YA Thriller Books

The best young adult thrillers & teen fiction mysteries.

Age of Order

Age of Order, an Enthralling Sci-Fi Thriller for Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games

The Bottom Line: Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games will find plenty to love in this enthralling, fast-paced story filled with richly drawn characters and the injustices they face. A track star, Daniela Machado has the opportunity to escape the world she knows — the squalor, oppression and constant vigilance required to survive in Bronx City — and claim a spot at the elite …

Age of Order, an Enthralling Sci-Fi Thriller for Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games READ MORE >

Game of Fear

Game of Fear, a YA Thriller by Gledé Browne Kabongo

Academic overachiever Abbie Cooper Cooper is desperate to get accepted into Princeton University. But when a mysterious stranger threatens to expose the dark secret that could destroy her future, it’s only the beginning of a diabolical game with no limits—a game Abbie will break every rule to win.  

Girls on Fire Rebecca Wasserman

Book Review: Girls on Fire, a New Crime Thriller by Robin Wasserman

The Bottom Line: With Robin Wasserman at the helm, it’s never too early or late for Halloween. This barnburner of a novel about intense obsession is a must-read. Halloween, 1991. A popular high school basketball star ventures into the woods near Battle Creek, Pennsylvania, and disappears. Three days later, he’s found with a bullet in his head and a gun in his hand—a discovery that …

Book Review: Girls on Fire, a New Crime Thriller by Robin Wasserman READ MORE >

Glass Sword book cover

Glass Sword, a new Young Adult Fantasy Thriller by Victoria Aveyard

The next installment in Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul. Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. The …

Glass Sword, a new Young Adult Fantasy Thriller by Victoria Aveyard READ MORE >

Ember in the Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes, a YA Fantasy Thriller by Sabaa Tahir

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free. Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear. It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older …

An Ember in the Ashes, a YA Fantasy Thriller by Sabaa Tahir READ MORE >

The Company of Magic Peter Milton

Book Review: The Company of Magic, a YA Thriller by P.J. Milton

The Bottom Line: Harry Potter fans will be spellbound by this high flying YA thriller about the hidden world of magic and the organizations that control it. Is Big Brother is always watching? Yes, and his name is Joshua. In the Roman Coliseum, Joshua, the CEO of a company of magicians called Sarras, presents his business card to a vampire named Tobias. There is no …

Book Review: The Company of Magic, a YA Thriller by P.J. Milton READ MORE >

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Queen of Shadows, a new Throne of Glass series YA Thriller by Sarah J. Maas

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire-for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past… She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight. She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to …

Queen of Shadows, a new Throne of Glass series YA Thriller by Sarah J. Maas READ MORE >

Double Digit, a new YA Thriller by Annabel Monaghan

To say eighteen-year-old Farrah Higgins—or Digit—is good at math is a laughable understatement. She’s been cracking codes since childhood, and is finally at home with “her people” at MIT in Cambridge. Her talents are so off the charts that her laptop is under surveillance by both the CIA and an ecoterrorist named Jonas Furnis. So when she thoughtlessly hacks into the Department of Defense’s database, …

Double Digit, a new YA Thriller by Annabel Monaghan READ MORE >

Gates of Thread and Stone, a new YA Thriller by Lori M. Lee

In a city of walls and secrets, where only one man is supposed to possess magic, seventeen-year-old Kai struggles to keep hidden her own secret—she can manipulate the threads of time. When Kai was eight, she was found by Reev on the riverbank, and her “brother” has taken care of her ever since. Kai doesn’t know where her ability comes from—or where she came from. …

Gates of Thread and Stone, a new YA Thriller by Lori M. Lee READ MORE >

A Girl Named Digit, a Romantic Suspense Thriller by Annabel Monaghan

Farrah Higgins started high school with one thing on her mind: ditching the math geek image that earned her the name Digit in middle school. By her senior year she’d figured out how to fake normal and fit in with the It Girls of Samohi. And it was all good, if exhausting, until she noticed some faint numbers in the corner of her TV screen …

A Girl Named Digit, a Romantic Suspense Thriller by Annabel Monaghan READ MORE >

Scroll to Top