling Horror Novel by Dan McDowell READ MORE >

Where the Briars Sleep, a Terrifying Gothic Horror Novel by Emma Beavan

The Bottom Line: Jane Eyre meets The Haunting of Hill House. A terrifying gothic horror novel that readers won’t soon forget. Set in the early 1800s, author Emma Beavan delivers a deliciously twisted tale of three sisters and the family secrets that threaten to haunt them all. After the passing of their stepsister, Sarah, sisters Rose and Maggie are happy to be back at their estate and returning …

Where the Briars Sleep, a Terrifying Gothic Horror Novel by Emma Beavan READ MORE >

Bloodlaw, a Clever and Compelling Vampire Romance Thriller

The Bottom Line: Blaise Ramsay breathes new life into the vampire romance genre with this clever, atmospheric paranormal crime thriller set in 1920s Chicago. Fans of both Annie Rice and Stephanie Meyer may love Bloodlaw. Bloodlaw opens as assistant district attorney Alastair Maddox awakens in the woods near Lake Michigan. It’s the 1920s, and prohibition is the law of the land. Fearing he may have …

Bloodlaw, a Clever and Compelling Vampire Romance Thriller READ MORE >

Sincerely Yours, a Pulse-Pounding Serial Killer Thriller by Cathy Bevilacqua

The Bottom Line: A pulse-pounding serial killer thriller that you soon won’t forget. Highly recommended. Lester, a delusional killer who runs a family-owned inn, preys on teenage girls on the Jersey Shore. He finds them in online chat rooms, then uses email to gain enough information to begin stalking them in the physical world. After abducting them, he fulfills his perverse desire to make them …

Sincerely Yours, a Pulse-Pounding Serial Killer Thriller by Cathy Bevilacqua READ MORE >

Midnight Sun, a new Twilight Thriller by Stephenie Meyer

The Bottom Line: Meyer delivers a winner that will broaden her already massive fan base. Years after Stephanie Meyer published the last Twilight series book, she returns with Midnight Sun, where everything old is new again. For the uninitiated, the Twilight series tells the story of Bella Swan’s precarious journey into a world of mostly teen vampires and werewolves. Set in a soggy, mysterious small …

Midnight Sun, a new Twilight Thriller by Stephenie Meyer READ MORE >

American Slaughterhouse, a Fresh and Timely Serial Killer Thriller by Doc Cage

The Bottom Line: A fresh and timely take on the serial killer thriller that feels nearly as startling as American Psycho did decades ago. American Slaughterhouse: Confessions of a 911 Paramedic poses a terrifying question: what if a first-responder that we depended on to save lives has in fact been abusing their power to demean, degrade and commit mass murder? Doc Cage is the pseudonym …

American Slaughterhouse, a Fresh and Timely Serial Killer Thriller by Doc Cage READ MORE >

Tribulation, an Erotic Horror Novel by Jaydeep Shah

The Bottom Line: An erotic horror novella with strong themes of sadomasochism, tailor-made for fans of surrealist fiction. Tribulation opens with a bang as sexy, well-to-do 30-something Casie Fuentes is so enraged to be served shrimp for breakfast that she unleashes a brutal sexual assault on her servant. In the next instant, a stranger calls and simply informs her: “Your husband’s dead in your old …

Tribulation, an Erotic Horror Novel by Jaydeep Shah READ MORE >

22 Dutch Road, a Compelling Horror Comedy Novel by T. C. Schueler

The Bottom Line: A compelling horror comedy with a big heart and a bigger payoff. Eight weeks after the death of his estranged father, 22-year-old Billy Buchanan drives his shoddy Toyota Corolla from Little Rock, Arkansas, to the well-to-do neighborhood of Whispering Pines in Rock Hill, South Carolina. He arrives with eight bucks and $25 on a gas station credit card to his name, having …

22 Dutch Road, a Compelling Horror Comedy Novel by T. C. Schueler READ MORE >

Scroll to Top