Horror Books

The best horror book reviews. The horror genre intends to shock, frighten and/or disgust its audience through specific story devices, such as psychotic characters, the presence of evil and the paranormal, and acts of extreme violence.

Bloodlaw, a Clever and Compelling Vampire Romance Thriller

The Bottom Line: Blaise Ramsay breathes new life into the vampire romance genre with this clever, atmospheric paranormal crime thriller set in 1920s Chicago. Fans of both Annie Rice and Stephanie Meyer may love Bloodlaw. Bloodlaw opens as assistant district attorney Alastair Maddox awakens in the woods near Lake Michigan. It’s the 1920s, and prohibition is the law of the land. Fearing he may have …

Bloodlaw, a Clever and Compelling Vampire Romance Thriller READ MORE >

Sincerely Yours, a Pulse-Pounding Serial Killer Thriller by Cathy Bevilacqua

The Bottom Line: A pulse-pounding serial killer thriller that you soon won’t forget. Highly recommended. Lester, a delusional killer who runs a family-owned inn, preys on teenage girls on the Jersey Shore. He finds them in online chat rooms, then uses email to gain enough information to begin stalking them in the physical world. After abducting them, he fulfills his perverse desire to make them …

Sincerely Yours, a Pulse-Pounding Serial Killer Thriller by Cathy Bevilacqua READ MORE >

Midnight Sun, a new Twilight Thriller by Stephenie Meyer

The Bottom Line: Meyer delivers a winner that will broaden her already massive fan base. Years after Stephanie Meyer published the last Twilight series book, she returns with Midnight Sun, where everything old is new again. For the uninitiated, the Twilight series tells the story of Bella Swan’s precarious journey into a world of mostly teen vampires and werewolves. Set in a soggy, mysterious small …

Midnight Sun, a new Twilight Thriller by Stephenie Meyer READ MORE >

American Slaughterhouse, a Fresh and Timely Serial Killer Thriller by Doc Cage

The Bottom Line: A fresh and timely take on the serial killer thriller that feels nearly as startling as American Psycho did decades ago. American Slaughterhouse: Confessions of a 911 Paramedic poses a terrifying question: what if a first-responder that we depended on to save lives has in fact been abusing their power to demean, degrade and commit mass murder? Doc Cage is the pseudonym …

American Slaughterhouse, a Fresh and Timely Serial Killer Thriller by Doc Cage READ MORE >

Tribulation, an Erotic Horror Novel by Jaydeep Shah

The Bottom Line: An erotic horror novella with strong themes of sadomasochism, tailor-made for fans of surrealist fiction. Tribulation opens with a bang as sexy, well-to-do 30-something Casie Fuentes is so enraged to be served shrimp for breakfast that she unleashes a brutal sexual assault on her servant. In the next instant, a stranger calls and simply informs her: “Your husband’s dead in your old …

Tribulation, an Erotic Horror Novel by Jaydeep Shah READ MORE >

22 Dutch Road, a Compelling Horror Comedy Novel by T. C. Schueler

The Bottom Line: A compelling horror comedy with a big heart and a bigger payoff. Eight weeks after the death of his estranged father, 22-year-old Billy Buchanan drives his shoddy Toyota Corolla from Little Rock, Arkansas, to the well-to-do neighborhood of Whispering Pines in Rock Hill, South Carolina. He arrives with eight bucks and $25 on a gas station credit card to his name, having …

22 Dutch Road, a Compelling Horror Comedy Novel by T. C. Schueler READ MORE >

If It Bleeds, a Phenomenal New Thriller Collection by Stephen King

The Bottom Line: A phenomenal collection of stories that rank among King’s best work and one of the year’s best thrillers so far. If It Bleeds delivers more proof that Stephen King has only gotten better with age. The book’s eponymously named story features eccentric investigator Holly Gibney, the character who stole some of King’s best scenes in the Mr. Mercedes trilogy and in The …

If It Bleeds, a Phenomenal New Thriller Collection by Stephen King READ MORE >

World War Z, the Classic Zombie Apocalypse Thriller We Need Right Now

The Bottom Line: Max Brooks’ classic is #1 on the Amazon Comedy Horror bestseller charts again, and with good reason. In these times, we’re flooded with gloomy media noise and real-life horror stories. It should come as little surprise that readers are returning to a book that imagined a fate much worse than what we’re experiencing and still managed to make us laugh. In this …

World War Z, the Classic Zombie Apocalypse Thriller We Need Right Now READ MORE >

The Institute, a Terrifying New Stephen King Thriller

The Bottom Line: A psychic thriller that ranks among King’s best. Stephen King’s latest thriller The Institute is in no way a sequel to Dr. Sleep (which itself was a sequel to The Shining), but thematically speaking, it’s a close cousin. As in Dr. Sleep, villains with terrifying psychic powers are hell bent on leveraging the powers of gifted children. In the middle of the …

The Institute, a Terrifying New Stephen King Thriller READ MORE >

Scroll to Top