Fantasy Thriller Books

The best fantasy thriller book reviews. Fantasy thrillers are suspenseful tales in which a protagonist’s survival is threatened in a fictional, dystopian or magical universe.

Oathbringer: Book Three of the Stormlight Archive, by Brandon Sanderson

The Bottom Line: only word word will suffice: Epic! For the uninitiated, Oathbringer is the third volume of the New York Times bestselling Stormlight Archive. The epic fantasy series began its live on a website and is now a runaway bestseller. Roshar is the native name for the planet on which The Stormlight Archive is set. It is also the name of the supercontinent on which the main …

Oathbringer: Book Three of the Stormlight Archive, by Brandon Sanderson READ MORE >

The Gladiator of New York City, an Exhilarating Fantasy Novel by Shawn Raymond Poalillo

The Bottom Line: One part Fight Club, one part Conan the Barbarian and a little bit of Pretty Woman thrown in for good measure. A book that nobody asked for, but everyone should read. Highly recommended. Shawn Raymond Poalillo’s fourth novel is anything but typical thriller fare. An utterly fascinating world exists below New York City where gladiators fight on in the ancient tradition. Readers …

The Gladiator of New York City, an Exhilarating Fantasy Novel by Shawn Raymond Poalillo READ MORE >

The Dream Keepers, a Refreshing Young Adult Thriller by Z. Oko

The Bottom Line: A sophisticated young adult novel that will appeal to all readers, regardless of age. The Dream Keepers stretches the idea of fantasy to its limits, incorporating a larger-than-life dreamland where anything can happen with a narrator that’s at once naïve and completely in charge. Mona and her friends are a comforting cast of characters. Their familiarity with one another and Z. Oko’s …

The Dream Keepers, a Refreshing Young Adult Thriller by Z. Oko READ MORE >

Age of Order

Age of Order, an Enthralling Sci-Fi Thriller for Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games

The Bottom Line: Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games will find plenty to love in this enthralling, fast-paced story filled with richly drawn characters and the injustices they face. A track star, Daniela Machado has the opportunity to escape the world she knows — the squalor, oppression and constant vigilance required to survive in Bronx City — and claim a spot at the elite …

Age of Order, an Enthralling Sci-Fi Thriller for Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games READ MORE >

Eye of the Storm, a Five-Star Time Travel Novel by Frank Cavallo

The Bottom Line: A five-star time travel novel for the 21st century. Highly recommended. Let’s be honest – usually, you really can judge a book by its cover. Not so with Frank Cavallo’s Eye of the Storm, where a top-shelf fantasy novel lies beneath a book cover that only a mother could love. Eye of the Storm begins in Toronto, where soft-spoken, unassuming 37-year-old anthropologist …

Eye of the Storm, a Five-Star Time Travel Novel by Frank Cavallo READ MORE >

addiction

Addiction & Pestilence, an Apocalypse Thriller by Edmund Kelly

Brian Phillips lies alone in the Lumpton Treatment Center, reflecting on the poor choices that lead him there. When a deadly virus is unleashed, Brian must flee for his life—aided only by a strange, otherworldly figurE. Meanwhile, Drew’s life is turned upside down when his wife walks out following an explosive argument about his drinking. The next morning he receives an untimely phone call, sending …

Addiction & Pestilence, an Apocalypse Thriller by Edmund Kelly READ MORE >

Game of Fear

Game of Fear, a YA Thriller by Gledé Browne Kabongo

Academic overachiever Abbie Cooper Cooper is desperate to get accepted into Princeton University. But when a mysterious stranger threatens to expose the dark secret that could destroy her future, it’s only the beginning of a diabolical game with no limits—a game Abbie will break every rule to win.  

Harry Potter & the Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, a New Adventure by J.K. Rowling

It’s finally (almost) here!!! Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children. While Harry …

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, a New Adventure by J.K. Rowling READ MORE >

Glass Sword book cover

Glass Sword, a new Young Adult Fantasy Thriller by Victoria Aveyard

The next installment in Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul. Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. The …

Glass Sword, a new Young Adult Fantasy Thriller by Victoria Aveyard READ MORE >

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top