Crime Thriller Books

The best crime thriller book reviews. “Crime thriller” is a catch-all term for thriller subgenres that feature a struggle for dominance between criminals and law enforcement, such as mafia thriller, police procedural, detective fiction, true crime, serial killer fiction and others.

Nobody’s Safe Here is One of the Most Exciting Mystery Novels in Years

The Bottom Line: One of the most exciting mystery novels in years. Jarringly gritty and grounded, Nobody’s Safe Here is a fresh take on what seem like tried-and-true situations. Unexpected plot twists and variations on procedurals will have readers excited to turn the page. What starts off as a heavy-handed and brutal book — there’s a planned school massacre, possible demonic possession, a mental breakdown, […]

Nobody’s Safe Here is One of the Most Exciting Mystery Novels in Years READ MORE >

Bailey's Law

Bailey’s Law, an Intelligent and Immersive Crime Novel by Meg Lelvis

The Bottom Line: An intelligent, immersive police procedural that will leave you pining for another Jack Bailey novel. Police Lieutenant Jack Bailey is an emotionally broken man. In an effort to escape his past, he has left his hometown of Chicago for the insufferable heat of Richmond, Texas, where he keeps to himself. Dedicated to his career, and a little too dependent on alcohol, he

Bailey’s Law, an Intelligent and Immersive Crime Novel by Meg Lelvis READ MORE >

Crimes of the Levee, a Highly Recommended Historical Crime Thriller by John Sturgeon

The Bottom Line: Sturgeon’s deft balance of history, mystery, and comic relief will leave you breathless. A joy to read for fans of historical fiction, murder mysteries and personal discovery. Crimes of the Levee explores not one, but two cases thrust upon Detective Patrick Moses. No, it’s not set in Holland; the titular levees refer to Chicago’s Levee neighborhood, a pseudo red-light district where Patrick

Crimes of the Levee, a Highly Recommended Historical Crime Thriller by John Sturgeon READ MORE >

Weave a Murderous Web, a Crowd-Pleasing Legal Thriller by Anne Rothman-Hicks and Ken Hicks

The Bottom Line: A crowd-pleasing legal thriller that has more than enough suspense for even casual fans of the genre. New York lawyer Jane Larson is ambitious, career focussed, and at a crossroads in her personal life. When an old friend begs a favor, Jane is drawn into the unfamiliar territory of the divorce court. The case quickly descends into a quagmire of cash, drugs

Weave a Murderous Web, a Crowd-Pleasing Legal Thriller by Anne Rothman-Hicks and Ken Hicks READ MORE >

Blade of Death, a Short Story Prequel to the Kyndall Family Thrillers

He’ll strike when she least expects it. Alexa Kyndall, an FBI special agent, has seen too many vile and unrepentant people escape justice. After coming off a harrowing kidnapping case, she visits her hometown of Stewart’s Crossing while on a two-week vacation. Set in the wilderness of Alaska, “Blade of Death” will leave readers on edge and grasping for clues in this short story prequel

Blade of Death, a Short Story Prequel to the Kyndall Family Thrillers READ MORE >

Never never James Patterson

Never Never, a new Crime Novel by James Patterson

The Bottom Line: For hardcore James Patterson fans only. Never Never won’t be the worst crime novel you’ll ever read, but in terms of execution, it may be the worst yet from the James Patterson book factory (for those not in the know, a team of writers are responsible for churning out “James Patterson” books – in this case, Candice Fox). What it does have going for

Never Never, a new Crime Novel by James Patterson READ MORE >

Bleed Through

Bleed Through, One of the Year’s Best Psychological Thrillers

The Bottom Line: Debut novelist Adriana Arrington knocks it out of the park with this psychological thriller in which nothing is as it seems. Twenty-five-year-old Liam Murphy has every reason to feel optimistic. Having suffered schizophrenia and the death of his father, he’s now under the care of a psychologist who seems to understand him. Feeling better, he’s enrolled in community college and is reconnecting

Bleed Through, One of the Year’s Best Psychological Thrillers READ MORE >

An Appetite for Revenge, a Highly Recommended Cozy Mystery by Jennifer Jennings

The Bottom Line: Cozy mystery fans will treasure this excellent entry point to Jennings’ Sara Woods mystery series. The seventh entry in Jennifer Jennings’ 21-book-strong series about New Hampshire detective Sara Woods finds her immersed in the seedy underbelly of the Floridian upper class. A rookie investigator at this point in the series, Woods wants nothing more than to join her boyfriend Max on vacation

An Appetite for Revenge, a Highly Recommended Cozy Mystery by Jennifer Jennings READ MORE >

Strangely Familiar, a Psychological Crime Thriller by Steve Heikens

The Bottom Line: An intense, breathtaking psychological crime thriller about an abused girl with telepathic powers. Recommended for fans of Rachel Abbot and Gillian Flynn. Opening during an unusually hot October in Minnesota, Steve Heikens’ Strangely Familiar centers around the relationship between Detective James Julius, and Amy, a troubled 14-year-old who seemingly attacked and mutilated her uncle unprovoked. Why? She feared he was going to rape

Strangely Familiar, a Psychological Crime Thriller by Steve Heikens READ MORE >

5 Days to Landfall, a Masterfully Told Crime Thriller by Robert Roy Britt

The Bottom Line: A masterfully told portrait of crime, technology and heroism in the face of a killer hurricane. Highly recommended. Robert Roy Britt’s 5 Days to Landfall transports us back to 1999, when New York City hadn’t experienced a major natural disaster in nearly 100 years, and the mid-Atlantic region was without a coherent evacuation plan. Britt’s compelling protagonist, Amanda Cole, is one of

5 Days to Landfall, a Masterfully Told Crime Thriller by Robert Roy Britt READ MORE >

Scroll to Top