Mystery Books

The best mystery eBooks for kindle, nook, iBooks and more, including cozy mysteries, whodunnits, crime thrillers and more.

The Secrets We Kept, an Electrifying Spy Novel by Lara Prescott

The Bottom Line: Did the world need another spy novel pitting the CIA against Russia? The answer is a resounding yes. Part historical fiction, part spy fiction, Prescott’s highly original novel begins in 1956 as Pasternak Boris is writing his future masterpiece, Doctor Zhivago. The Kremlin decides to ban it. The CIA has other plans. Why not […]

Continue Reading
List of the best Stephen King Books

The Best Stephen King Audiobooks Ranked In Order (Updated!)

Newly updated to include King’s newest novel, The Institute! The reigning master of suspense is the author of more than 50 books and audiobooks, all of which have been international bestsellers. Carrie. It. Pet Cemetery. Misery. Thinner. All instant classics, and yet King’s craft seems to sweeten with age, with King still churning out some […]

Continue Reading

Bionic Bug, One of the Year’s Best Thrillers

The Bottom Line: A funny, vibrant, high-tech detective novel. One of the year’s best thrillers. Set nearly a decade in the future, Bionic Bug begins as struggling private investigator Lara Kingsley and her partner and best friend, Sully, are hanging out at their favorite local haunt. Lara notices something odd about his appearance, but he […]

Continue Reading

Run Away, One of Harlan Coben’s Best Crime Thrillers

The Bottom Line: A believable thriller about the lengths to which parents will go to protect their children. You’d never know by looking at her, but drug addict Paige Green is the daughter of a Wall Street financial adviser and a pediatrician. When her father, Simon, spots her playing guitar and panhandling in Central Park, […]

Continue Reading

What You Did, an Engaging Psychological Thriller by Claire McGowan

The Bottom Line: Big Little Lies meets The Big Chill. A thoroughly engaging whodunnit. Ah, reunions. They are always filled with both anticipation and dread. But in Claire McGowan’s new novel, the 20th anniversary get together of six college friends is also a deadly one. Host Ali finally has the life she always wanted: a career […]

Continue Reading

The Best Female Detective Books

We love both great male and female detectives equally. However, thrillers featuring great female sleuths are still a little harder to find, which is why we decided to compile this list of truly great mysteries and thrillers featuring superstar female protagonists. In compiling this first version of our female detective list, our definition of “detective” […]

Continue Reading

This Storm, a Smoldering New LA Crime Thriller by James Ellroy

The Bottom Line: Elloy’s most challenging work yet, This Storm is strictly for fans of LA Noir and James Ellroy completionists. With This Storm, the author of classics like LA Confidential and Black Dahlia has entered yet another novel in the canon of crime thrillers set in the city of angels. As torrential rain hits LA […]

Continue Reading

Solving Cadence Moore, a Highly Recommended Mystery by Gregory Sterner

The Bottom Line: Solving Cadence Moore is the quintessential mystery for the podcast era. Highly recommended. In the age of hit true crime podcasts like Serial, Criminal and My Favorite Murder, debut novelist Gregory Sterner has delivered the first work of fiction to effectively capture the contemporary media zeitgeist. Prepare to be hooked on page […]

Continue Reading

Don’t Fear, My Darling is Impossible to Put Down

The Bottom Line: A wonderfully claustrophobic murder mystery with a razor-sharp amateur sleuth. As long as there have been artists, there have been long-suffering personal assistants. But author Laura Stewart Schmidt, author of the deftly-written Until Proven Innocent, manages to deliver plenty of surprises in Don’t Fear, My Darling. In 1987, twenty-two-year-old Louisa Berry is […]

Continue Reading

Desperate Paths, a First-Rate Crime Thriller by E.C. Diskin

The Bottom Line: A masterfully crafted murder mystery that spins a small town’s dark secrets about family, faith and racial tensions into pure gold. Within a week of returning to her hometown to care for her father, struggling actress Brooklyn Anderson finds herself at the epicenter of two brutal crimes. Just hours before her arrival, […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes