Thriller Reviews

Reviews of the latest thriller and mystery eBooks for Kindle, Nook, iBooks and more.

The Coroner, a Near-Perfect Beach Read by Jennifer Graeser Dornbush

The Bottom Line: First-time novelist Jennifer Graeser Dornbush is one of the most exciting new voices in the crime thriller genre. Emily Hartford wasn’t exactly your typical small-town teenager. In high school, she not only hung out with her Dad a lot, but she did so in the morgue, where he worked as a medical […]

Continue Reading

Blackwell, a Wondrous Gaslamp Thriller by Alexandrea Weis with Lucas Astor

The Bottom Line: A lush gaslamp thriller that seems destined for a second life on television. Blackwell is the story of a rivalry that descends into a battle for the ages. In 1886, wealthy Harvard student Magnus Blackwell befriends fellow freshman Jacob O’ Connor. Unlike Magnus, whose family is as close to royalty as they […]

Continue Reading

Desperate Paths, a First-Rate Crime Thriller by E.C. Diskin

The Bottom Line: A masterfully crafted murder mystery that spins a small town’s dark secrets about family, faith and racial tensions into pure gold. Within a week of returning to her hometown to care for her father, struggling actress Brooklyn Anderson finds herself at the epicenter of two brutal crimes. Just hours before her arrival, […]

Continue Reading

Project Purple, a Dystopian Page-Turner by Michael Greco

The Bottom Line: The Hunger Games meets Survivor. Equal parts dystopian thriller and satire, Project Purple is a truly memorable page-turner. For a tidy sum of cash as well as the promise of bonuses and fame, 13 wildly diverse people agree to recreate a colonial experience as it was in the early 1600s, and have […]

Continue Reading

The Broadcast, a Psychological Thriller by Liam Fialkov

The Bottom Line: The Man in the High Castle meets The Circle. A truly innovative sci-fi thriller that should make for lively book club discussion. What if a technological breakthrough could allow people to view video footage of historical events going back thousands of years? That is the promise of a fascinating technology at the […]

Continue Reading
Kill Shot book cover by Vince Flynn

Ranking The Best of Vince Flynn’s Mitch Rapp Books

Vince Flynn ushered in his counter-terrorism hero, Mitch Rapp, in the late 1990s and never looked back. His Mitch Rapp political thrillers are reliable best-sellers, and even after Flynn died far too young at age 47, the series continues through author Kyle Mills, who has done incredibly well with big shoes to fill. The Rapp […]

Continue Reading

Wish to Die, a Superb Historical Thriller by Robert Walton

The Bottom Line: An ebullient historical thriller that solves one of World War II’s most perplexing mysteries in highly entertaining fashion. Perfect for readers waiting for the next Indiana Jones novel. In Robert Walton’s third Harry Thursday series novel, the intrepid archeologist attempts to right a wrong perpetrated by the Nazis during World War II: […]

Continue Reading

Hometown Boys, a White-Knuckled Thriller by Mary Maddox

The Bottom Line: Don’t miss this white-knuckled thriller from the dark princess of suspense. After the grisly murder of her aunt and uncle, 40-year-old Kelly Durrell returns to her hometown in rural Illinois. Soon, her grief is compounded by another shock – local authorities have arrested Kelly’s ex-boyfriend, a local junkie named Troy, and accepted […]

Continue Reading

Hollow-Point Diplomacy, a Winning Assassination Thriller by R.H. Johnson

The Bottom Line: A brilliantly executed assassination thriller that is perfect for fans of L.T. Ryan, Vince Flynn and Barry Eisler. Hollow-Point Diplomacy begins in picturesque Argentina, as a trio of elderly Nazi fugitives gather to celebrate Hitler’s birthday, drink, sing and reminisce about their glory days in the Third Reich. Their annual night of […]

Continue Reading

Watching You, a Brilliant Psychological Thriller by Lisa Jewell

The Bottom Line: Rear Window meets The Woman in the Window. Highly recommended. What’s creepier than a peeping Tom? How about an obsessive, socially dysfunctional teenager who spends all his free time watching and cataloguing the movements of his neighbors? He even has nicknames for them, like “red boots.” Oh, did I mention that his […]

Continue Reading

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes