Thriller Reviews

Reviews of the latest thriller and mystery eBooks for Kindle, Nook, iBooks and more.

Destiny, a Page-Turning Romantic Suspense Novel by Jackie Smith

The Bottom Line: This compelling tale of two unlikely lovers drawn together since childhood is a must-read for fans of Nicholas Sparks, Kerry Lonsdale and Sophie Kinsella. Powell has always been odd. The middle child between his two sisters, he is an intelligent, loving boy who is close with his mother and distant from his […]

Continue Reading

Deadly Homecoming at Rosemont, a Clever Cozy Mystery by Connie Chappell

The Bottom Line: A clever small town cozy mystery. Fans of Susan Breen, Edie Claire and Janet Evanovich may find a new favorite author in Connie Chappell. For 29-year-old historian Wrenn Grayson, her new career is more than just a passion. As Grayson puts it, her work consists of “enchantment with echoes calling me to […]

Continue Reading

The Devil’s Triangle, a Solid Entry Point to Catherine Coulter’s FBI Series

The Bottom Line: The latest from Catherine Coulter’s Brit in the FBI Series is a solid entry point for espionage fans. FBI Special Agents Nicholas Drummond and Michaela Caine are the government’s Covert Eyes—leading a top-notch handpicked team of agents to tackle crimes and criminals both international and deadly. But their first case threatens their […]

Continue Reading

Nobody’s Safe Here is One of the Most Exciting Mystery Novels in Years

The Bottom Line: One of the most exciting mystery novels in years. Jarringly gritty and grounded, Nobody’s Safe Here is a fresh take on what seem like tried-and-true situations. Unexpected plot twists and variations on procedurals will have readers excited to turn the page. What starts off as a heavy-handed and brutal book — there’s […]

Continue Reading
Bailey's Law

Bailey’s Law, an Intelligent and Immersive Crime Novel by Meg Lelvis

The Bottom Line: An intelligent, immersive police procedural that will leave you pining for another Jack Bailey novel. Police Lieutenant Jack Bailey is an emotionally broken man. In an effort to escape his past, he has left his hometown of Chicago for the insufferable heat of Richmond, Texas, where he keeps to himself. Dedicated to […]

Continue Reading

Crimes of the Levee, a Highly Recommended Historical Crime Thriller by John Sturgeon

The Bottom Line: Sturgeon’s deft balance of history, mystery, and comic relief will leave you breathless. A joy to read for fans of historical fiction, murder mysteries and personal discovery. Crimes of the Levee explores not one, but two cases thrust upon Detective Patrick Moses. No, it’s not set in Holland; the titular levees refer […]

Continue Reading

Weave a Murderous Web, a Crowd-Pleasing Legal Thriller by Anne Rothman-Hicks and Ken Hicks

The Bottom Line: A crowd-pleasing legal thriller that has more than enough suspense for even casual fans of the genre. New York lawyer Jane Larson is ambitious, career focussed, and at a crossroads in her personal life. When an old friend begs a favor, Jane is drawn into the unfamiliar territory of the divorce court. […]

Continue Reading

Rites of Azathoth, a Masterful Blend of Crime and Horror From Frank Cavallo

The Bottom Line: Mr. Cavallo’s talent at balancing the gritty world of policing with the seemingly mystical world of the occult makes for a study in contrasts that will make you want Diana on another case ASAP. Frank Cavallo’s Rites of Azathoth throws readers into the world of FBI criminal profiler Diana Mancuso. She’s retired […]

Continue Reading

The Prisoner, a Must-Read Spy Thriller by Alex Berenson

The Bottom Line: A return to form that will thrill John Wells series fans and attract plenty of new ones. When you’ve written what is arguably the very best post-911 espionage novel, which Alex Berenson did with The Faithful Spy, sequels can be a rocky road. After all, the fate of the western world was at stake in […]

Continue Reading

Diablo, a Spectacular Thriller about Terrorism and the Global Migrant Crisis

The Bottom Line: Highly recommended. A spectacular ripped-from-the-headlines thriller about terrorism and the global migrant crisis. In any year, Douglas Misquita’s Diablo would be deserving of a place near the top of your book queue. But now, as the worldwide migrant crisis continues to dominate headlines and policy agendas worldwide, the book’s subject matter and […]

Continue Reading