Tag Archives | Black Rose Publishing

Runway Dreams, a Must-Read Humorous Mystery by T.K. Ambers

The Bottom Line: T.K. Ambers is a fresh, fun voice in the mystery genre, and her sophomore effort is a must-read for fans of the Runway Dreams series. Count us among fans hoping that T.K. Ambers would return the cast of her addictive mystery Runway Dreams for a sequel, and we’re delighted to find that our […]

Continue Reading

Black Frog, a Small-Town Crime Thriller that Fires on All Cylinders

The Bottom Line: Get in on the ground floor of this engrossing small-town crime thriller. Highly recommended for fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson. In B.D. Smith’s second Detective Douglas Bateman series novel, Bateman is called to investigate multiple axe murders in northern Maine. Bateman, who serves with Maine’s Major Crimes Unit, soon discovers […]

Continue Reading

White Oaks, an Ingeniously Dark Comic Thriller by Jill Hand

The Bottom Line: A thriller about greed, gluttony and murder that is destined for the big screen. The promise of inheritance has divided families since the beginning of time, and from time to time has ended in murder. But novelist Jill Hand’s White Oaks has introduced an ingenious new twist on the time-old tale, as […]

Continue Reading

Spiral Into Darkness, a Throughly Compulsive FBI Thriller by Joseph Lewis

The Bottom Line: A thoroughly compulsive police procedural by one of America’s most promising new writers. Joseph Lewis, author of our Best of 2018 pick Caught in a Web, is back with another crime thriller featuring world-weary Milwaukee detective Jamie Graff. This time, Jamie’s expertise is requested by Summer Storm, the leader of the FBI serial […]

Continue Reading

Deep Background, a Home Run Political Thriller by Rick Treon

The Bottom Line: An intelligent, textured and taut thriller about political corruption through the lens of a disgraced journalist. Levi Cole had enjoyed a remarkable career as a journalist, rising from a small-town sportswriter to regular cable news contributor and charming political pundit. But he owed much of his success to an anonymous source that […]

Continue Reading

Lily White Lie, a Cozy Mystery by Connie Chappell

The Bottom Line: Fans of cozy mysteries will enjoy this latest Wrenn Grayson series book. The latest entry in the Connie Chappell’s Wrenn Grayson series begins with a family investigation. The twenty-nine-year-old historian is spending Thanksgiving week alone at their rural farmhouse when an uninvited visitor arrives. Bret Kilmore, an old college friend of Wrenn’s […]

Continue Reading

Until Proven Innocent, a Highly Recommended Teen Mystery by Laura Stewart Schmidt

The Bottom Line: A deftly-written, all-American teen mystery deserving of a broad audience. When a Minnesota Alzheimer’s patient implies knowledge about an unsolved death dating back to the 1960s, his 15-year-old granddaughter launches an investigation. Until Proven Innocent begins as a local university is buying the former home of Henry Springs, who disappeared after a […]

Continue Reading

Zyklon, a Timely Political Thriller by John Hazen

The Bottom Line: A brazen political thriller for our times. Timely, spellbinding and entirely plausible. The follow up to John Hazen’s brilliant novel, Fava (which made our list of The Best FBI Thrillers), centers on a reporter chasing both a serial killer and an incendiary presidential campaign. Told from the point of view of TV news […]

Continue Reading

Katarina the Killer, an Infectious Erotic Horror Novel by Trent St. Germain

The Bottom Line: An infectious, salacious and highly entertaining erotic horror novel set in the deep south. The sequel to Trent St. Germain’s chilling erotic horror novel The Incubus and the Others opens in 1821 Louisiana, as Ten Points Plantation resident Ted Ogden is ambushed by a vampire. After transforming Ted into a hybrid – […]

Continue Reading

End It By The Gun, a Psychological Thriller by Kenechukwu Obi

The Bottom Line: An ambitious psychological thriller that reads like a fever dream. Tailor-made for fans of Franz Kafka. Beck Blades, a writer from rural Nebraska, is obsessed with creating a Hollywood blockbuster. Movie studios reply to his queries with rejection after rejection. His wife, Julie, isn’t exactly supportive of his creative endeavors. She’s cruel, […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes