Thriller Book Reviews

The best thriller and mystery eBooks for kindle, nook, iBooks and more, featuring both new and established masters of the genre.

The Neuromorphs, a Visionary Sci-Fi Thriller by Dennis

The Bottom Line: Visionary, wildly entertaining sci-fi that echoes our current societal challenges while showcasing technology that is only slightly out of reach. In 2050, the combination of advanced robotics and artificial intelligence has resulted in breathtaking societal benefits. Helper Robots that look and feel much like humans are ideal servants, sexual playthings and at […]

Continue Reading

Game Piece, One of the Year’s Best Thrillers

The Bottom Line: One of the year’s best thrillers. When Texas detective Barry Marshall receives an anonymous tip on a stolen Chevy truck, he knows that something is off. The caller urges him to come quickly, claiming to fear for his own life, and the truck description matches an active case Marshall is working. But […]

Continue Reading

Lethal White, a new Cormoran Strike Novel by Robert Galbraith

The Bottom Line: The best of J.K. Rowling’s Cormoran Strike series to date. For those not familiar with the series, Strike is a private investigator, ex–Royal Military Police Special Investigation Branch investigator and the illegitimate son of famous rock star Johnny Rokeby. Strike lost part of a leg in an attack in Afghanistan. He had […]

Continue Reading

Until Proven Innocent, a Highly Recommended Teen Mystery by Laura Stewart Schmidt

The Bottom Line: A deftly-written, all-American teen mystery deserving of a broad audience. When a Minnesota Alzheimer’s patient implies knowledge about an unsolved death dating back to the 1960s, his 15-year-old granddaughter launches an investigation. Until Proven Innocent begins as a local university is buying the former home of Henry Springs, who disappeared after a […]

Continue Reading

The Ragged Edge of Night, a Historical Thriller by Olivia Hawker

The Bottom Line: A tautly-written historical thriller tailor-made for fans of All The Light We Cannot See. Set in Nazi Germany, The Ragged Edge of Night centers around friar Anton Starzmann, who is stripped of his position during the fascist government’s purge of religious clerics. He seeks solace in a woman who wants help raising […]

Continue Reading

The Girl Next Door, One of the Year’s Best Thrillers

The Bottom Line: One of the year’s best thrillers, The Girl Next Door had me at “donuts and high heels.” This cheeky, stylish and sophisticated novel is a must for anyone who loves unreliable narrators. Lisa Aurello’s The Girl Next Door begins with a murder, then rewinds a few weeks to eavesdrop on a conspiratorial […]

Continue Reading

The Devil’s Son, an Action-Packed Political Thriller by Charles Kowalski

The Bottom Line: A timely page-turner featuring a Mossad agent worthy of her own series. The Devil’s Son opens in 1960s Buenos Aires, as a pair of Mossad agents are set to ambush infamous Nazis Karl Weiss and Josef Mengele. After a chilling brush with their targets, luck is not with them, and the two […]

Continue Reading

The Moving Blade, One of the Year’s Best Thrillers, by Michael Pronko

The Bottom Line: One of the year’s best thrillers. A string of grisly murders, high stakes geopolitics and the prose of a master craftsman elevate this crime thriller to rarefied air. What do a murdered American diplomat, a set of rare erotic Japanese wood block prints, and an agreement to keep American bases in Japan […]

Continue Reading

The Culinary Art of Murder, a Humorous Mystery by Heather Haven

The Bottom Line: This cozy mystery has it all – romance, suspense, comedy and a detective you’ll fall hard for. The latest installment in Heather Haven’s Silicon Valley murder series begins as Liana Alverez – better known as Lee, a private investigator for Discretionary Inquiries – takes a call from her distraught uncle. Like every […]

Continue Reading

Zyklon, a Timely Political Thriller by John Hazen

The Bottom Line: A brazen political thriller for our times. Timely, spellbinding and entirely plausible. The follow up to John Hazen’s brilliant novel, Fava (which made our list of The Best FBI Thrillers), centers on a reporter chasing both a serial killer and an incendiary presidential campaign. Told from the point of view of TV news […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes