Humorous Mystery Books

Our writers recommend the best humorous mystery books by both new and established writers.

Grave Misunderstanding, a Hilarious Whodunit by Len Boswell

The Bottom Line: A truly hilarious mystery in the tradition of Janet Evanovich, Thomas Davidson and Rich Leder. In Len Boswell’s Grave Misunderstanding, small town Crab Cove is the focal point of a clever satire on the murder mystery genre. For a small town, Crab Cove has seen far more than its fair share of […]

Continue Reading

Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont, a Clever Cozy Mystery by Connie Chappell

The Bottom Line: A clever small town cozy mystery. Fans of Susan Breen, Edie Claire and Janet Evanovich may find a new favorite author in Connie Chappell. For 29-year-old historian Wrenn Grayson, her new career is more than just a passion. As Grayson puts it, her work consists of “enchantment with echoes calling me to […]

Continue Reading
Plain Brown Wrapper book cover

Plain Brown Wrapper, a Humorous Mystery by Greg Lynch

The Bottom Line: A laugh-out-loud crime novel that deftly satirizes political douchebaggery without fear or favor. Every humorous mystery needs a memorable hangout, and Plain Brown Wrapper’s is The Booty Scoot, a Dallas gay bar where “tight Wranglers, white Stetsons and shirts stiff with enough starch to stop a bullet” prevail. But the good times come to a […]

Continue Reading

Book Review: Luckiest Girl Alive, a new Mystery by Jessica Knoll

The Bottom Line: So much more than just “women’s fiction” (as the marketing would have you believe), Luckiest Girl Alive is a clever and highly suspenseful romp through the skeleton-filled closet of a most unreliable narrator. As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent […]

Continue Reading
Museum of Sudden Disapparances

Book Review: The Museum of Sudden Disappearances, a Hilarious Mystery by Thomas Davidson

The Bottom Line: A hugely satisfying tale that is simultaneously funny, suspenseful and subversive. For fans of comic mysteries, the Jurassic Jim Fleetwood series is a must read. When a small town girl dies in a mysterious car accident, eccentric retro DJ Jurassic Jim Fleetwood becomes the unlikely investigator. Fleetwood typically spends his evenings spinning […]

Continue Reading
Swollen Identity Cover by Rich Leder

Book Review: Swollen Identity, a Hilarious Mystery by Rich Leder

The Bottom Line: Mysterious, sexy and laugh-out-loud funny. Among female sleuths, Kate McCall is near the top. Is it even possible to be too beautiful, seductive and rich? That’s what New York private detective Kate McCall thinks of her newest client, Brooke Barrington, who is suffering from a case of identity theft. With a net […]

Continue Reading
Still Life by DB Kennison

Book Review: Still Life, a Romantic Suspense Thriller by D.B. Kennison

The Bottom Line: A hugely enjoyable tale of murder, romance and redemption set in small town America. Add this gem to your must-read list. Realtor Randi Lassiter spends her free time as a private investigator for a divorce attorney who needs visual evidence of couples engaged in the most lascivious deeds imaginable. Hardened by the […]

Continue Reading
Workman's Complication by Rich Leder

Book Review: Workman’s Complication, a Mystery by Rich Leder

The Bottom Line: An honest-to-goodness charmer about a reluctant female detective trying to solve her father’s murder. You’ll fall in love with the whimsical, scrappy PI at the heart of this hilarious mystery. Highly recommended, especially for fans of Janet Evanovich. Rule #1: Don’t do murder. It doesn’t pay, and somebody’s already dead. Murder leads […]

Continue Reading

Book Review: Framed and Burning, a Cozy Mystery by Lisa Brunette

The Bottom Line: This cozy mystery about a family of psychically gifted amateur sleuths possesses enough magic to keep you hooked from the first page until the last. When Amazing Grace and her granddaughter travel to Miami for a family visit, they quickly learn that crime never takes a vacation. In this second installment of […]

Continue Reading
I Really Really Want It by Richard Hennerley

Book Review: I Really, Really Want It – a new Suspense Thriller by Richard Hennerley

The Bottom Line: This quirky, one-of-a-kind thriller manages to be both funny and searing in its indictment of celebrity culture. Set in a world of unimaginably lascivious British entertainers, Hennerley’s world is darkly addictive one that you won’t soon forget. [easyazon_cta add_to_cart=”default” align=”left” asin=”1500739588″ cloaking=”default” height=”42″ key=”tall-orange” localization=”default” locale=”US” nofollow=”default” new_window=”default” tag=”bestthricom-20″ width=”120″] While I […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes